We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“sleepless night”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Westgrove Hotel and Conference Centre
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Clane
Certificate of Excellence
Kildare
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“sleepless night”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

I cannot complain about the service or how helpful the staff were, however sadly the room was a complete let down. The room was clean bathroom spotless bed only one word............. terrible. When i got into bed i kept sliding into the middle of the bed hence ensuring a restless night. Upon checking out the receptionist was informed of the issue of the bed but just shrugged our comments off. So all and all we had a fantastic experience the bed and restless night proved very disapointing to say the least.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JerryRu, General Manager at Westgrove Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Dear Guest
Thank for taking the time to give us a review on Trip Advisor . I am glad overall you enjoyed your stay at the Westgrove Hotel but was sorry to hear that the mattress you were slleeping on was not comfortable. All our mattesses are Respa which are an excellent brand.
If its not too much trouble I would be eager to talk to you to find out which bedroom you were in. You may contact me on 045 98 99 00 or on jerryrussell@westgrovehotel.com.
Thank you for your report it is very much appreciated and I do hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back the the Westgrove Hotel, Leisure Club and Spa in the near future.
Kind Regards
Jerry Russell
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,067 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    421
    309
    180
    83
    74
See reviews for
355
366
22
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

decent hotel,good staff tho a rather strange waiter,visit was ruined by the private partys room not being soundproofed meaning that having to get up for work at 6am was very difficult after being kept awake til nearly 2am.
portions in assagio could be more generous also
breakfast was at 8 ,no use to a working man

Room Tip: do not stay on lower levels at weekends
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank moz-dublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JerryRu, General Manager at Westgrove Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel on Trip Advisor. I am so sorry you were disturbed by noise from a private party while staying at the Westgrove Hotel.
Our cooked breakfast starts at 7.00am every morning so I am at a loss to why it was not ready when you stayed. We are also only delighted to do a continental breakfast before this time.
Will you please contact me on 045 98 99 00 or on jerryrussell@westgrovehotel.com so I can talk to you directly.
Kind Regards
Jerry Russell
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Stayed in this hotel on two occasions in September 12th and19th. The hotel was great and the rooms were comfortable, spotlessly clean and the staff were lovely and really helpful. We had a nice meal in the bar on our first visit but had a really great dinner in the Assagio restaurant on our second visit. Good hotel would stay there again.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Gracann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JerryRu, General Manager at Westgrove Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to go onto Trip Advisor and give us a review.It is lovely to hear from a guest who has stayed twice recently and found the hotel to their liking.
Thank you for your kind words about our staff they will be so proud to read your comments. The title to your review is just fantastic and is very much appreciated.
Thank you for choosing the Westgrove Hotel and I do hope we have the opportunity to looking after you again in the future.
Kind Regards
Jerry Russell
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southcoast, MA
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We were originally booked into a different hotel in the next town over, but we decided to stay at the Westgrove after my in-laws raved about it. I will definitely say it was an upgrade from the first hotel. I am American and my husband is Irish. We do quite a bit of traveling, and have seen hotels from one end of the spectrum to the other. The Westgrove holds its own against many of the nicer hotels we've stayed in.

The hotel is pretty big, and boasts a decent size pool, gym, and restaurant/bar. There is also a shopping center adjacent to the hotel itself. To some, the shopping center may sound undesirable, but the building is tastefully done and is actually quite convenient. The daily breakfast at the hotel restaurant is buffet style with the complimentary option to order hot dishes off the menu. The food is pretty good but the coffee was terrible.

As for the room, it was clean, spacious, and nicely decorated. We appreciated having a balcony as well. All the staff members were incredibly helpful and always very friendly. We will definitely be back.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Lauren L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JerryRu, General Manager at Westgrove Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to review the Hotel on Trip advisor.We are always grateful to recieve feedback and delighted when the guest has enjoyed their experience.Thank you for praising our staff and noticing that we are offering good value for money.
Many thanks for your business and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Westgrove Hotel in the future.
Kind Regards
Jerry Russell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
co kildare ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

The staff were excellent the hole experience was brillant a special thank you to grainne and ross who were mangers on the night they couldent do enough for us, great value for money.
Again thank you
Albert mannix

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Albert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JerryRu, General Manager at Westgrove Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Dear Mr Mannix,
Thank you for taking the time to go onto Trip Advisor and give us a review. I am so glad you enjoyed the 40th Birthday Party. Customer Service is paramount here at the Westgrove Hotel and I am delighted that you found our staff friendly and efficient.
Thank you for your kind words about your experience and I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Westgrove Hotel in the near future.
Kind Regards
Jerry Russell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Our first impression was good -- a spacious suite for three adults! However, there was practically no lighting in the rooms. We tried to switch around a lamp, but there was no bulb in the lamp. So then we had to find a bulb that would work in that lamp by "stealing" from another lamp. Then the plug was different from one side of the room to the other and had to use our adapter to get the lamp to work. The bed for the third adult in our room was horrid -- a decent cot would have been better. The sheets did not work either, so either shoulders or feet were uncovered.

Otherwise, the bathroom was well-appointed, and we enjoyed having a small fridge/kitchen available.

Room Tip: Make sure "real" beds are being provided!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Casa295
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JerryRu, General Manager at Westgrove Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to give us a review on Trip advisor we very much appreciate the feedback. I am glad you were impressed by the size of your bedroom, I gather it was an apartment as you mention there was a fridge but sorry to hear the third bed you got was not suitable for an adult. I will investigate this and see what we can do. I am sorry the bedroom was not fully bulbed and that you found you could not move around the lighting.
Thank you for your comments and I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Westgrove Hotel in the future.
Kind Regards
Jerry Russell
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

I have stayed in this Hotel twice now. The first time as part of a conference with 15 others and the 2nd time as part of a celebration with over 40 people.
The food, drinks, service and rooms were excellent. I and the rest of both parties were extremely satisfied with all aspects of our stay.
The hotel staff were very accommodating with any request that we had both times and made organising an event a much easier task.
I would really recommend this Hotel for any event.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cosybee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JerryRu, General Manager at Westgrove Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to go on Trip Advisor and give us a review. We are thrilled with your glowing report and especially from a returning guest that has used us for both business and leisure purposes.Thank you for your kind words of praise the team will really appreciate it.
Also thank you for recommending us we very much apptreciate it.
We look forward to hopefully welcoming you back in the near future.
Kind Regards
Jerry Russell
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clane
6.8 mi away
Killashee  - Hotel Spa Leisure
5.3 mi away
Osprey Hotel & Spa
2.6 mi away
The K Club
The K Club
#1 of 2 in Straffan
887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Lawlors Hotel
Lawlors Hotel
#1 of 5 in Naas
567 reviews
6.0 mi away
Celbridge Manor Hotel
Celbridge Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Celbridge
421 reviews
3.8 mi away
Barberstown Castle
Barberstown Castle
#2 of 2 in Straffan
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westgrove Hotel and Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westgrove Hotel and Conference Centre

Property: Westgrove Hotel and Conference Centre
Address: Abbeylands, Clane, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kildare > Clane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Clane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westgrove Hotel and Conference Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westgrove Hotel & Conference Centre situated in the beautiful village of Clane in County Kildare; we are 30 minutes from Dublin City Centre with easy access from the M7 and M4 motorways. A four star property with extensive leisure club consisting of 20 metre indoor pool, kids pool, Jacuzzi and steam room and a large gym and fitness studio. We have The Oak Bar with a carvery lunch and full day menu, Assaggio Italian Restaurant and 24 hour room service. We have the award-winning Spa Haven featuring Elemis luxury treatments. We have our supervised kids club with mini cinema. We have two well appointed ballrooms, three boardrooms and two syndicate rooms hosting weddings, conferences, meetings and events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Westgrove Hotel and Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westgrove Hotel Clane
Westgrove Hotel And Conference Centre Clane, County Kildare, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing