We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Welcome to heaven....” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Somerset House Backpackers

Somerset House Backpackers
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Collingwood
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Somerset House Backpackers
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Welcome to heaven....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

Somerset House is one of Golden Bay's little gems. My girlfriend and I stayed there on good recommendation and what a recommendation it turned out to be. First of all the backpackers lodge is nestled at the top of a street with amazing views over the sea and to the mountain range. Chris & Hiromi are the owners and they pointed out the mountain range that they called Pregnant Lady as it looks a little like a pregnant lady lying on her back. The hostel is super clean and fresh and there is a "No Shoes Inside" policy which I was delighted by as it meant the floors were so nice to walk on and there was no dirt or grime. There is a big fish tank that bubbles away with tropical fish, and a big old cat called Somerset. Then there is the dog called Joy who lives up to her name. There are ducks and chickens outside and you can buy fresh eggs there! Chris & Hiromi went out of their way for us and were nothing short of delightful. They can also arrange transport to the Heaphy Track for all the trampers. We did not do this but it seems a very popular option and a very good deal for backpackers looking to walk the track. All in all we had a lovely time and felt at home. Our room was super clean and warm and with sea views, and the bathrooms were sparkling too. The place is just plain lovely. That is the word I would describe to people who want to visit Somerset House; lovely. I can't wait to take my dad there next year when he visits me!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank allagoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
5
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level Contributor
58 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2011

I have absolutely loved staying here. The welcome was warm, the hostel was clean and had every possible amenity you could think of. The free home-made bread with jams and local honey was a bonus. Lots of good information from the owners and leaflets/maps etc. Would not hesitate to recommend.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2010

there are flowers everywhere, free breakfast, free coffee, milk, tea
i stayed in a 6 bed dorm which was very basic but clean
the owner remembers everyone's name (i was impressed!) and introduces everyone as soon as they arrive
great place to meet people and explore golden bay!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank linza1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2009

Wow i loved this place. A lovely cross section of people with regards to age - not a party hostel at all, but a place to meet great people travelling and interested in the like! Chris and Haromi run a wonderful place, which is spotlessly clean and they serve free breakfast which they actually have with you every morning - so special. When you arrive at the hostel they introduce you to the other travelers which was so great - after 3 days you felt like you had been there for ever - highly recommened especially for people travelling alone and wanting to meet people older than 25!!! I would definately be back and recommend it to everyone, which i have done!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sooziecapetown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Collingwood
4.1 mi away
Adrift in Golden Bay
Adrift in Golden Bay
#1 of 4 in Takaka
5.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
3.9 mi away
Twin Waters Lodge
Twin Waters Lodge
#2 of 2 in Collingwood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
1.1 mi away
Zatori Retreat
Zatori Retreat
#1 of 7 in Collingwood
5.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
The Innlet Backpackers and Cottages
0.1 mi away
Heron's Rest
Heron's Rest
#4 of 7 in Collingwood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Station House Motel
The Station House Motel
#1 of 2 in Collingwood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Somerset House Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somerset House Backpackers

Property: Somerset House Backpackers
Address: Lower Gibbs Road, Collingwood 7073, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Golden Bay > Collingwood
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Collingwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic property sympathically restored offering boutique budget accommodation in Collingwood township. We have double, twin and shared rooms. Heaphy Track specialists, vehicle hire, trampers transport. Farewell Spit Tours booked. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing