We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Absolute Gem” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Sun Inn

The Sun Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Winforton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
73 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“An Absolute Gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

An immediate friendly greeting as you walk through the door which is always nice, we hadn't booked a table for a meal, but were lucky enough for there to be one available. A good selection of wine by the glass, which really suited me. The food was excellent and didn't disappoint on any level. We enjoyed it so much that we booked again for the following night whilst we were there, my wife is admittedly a bit of a fussy eater and asked if she could request something 'off menu' for the following night which wasn't a problem. An equally good night followed, if we lived locally it would be a regular haunt.

The only slight negative was that the ladies toilets would benefit from some refurbishment / decoration.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nigel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fourpalms134, Owner at The Sun Inn, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Many Thanks for your review, Gail and I are delighted that you enjoyed your visit to The Sun Inn.
We hope you had a good trip home to Doncaster and hope if you visit our wonderful county again you will come and eat with us again.
Kind Regards
Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    24
    5
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not to be missed!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

A warm welcome, friendly hosts and an amazing meal! Lots of wonderful dishes to choose from. We opted for the lamb, and OMG...what a taste sensation! SO glad we went!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sharbos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fourpalms134, Owner at The Sun Inn, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Many thanks for your wonderful review, it was a pleasure to meet you both and hope if you are ever back in our wonderful county you will call to see us again. Good Luck From Richard & Gail
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful welcome, great food, good beer - and very dog friendly. A step up from normal pub cuisine.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

A regular stopping place when travelling from England to Wales. Always a warm welcome - especially for the dog!
Real ales, good cider, and food that's a real step up from the usual.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TonyTrigg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fourpalms134, Owner at The Sun Inn, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Many Thanks for your kind review, a friendly face coming through the door makes our day so much better and when that friendly face is attached to a most beautiful Boxer dog, then our day is complete. Once again many thanks for calling in, Gail and I look forward to welcoming you again the next time you are passing through.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Dont miss this one if you are in the area!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

We recently visited this pub after looking for some lunch on a Tuesday lunchtime. We were greeted by Richard who sat us at the bar end of the restaurant as we had our four month old lab puppy with us .Richard showed a real interest in our family holiday and offered good advice on what to see and do in the area as the drinks were being poured .Lunch was ordered and served promptly and the food was delicious .If you are looking for good quality local food that stands out from the rest ,then this is the place for you.We revisited The Sun Inn again later in the week and again received a very warm welcome from both Richard and Gail who gave our pup Stan lots of fuss .If you are visiting the Wye Valley with children ,dogs or just by yourselves this place is a must!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Markyc2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fourpalms134, Owner at The Sun Inn, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Thank you for your excellent review, it was a pleasure to meet you all, well behaved, polite and happy children and an adorable puppy, Gail and I would love to meet you all again and welcome you back to The Sun Inn.
Many Thanks Richard and Gail
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“lovely meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

Richard and Gail give such a warm welcome and the food is very tasty, freshly cooked and the menu changes regularly.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank PlutoAlfie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Sun Inn also viewed

Eardisley, Herefordshire
Whitney-on-Wye, Herefordshire
 
Hereford, Herefordshire
Whitney-on-Wye, Herefordshire
 
Dorstone, Herefordshire
Hay-on-Wye, Powys
 

Been to The Sun Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing