We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Embarassed !”
Review of Arawa B&B

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oxted
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Arawa B&B
Ranked #2 of 2 Oxted B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 29, 2012

I recently had family visiting from abroad - I hadn't seen them for 10 years and not being able to accommodate them we booked Arawa, never again !

No hot water for bathing / showering, poor facilities ( family room) and an over attentive host !

On feedback from my family I think that this B&B is way over due an update. sadly would not recommend them at all.

Room Tip: None to add, sadly !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lesley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (20)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 20 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2012

We were very disappointed we found the room too small, the shower did not work properly and we feel the room was overpriced for what it was, but options in this area are limited. The breakfast was fine except for being a little greasy.

Room Tip: Try and find a different one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Baggy_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2012

David, the proprietor, was welcoming and breakfast was very good. Enjoyed a good night's sleep.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeeVee12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2011

This house is not a B&B - too small. We booked this place as we were attending a wedding nearby. However, we left pretty swiftly after arriving. The house was dusty and old fashioned. The room was pokey, dusty and was just generally dingy. The towels in the bathroom look like the one that one keeps in the garage in case of any flooding! The bed looked old and lumpy and in light of what els we had seen; could well have been not washed since the previous guest. Who knows. Just terrible.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank businessroamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2011

The b&b was perfectly adequate, clean, though our room was not ensuite. The host was reasonably friendly. However, £40 per person was at least £20 too much for the standard of accommodation - for £80 I would expect somewhere larger (and with ensuite facilities). The cooked breakfast was fair, but not remarkable. Having seen various hotels and b&bs on 'The Hotel Inspector' recently, I do not think this place would get its tariff approved as value for money.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Reg44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2010

To find an accommodation spontaneously is hard to do. We were lucky to find such a B&B. David is friendly, served us really well (the breakfast - really tasty, and very british), and we never felt annoyed. He gave us tips for visiting London (Visit the science museum!! There is a 3D cinema, very cool)
The location is calm, there is a train station close to the B&B. The bedrooms are not soo small, and there is a television and internet you can use.
We came by car, so we were flexible. But you should never drive into the city, you have to pay for it and to find a parking lot is impossible to do.
London is great, there are a lot of places to visit, we didn't do one of the sightseeing tours (expensive for students).
All in all, we enjoyed our stay here in London.
Greetings from Germany

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hihi054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2010

My collegue and I stayed with David at Arawa for four consequetive weeks, from beginning to end we felt very welcome and comfortable. David always made sure we were comfortable and went out of his way to ensure this. Which was very much appreciated.

David also manages to get the balance of host perfect, not around too much to bother you but around enough if you need him. Hosts that can be around too much can annoy me.

The breakfast is one of the best I have had, very filling and very tasty!

All in all a nice play to stay, thanks David.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank G_A_doos_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Arawa B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arawa B&B

Address: 58 Graville Road, Oxted RH8 OBZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Oxted
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Oxted
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Arawa B&B Oxted, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing