We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Yet another excellent stay. Still the best B+B we have stayed in” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Winforton Court

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Winforton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Winforton Court
Ranked #1 of 2 Winforton B&B and Inns
Glos
Level Contributor
97 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Yet another excellent stay. Still the best B+B we have stayed in”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2013

We are fussy travellers, and rarely find anywhere good enough to go back to. this is one of the few exceptions and we aim to return again, as we have now found out they have a suite which has a separate room for the teenager. See you again soon.

Room Tip: Rooms to the rear have less road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank winters_on_tour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
26
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Croydon UK
Level Contributor
63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

Another family stay at this wonderful, historic and atmospheric place and I know we will return again. All four rooms are beautiful - two have 4-poster beds, all ensuite and all sumptuously and beautifully furnished. Beds are extremely comfortable. You Jackie welcomes guests with tea in the lounge if they wish, The delicious breakfast is taken at a large table in the same room where Judge Jeffries sometimes dispensed his rough justice, but don't let that put you off: the atmosphere is relaxed and nothing is too much trouble. You can relax in the library, lounge or wander and explore the beautiful gardens, but if you can tear yourself away from the house there is much to see and visit locally. Very highly recommended. Winforton Court takes some beating!

Room Tip: All rooms beautiful. Ask for the de Montfort Suite if you want the ultimate in luxury, but you won...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hedgecrone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

Until you stay at Winforton Court, you will never want to go anywhere else. Our fourth visit I think and hope there will be many more. A beautiful and historic house, very warm welcome from Jackie awaits and exquisit rooms (4) with four posters and every comfort you could want. Plus in a delightful part of Herefordshire, close to Wales and much to visit, including black and white villages, National Trust and English Heritage places. Winforton has a large garden and is colourful at all times of the year. This visit, had figs and apples from the garden for breakfast. I cannot praise this enough and belieeve me, if I do not like somewhere, trip advisor hears about it.

Room Tip: The de Mortimer Suit is so luxurious, have now stayed in three of the rooms, I think Jackie would ag...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
113 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

This lovely old black & white timbered hall was a real treat. We stayed in the de Montford suite which was huge and beautiful and a pleasure to be in. The room has a beautiful roll top cast iron bath, two sofas, great furniture and a fantastic four poster bed.

We were welcomed by Kackie who made us feel very at home. We were the only guests that evening and had full use of teh guests library and large living room to ourselves. The library is really useful with loads of interesting books, including rows of guide books & local history books. You could easily spend days in there reading.

We were also grateful for the unfussy welcome for our dog, who was allowed to sleep in the room and join us in the lounge. Many dog friendly hotels are very restrictive, but Winforton Court was great. And the place is immaculately clean too, so no sign of any previous doggy visitors.

Breakfast was generous and good and I would very happily stay here again. It's good quality and good value. We were welcomed with tea and lovely biscuits and the room contained free waters, sherry, fruit juices, mini cheddars and quality biscuits. Yum.

Room Tip: We only saw the de Montford room, but I suspect all three rooms will be of a similarly high standard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NMHastings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

We spent four great nights at Winforton Court, where we felt very welcome. The Four-Poster room was beautiful and well appointed, there is a large Residents' Lounge and a smaller Library room available at all times, and the breakfasts are outstanding. The gardens are beautiful, and we were given tea sitting in the wrought-iron gazebo when we arrived!

The surrounding area is very varied, with the Wye Valley, the Black and White Buildings Trail not far north of Winforton, and the imposing Black Mountains just beyond Hay on Wye in the other direction.

We ate on three of the evenings at the Sun Inn, only a couple of minutes' walk away. Its food was excellent and the prices reasonable, and their seasonal menu (about eight choices of main courses plus one or two specials) is valid for the whole month..

The one thing you have to remember is that very few pubs or restaurants in that area are open for dinner on Sunday evenings, so the choice is less than enthralling.

Jackie even presented us with our bill in a folder with four chocolates and a posy of fresh lavender. Thank you

Room Tip: We had the Four Poster Room, which was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Samsmal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

What a great little find. Beautiful property. Extremely high standard with lots of really nice little touches. Jackie the host clearly understands the difference between welcoming and ensuring her guests want for nothing. Notes for parents, I have a 6 and 4 year old (didn't come with me this trip!) and I am not sure i would feel comfortable with my youngest here, only in that there are many collectables on every surface and I would be on tenterhooks. We stayed in the twin room, which is more like a suite and the mattress, I have never slept on anything better. I would definitely stay again without hesitation.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank lisaabb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
41 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

Having been to this B&B twice, we think it can't be faulted. The attention to detail in the most charming medieval surroundings is quite astounding. This must be one of the best B&Bs in the country and the pub across the road serves a reasonable evening meal !

Room Tip: There is a four poster bed in an excellent room at the front but there can be some traffic noise in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AncientmarinerUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Winforton
2.7 mi away
Rhydspence Inn
Rhydspence Inn
#1 of 1 in Whitney-on-Wye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
0.3 mi away
Parliament Barn
Parliament Barn
#2 of 2 in Winforton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Agent's House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Winforton Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Winforton Court

Property: Winforton Court
Address: Winforton Court A438, Winforton HR3 6EA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Winforton
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Winforton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winforton Court dates back to the Domesday Book ,the present house is mainly 16th century and amongst the past owners are Roger de Mortimer one of the Marcher Earls and Henry VIII when,for a while ,it was Crown property. Once used as a Manorial Court , it is now a fully restored house with delightful walled gardens for our guests to enjoy. Full of period features including some very early wall painting there is a constant reminder of the past but with all the comforts of the present day.Located in the beautiful Wye Valley ,the house enjoys far reavhing views of the surrounding countryside and the distant Black Mountains. A short stroll away is The Sun Inn serving delicious lunch and evening meals using wonderful local produce in a friendly atmpsphere. A warm welcome , spacious characterful rooms ,four posters ,log fires and hearty breakfasts will make your stay memorable and comfortable as you will discover by reading our Tripadvisor reviews. The small but well stocked library will provide you with a varied selection of local guide books and maps to enable you to make the most of your stay.. With many local attractions including Hay On Wye ,The Weir Garden [N.T] The Judges Lodging at Presteigne ,The Small Breeds Farm at Kington ,Hergest Croft Gardens and fot the more adventurous why not have a flying lesson at nearby Shobdon Airfield or hire a canoe and explore the Wye .We can also arrange fishing for you . ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing