We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of my favourite hostels”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Innlet Backpackers and Cottages
Reviewed July 29, 2013

An adorable little hostel, just on from the northernmost town in the Abel Tasman area. Dahlia baked for us most days, and it's very sociable with the fire and a very comfortable lounge, as well as being peaceful with nice beds, clean and well equipped. They'll also give you good advice about what to do with your time. Wish I could've stayed there longer!

Room Tip: Four bed dorm was very comfortable and only had one other person in it
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lukshmi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (58)
There are newer reviews for The Innlet Backpackers and Cottages
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 58 reviews

Reviewed May 23, 2013

Lovely relaxed place, friendly helpful atmosphere - this place has a beautiful garden too. Perfect to relax & chill for a day or several days - a good location to use as a base to explore the Golden Bay area - highly recommended - would stay there again if I get lucky enough to be in S Island NZ again anytime soon !

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Jeff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Paradise. That is what I found here on Golden Bay. Right from the start, the lovely Dalia who manages this awesome place picked me up from Collingwood and showed me Opua Cottage, a little cabin in the garden of the main hostel. I stayed a week and it felt like home. It takes some skill to run a place like this with seemingly no effort, but every need is met with generosity and kindness.
There are so many little corners to relax, in the garden, by the tiny stream, the hammock, the verandas, and the sitting room, where impromptu music is encouraged, we had a lovely evening with a pair of guys who knew some good old tunes!
And the location is sublime. Right on the Tasman Sea, good for swimming and within easy distance of some spectacular places. The hostel bikes are free to use.
Usually I like a bit of wifi, but it was a positive bonus to be without it for a while here.
Do,yourself a favour and have a rest here!

Room Tip: If you can get the little cabin, it would sleep up to three, but it is perfect for one! Other self...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KateJ56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

The Inlet is not just a hostel -

much more it felt more like a temporary home: a beautiful house in an equally beautiful setting and above all the incredibly warm, welcoming and inviting atmosphere created by DALIA, the manager – YOU ARE DOING MORE THAN AN INCREDIBLY GOOD JOB !!! - Jill and the Woofers invited us to stay in this hidden paradise not just the night we had planned but many more - we returned and thought about “staying forever” - relaxing in the beautiful living room, near the fire-place, on the deck, in the colourful flourishing garden, sharing and living together in a joyful and peaceful way – thanks to everybody for making this experience possible !!!

Would we come back – absolutely.

Positives: 100 percent. Negatives: None.

Andrea and Peter from Germany

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andrea H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

Dalia the hostess was most welcoming and the hostel and grounds were lovely. I slept in a double room in the main house and had the most comfortable bed on my NZ trip. The area around was great to explore. Farewell Spit and Wanganui Innlet were amazing.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Belle1845
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2012

We stayed in the garden flat which is small and furnished with a fridge, kettle and toaster but you can use the shared main kitchen if you want. The grounds here are beautiful and the owner was very welcoming and helpful. If you are visiting Farewell Spit this is the place to stay. Lovely free apples too from their orchard!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oxford08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2012

We stayed here in December 2011 after reading the great reviews in the BBH guide and weren't disappointed. After a long drive we arrived to find an open door and a note to say 'welcome to the house, makes yourselves comfortable' (or words to that effect) and we instantly knew this was a special place. Meeting the owner Jonathan confirmed our initial thoughts and the special draw of this hostel is clearly driven by his approach and character. It has basic facilities but you don't stay here for 5* luxury. Instead you will make friends, meet like minded people and recharge your batteries in this beautiful homestead. We were very sad to leave and only flights back home led to our departure. Thanks for a wonderful stay

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank falcon1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Collingwood
0.2 mi away
Twin Waters Lodge
Twin Waters Lodge
#2 of 2 in Collingwood
27 reviews
8.0 mi away
Adrift in Golden Bay
Adrift in Golden Bay
#2 of 4 in Takaka
175 reviews
4.1 mi away
Zatori Retreat
Zatori Retreat
#1 of 6 in Collingwood
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.2 mi away
Pohara Beach Top 10 Holiday Park
18.0 mi away
Mohua Motels
Mohua Motels
#1 of 4 in Takaka
151 reviews
18.4 mi away
The Rocks Chalets
The Rocks Chalets
#3 of 4 in Takaka
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Innlet Backpackers and Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Innlet Backpackers and Cottages

Address: 839 Collingwood-Puponga Main Road | Pakawau, Collingwood 7073, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Golden Bay > Collingwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Collingwood
Price Range: $51 - $66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Innlet Backpackers and Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in lush rainforest adjoining Kahurangi NP & bounded with beautiful mountain stream. Comfortable beds. Enjoy Golden Bay Panorama from Separation Pt. to F.Spit from our "Bushwalk Lookout." Stroll 200 m to sandy beach with shell fish & almost no sandflies! Superb walks on the breathtaking coastline of Wharariki & F. Spit. Shared facilities, en suites, apartments, private cottages. Friendly & relaxing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your The Innlet Backpackers and Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing