We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Makes For A Great Stop”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Berghotel Mummelsee
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Seebach
Certificate of Excellence
Tirana, Albania
Level Contributor
64 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Makes For A Great Stop”
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Stopped and "hung out" at Berghotel Mummelsee for about an hour. Great location at the top of a mountain overlooking the Black Forest. The surrounding pond/lake was beautiful too. But, the highlight of the stop was having their delicious Black Forest cake while sipping on a hot Gluhwein. The service was great, the waiters were friendly, good environment, and not overly priced. I highly recommend the Berghotel for either a quick stop or a long stay in the beautiful Black Forest of Germany.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GBDILL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    53
    14
    7
    6
See reviews for
43
68
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

Having traveled for several hours, it was a great relief to finally check in at Mummelsee hotel. The view was gorgeous. I could not take my eyes off at the serene lake and beautiful Black Forest on the background. Our family thoroughly enjoyed the accommodations, food was delicious and servings are plenty and I loved the variety of breakfast spread they had. The staff are very hospitable and listened to our needs. They even had a play area for the kids at the dining area. We liked the ebike they had for rent. Boating and pedal boat on the lake was fun. And i thoroughly enjoyed Black Forest cake, which we would have at the end of hiking and sightseeing.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Iwannabewhereyouare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

The rooms are fabulous, it’s just such a shame about the lack of attention to their guests. If they can commit to offering a hospitable atmosphere for guests, I think tourists will come back regularly. The reception staff are rude and abrupt, they just want to check you in with no hassle and take your money when you leave, with no room for any polite conversation or a chance to ask questions. The worst experience is the restaurant. Like other reviewers, it is sadly true that eating here will take up a minimum of 2 hours because you spend one and half of those just waiting to be served. Like most eateries, guests wait to be greeted and seated. None of that here, on the first night, we stood for 15 mins before we gave up and seated ourselves. Waited a further 15 mins, no one came to our table. We were hungry and thirsty. We got up to get some menus (all in German). When asked if they had an English menu, nein! The waitress could not translate the dishes (you would have thought they would be able to tell you if it was pork, fish, chicken or beef right? Nein!) Actually, pork was easy to work out, everything was more or less pork! Waitress was impatient and unhelpful (by the way, only 3 other families in the hotel restaurant). The restaurant is sectioned so that hotel guests are inside, while non-guest get the option of eating outside. They seemed to be served with more speed and friendliness. It’s the only place to eat for miles in the evening so you are stuffed, excuse the pun.
The breakfast was very good. And because it is a buffet, no need to ask for help!
There isn't a lot to do in Mummelsee apart from the hike, I would not stay here in future as it was not a relaxing experience when you left your room to use the facilities. The toilets downstairs will cost you 50 cents, so you had to go back to your room to use the facilities! Annoying when you have children with you. I’m really disappointed with this place.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Toadstool_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Level Contributor
111 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Recently renovated hotel after a fire in 2008. Cosy decorated room, very clean, nice view over the lake. Every day a bottle of water. Nice smelling shower gel, shampoo and body lotion. Peace and quiet until 9.30 when the tourists arrive (lots of them) : lots of cars, busses and motorbikes. The location is lovely but you have to share it with a lot of people. Breakfast ok, nothing special. Half board is really good, a 4 course meal with a choice of 4 main courses. Takes about 90 minutes getting finished, everything depends on who is serving dinner. The last night we had a very unorganised waitress, we had to wait for 20 minutes before she asked what we wanted to drink. She had no idea what was on the menu... The day before we had a Tsjech waiter who couldn't explain a German ingredient we didn't understand. The people at the reception and most people working in the hotel are very friendly and do their job really well. Warning : do not book a pedicure : 45 euro's and she doesn't even bother do do your heels ! Instead spend your money on a tibet back massage or a facial massage with gems, very good and very nice lady. The spa is new since last year and really looks amazing. Waterbeds to relax with headphones, free apples and tea... We would certainly recommend this hotel but perhaps not during summer because of the crowds visiting the lake.

Room Tip: Lakeview is lovely, but no sun and lots of noise form the tourists during the day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BelgiumPatrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

The Schwarzwald did not cooperate the day we drove through. The entire forest was shrouded in clouds that reduced our visibility to about a five-yard radius around the car. Because of this, the Mummelsee was only a sign indicating a parking lot that we managed to glimpse on the side of the road. Relieved to get off the road, we decided to stop here for our requisite Black Forest cake.

Let me start by saying that this hotel is a very cozy place to relax if stuck in the Black Forest during bad weather. Even though the views were of nothing but white, the restaurant was very comfortable. However, do not eat here if you are in anything resembling a hurry. Lunch for three with dessert managed to eat up two hours of our day. I'm not sure how much of this is cultural and how much is the restaurant, but everyone here moves SLOOOOOWLY. When there is nothing better to do, it's not a big deal, but if we had actually had a day with good weather, I would have been very frustrated.

That said, the food was worth stopping for. It is classic German cuisine done well. I was particularly thrilled to get schmalz and dark bread as a starter. Kid was very excited to eat spaetzle with gravy. "It's like noodles!" Husband and I ordered rather blindly, as the server didn't offer us a menu in English (which I saw later that they did have), and our guesses worked out well. It was an altogether pleasant meal topped off with a really outstanding Black Forest cake. If you need a place to stop just to check that particular item off of your tourist list, this is a great place to do it.

Another good reason to stop is the excellent store below the restaurant. They have all sorts of Black Forest treats to take with you. We left with a BF ham, a kirchwasser salami, and a bottle of schnapps. Yum.

So even if you never actually get to see the view, I would still recommend this as a stop on your Black Forest drive...who knows, the lake actually might be pretty, too!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sangsterrific
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strasbourg, France
Level Contributor
276 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012 via mobile

Have been here many times both in summer and deep winter - both have their charms. In high summer there are many day trippers but the Black Forest gateau here is to die for. The hotel was entirely re-built a year ago after a fire but has been reconstructed with its old style.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dalesman_Abroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, Canada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2012

We stopped here for lunch during a day long drive along the Schwartzwaldhochstrasse. The food was fantastic. The restaurant is very nice, modern and bright with excellent views over looking the black forest. The service was also quite good. We walked around the lake after lunch and took some photos - altogether a great find. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank zanezed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seebach
4.5 mi away
Nationalpark-Hotel Schliffkopf
8.3 mi away
Hotel Sackmann
Hotel Sackmann
#6 of 32 in Baiersbronn
210 reviews
3.6 mi away
Saschwaller Burehus Holzwurm
Saschwaller Burehus Holzwurm
#1 of 6 in Sasbachwalden
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 mi away
Hotel Langenwaldsee
Hotel Langenwaldsee
#3 of 25 in Freudenstadt
133 reviews
8.3 mi away
Hotel Traube Tonbach
Hotel Traube Tonbach
#3 of 32 in Baiersbronn
537 reviews
3.8 mi away
Gasthof Zum Prinzen
Gasthof Zum Prinzen
#1 of 1 in Kappelrodeck
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berghotel Mummelsee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berghotel Mummelsee

Property: Berghotel Mummelsee
Address: Schwarzwaldhochstrasse 11, 77889 Seebach, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Seebach
Amenities:
Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Seebach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Berghotel Mummelsee 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Berghotel Mummelsee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berghotel Mummelsee Germany/Seebach, Baden-Wurttemberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing