We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relax in the most beautiful retreat”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Westhaven Luxury Lodge
Ranked #3 of 6 Collingwood B&B and Inns
Motueka, New Zealand
1 review
“Relax in the most beautiful retreat”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

We were able to take the wonderful opportunity to share this magnificent piece of paradise with the wonderful hosts that make this retreat so welcoming. They share their beautiful retreat that oozes there craftmanship and expertise,(lovely big rooms with a fantastic comfortable bed and spabath) although not quite finished it still has the fantastic views, and you can feel how the retreat will be when completely finished. The charm and relaxing atmosphere that makes this retreat so special,is a must see, if you like the outdoors and beautiful beaches and walking, this retreat has all this at your finger tips. We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves and especially the way Monica (both of them) and Bruno and family made our stay so special, Ive just had some canvas's done that reflect the experiences we had and have captured our moment,.magnificent. Thoroughly recommend it, relax and enjoy what this wonderful family have to offer, We thank them for this lovely experience, what a way to spend our 25th wedding anniversary!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    0
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
39
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Spain
Level Contributor
65 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Westhaven really is a retreat from the outside World. We visited on a special rate for a well overdue honeymoon before the Lodge is completed but it made no difference to how special it was. What a beautiful and relaxing environment run by a wonderful family team of Bruno, Monika x 2, and family are what make this place so special. The surrounding beaches which are walking distance, Nikau Palm walks and atmosphere, help to make this a 'surreal' place.

The Suite room where we stayed was softly luxurious, tastefully decorated with a beautiful bathroom with spa bath looking out to the view. The pool and spa area (although yet to be finished soon) is unbelivable and will be totally unique. We cant wait to return when this is completed.

The meals served by Monika x 2 and Teresa - were just delicious and the gathering round the table at dinner time to chat was lively and informative - to the point where we just wanted to hear more of Bruno's tales from the past. The strong European influence in the meals served were perfect and the afternoon cake and coffee was just something else special that added to the relaxing time we had.

Dont miss out on Monika's pastries if you are lucky enough to have that on the menu that night - just to die for !! and a relaxing massage at the end of the day with Dominic before evening drinks is also a must to put you in the mood for the evening !!

Stunning !! We would definitely recommend this place, and yes, its off the beaten track up a gravel road where you really do need a 4 wheel drive, but its a beautiful drive and well worth it when you get there.

We will be back !!

Room Tip: The rooms are all beautiful, but if you love big bath tubs and spa baths WITH spectacular view, then...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TedandBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, Nelson, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed September 24, 2012

This most beautiful place exceeded our expectations. We set off for our weekend of bliss from Nelson first thing on Friday morning, stopping off in Takaka, then Collingwood for lunch ( and to check out if there was much whitebait running !) then continued cruising on over the enjoyable drive to Westhaven Retreat. We were greeted on our arrival by first the friendly dogs, and one of the lovely Monika's, who showed us to our room, and filling us in with some of our options of walks etc. Our room was exactly as described with breath taking views, we were very impressed.
We made the most of getting out, doing some of the walks, and generally just lapping up the stunning scenery. We even managed to get a few paua at low tide.
The service from all is second to none, we were made to feel extremely welcome by everyone, with nothing at all being a problem, the food was excellent for all of the meals we had.
Our one and only disappointment was ..... Leaving! We were lucky to have had 2 nights here, but we did not want to leave, and will be coming back again for sure
We highly recommend this to anyone who is looking for a special time with a special person

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SharoynDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson
Level Contributor
35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Spa and pool not working and unfortunately we weren't made aware of this when we booked. Rooms were nicely decorated and bed very comfortable, but they desperately need a small fridge so that guests can at least have a drink in their room, as well as avoiding the long life milk pottles. This place is a work in progress with a lot to complete, so don't expect top notch, which the prices are.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank krisnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed August 1, 2012

Nestled in a remote part of Golden Bay (on the west coast) the lodge is extremely private and peaceful. The hosts are warm, friendly and the level of service is outstanding. The lodge is luxuriously appointed and our suite was romatic and beautiful. We had a wonderful stay and would highly reccommend it to others. When we stayed the impressive swimming pool was being built and it will be a beautiful addition to an already stunning lodge.

Room Tip: We had a suite in the wing past the swimming pool and it was very private and quiet.... perfect for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sonya F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2012

Having traveled extensively around NZ over the years, we are often on the look out for something different and off the beaten track. As soon as we passed through Collingwood and hit the dirt road which skirts around the beautiful and remote Whanganui Inlet, we knew we'd stumbled across something special.
We were greeted at the lodge by mother and daughter Monika and Monika. This is a beautiful building...designed and constructed to the highest standards. Although we stayed during the 'soft opening', it was easy to see how spectacular the lodge will be when fully completed, especially the pool area. The room we stayed in had amazing views out over the inlet. Monkika was happy to show us the other rooms (we were the only guests at the time) and they were all equally as lovely.
As vegetarians, we were well looked after and enjoyed the lovely home cooking with some really unusual (in a good way!) dishes. We thoroughly enjoyed chatting to the family about their interesting life experiences over a glass of wine long into the evening.
The walks from the lodge through the working farm and out through native bush to the coast were both relaxing and beautiful - the coastal scenery is magnificent. Even though we visited during the middle of the NZ winter, we still enjoyed a lovely picnic in the sunshine on one of our days. On another day, the wind whipped up the sea and made this equally as special a walk.
This is a lovely family run business and deserves to be supported. If you are looking for some relaxation and time out from the usual tourist spots, literally at the end of the road, as well as staying in one of the nicest buildings you are likely to see, then Westhaven is the place to be.

Room Tip: They are all lovely with spectacular views across the inlet. The rooms without spa baths have balcon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TranmereNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed June 22, 2012

After a bumpy ride to get there we could not have been more pleased with the result! The hosts are friendly, very private, pristine private beaches and forest walks, presented in a way that could not easily be replicated anywhere else in NZ. For a peaceful and private get-away, this is the perfect place to stay - we found exactly what we were looking for!! Highly recommended. Angela + Jaco

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Collingwood
13.3 mi away
Adrift in Golden Bay
Adrift in Golden Bay
#2 of 4 in Takaka
5.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
8.3 mi away
Twin Waters Lodge
Twin Waters Lodge
#2 of 2 in Collingwood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
24.9 mi away
Ratanui Lodge
Ratanui Lodge
#1 of 3 in Pohara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Zatori Retreat
Zatori Retreat
#1 of 6 in Collingwood
5.0 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
4.3 mi away
Wetland View Park
Wetland View Park
#1 of 6 in Collingwood
5.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
24.9 mi away
Pohara Beach Top 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westhaven Luxury Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westhaven Luxury Lodge

Property: Westhaven Luxury Lodge
Address: 336 Te Hapu Road, Collingwood 7073, New Zealand (Formerly Westhaven Retreat Lodge)
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Golden Bay > Collingwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Collingwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Westhaven Luxury Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax and revive on an extraordinary beautiful coastal peninsular in luxury and style. The pure natural beauty and variety of scenery will leave you astounded. The Lodge itself is described as an architectural delight was hand built by its owners. All rooms perfectly appointed to enjoy the endless panoramic views over the Bay. The Lodge offers all facilities for your relaxation, from hydrotherapy spa, infrared sauna, 24 meter swimming indoor pool, massage and beauty treatments. To keep our guest entertained we have a big selection of outdoor activities. Hiking trails, Kayaking tours, Quad bike tours, Scenic helicopter Flights, Boat fishing charters, Maori flax weaving workshops and llama craft workshops. There is something here for everyone. From tidal bores, to dramatic cliffs, huge sea caves, offshore rocks and secluded beaches, Westhaven shows the best of New Zealand nature and wildlife. With the Westhaven Family as your hosts we offer intimate warm hospitality with our delicious cuisine. All your senses will be nurtured at Westhaven Retreat, ensuring that you will have a truly memorable stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Westhaven Luxury Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing