We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great lodge with fun hosts” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Twin Waters Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Twin Waters Lodge
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Collingwood
Blenheim, New Zealand
1 review
“Great lodge with fun hosts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2011

This was our third visit here and every visit has had a different flavour and group of friends. Trish and Mike are such great hosts and flexible in their approach - whether it is cooking up a great breakfast, helping you forage for seafood on the most stunning beach or keeping the fire stoked up while it buckets down with rain so you can settle in with a great book, glass of wine and a cat on your lap.
The lodge is in a great location for exploring Farewell Spit and the beautiful Wharenui Beach sand dunes, Wanagnui inlet and all the lovely beaches -a much queiter end of the Bay, but close to such icons as The Mussel Inm and The School House cafe. Winter is as beautiful as summer as we can attest - especially if you book out the whole lodge with a group of friends.
And yes we will be planning another trip as soon as we can find a weekend free.

Room Tip: African, beach or Chinese theme??
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank F0rrest11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    2
    0
    1
    2
See reviews for
1
14
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2011

As Mike says "I found my paradise", we were enchanted. Nature at its best: would you blame the birds waking you up in the morning? So we left hoping to come back again one day.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alma0507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russell, New Zealand
Level Contributor
240 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2011

The lodge is in Golden Bay - a little outside of Collingwood (about 8km) - an ideal spot to explore Farewell Spit, Cape Farewell and Wharariki Beach - all on the northern most tip of the NZ South Island. The Rooms are all individually decorated and there is even a room that has disabled access. There is a guest lounge with loads of books to plan the next move and a TV (no tv in the rooms). The rooms are very spacious and I would say I had the best sleep there on our 3 weeks of travel until than. Just across the street is the Beach Front (through a little short cut) and it is perfect for long walks along and explore. When we where there they had a massive Spring Tide - so during high tide we could not get back to the lodge as the road was blocked by water - but hey - there are other things to explore. But the best thing about that place are the hosts - Trish and Mike - so helpful and well travelled themselves - we had a great time!! Highly recommend to stay there more than one night for sure!

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank R_G_Baker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2011

I stayed at Twin Waters Lodge for one night at the beginning of January. I wish I had stayed longer. It was a remarkable drive from Picton especially up Takaka Hill, 25 kms of s bends and scary drops by the roadside. The scenery was awesome. The lodge itself is beside a wildlife estuary in the north-western corner of South Island. It is a fabulous place to stay.

Helpful?
Thank Anniemac47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2009

My daughter and I spent a wonderful night at this charming lodge in the Collingwood area of the South Island. After a long day of driving, we were greeted by friendly hosts who made us feel right at home. The dinner was perfect, and my vegetarian diet was easily accommodated even though I forgot to advise them of my special diet. The wine supply was generous and conversation lively. The lodge is flanked by mountains on the backside and beach on the front side. I only wish we had had more time to spend getting to know the area better. Horseback riding is a must do- especially at Farewell Spit. You can't go wrong staying here!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pulchritude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2009

My wife and I were traveling around New Zealand and booked a room at Twin Waters Lodge. The reason we've decided for their lodge was because their web site said "Twin Waters Lodge is a purpose built getaway for guests looking for a peaceful seaside retreat." Well this may be correct, but not in our case - we've got a special supprise where they've aparently decided that the best time for reconstruction of their lodge is the time when the guests arrive. So, we've received a good morning banging (both days of stay), despite our complaint that we're here to rest from our long trip. We were very dissapointed because we've deliberately chosen this lodge to have some peace, listen to birds and sleep until 10am. By our experience the lodge far is too expansive for the quality of customer service you get.
Well ok, we've liked the room (ocean blue) and of course the fact that Farewell Spit is just few minutes drive. But, that's about it.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tamdej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twinwaterslodge, Owner at Twin Waters Lodge, responded to this review, February 7, 2011
I am disappointed in this review. While it is true there was construction going on at the time, the builders (at our request) did not start work until 9.30 when the guests were already having breakfast (normally they would start at 7.30). The reviewer actually asked to stay for an extra day (and did so), which hardly fits with his other comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Collingwood
8.0 mi away
Adrift in Golden Bay
Adrift in Golden Bay
#1 of 4 in Takaka
5.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
18.1 mi away
Ratanui Lodge
Ratanui Lodge
#1 of 3 in Pohara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
5.0 mi away
Zatori Retreat
Zatori Retreat
#1 of 7 in Collingwood
5.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Innlet Backpackers and Cottages
18.3 mi away
The Rocks Chalets
The Rocks Chalets
#3 of 4 in Takaka
5.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
17.9 mi away
Mohua Motels
Mohua Motels
#2 of 4 in Takaka
5.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Twin Waters Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Twin Waters Lodge

Property: Twin Waters Lodge
Address: 30 Totara Avenue | Pakawau, Collingwood 7054, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Golden Bay > Collingwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Collingwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Twin Waters Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peace, tranquility, native birdlife, a sandy beach, native forest and affordable luxury. These are the hallmarks of a stay at Twin Waters Lodge. We are situated in the north-western corner of the South Island amongst some of the most varied scenery and activities New Zealand has to offer. Our purpose-built lodge is nestled harmoniously on a finger of land between a wildlife estuary and the shining blue waters of Golden Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Twin Waters Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing