We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tuna Poki to Live for!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Amigos Bar and Grill

Amigos Bar and Grill
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: Bar, Central American, American, Pub, South American, Costa Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Description: Who would have thought that this intimate hideaway, not on the beach, but in a courtyard behind the Playa Junquillal Welcome Center would offer some of the freshest food we have tasted during our travels through Costa Rica. The new owner, Garrett is not only a friendly outgoing ex-pat from California, but he is a darn good chef as well. Everything is made from scratch, at the time of ordering, using only local ingredients and freshly caught seafood. He offers a simple well thought out menu, as well as "Happy Hour" specials. The Margaritas are hand squeezed with local limes,lemons and oranges.
Playa Junquillal, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Tuna Poki to Live for!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

Amigo's is a casual restaurant with great food! Love their tuna poki!!! Garrett is the chef owner and Marcela provides great, friendly service. They are closed on Wednesday and open on Monday's when many other places are closed. They also carry local micr-brew beers! Highly recommend.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cynthia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    18
    9
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
alberta canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect combination!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014

We ate/drank at Amigos almost every night for a month. The Owner/Chef Garrett and Chef Danny put so much effort and love into each and every dish that they make. Spencer and Marcela did a wonderful job of supporting them and the combination was perfect! The Jalapeño Hamburger was to die for! We would recommend Amigos to anyone. Thanks again for the awesome Taco Tuesday experience - we miss you all.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank canuckski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
199 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Open when they want .... but great when they are!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

My wife and I walked over to Amigo's one afternoon, a Saturday and were disappointed to see they were closed (a large sign said they only close on Wednesdays). Disappointing as were in need of a Pilsen and meal.

However, we returned with friends on Monday evening and had an enjoyable meal of their special for the day, a pork dish. Service was good, prices reasonable, and the food was delicious. I would however eat at the Hotel Iguanazul over Amigo's as their food is better and the service faster, not to mention a much better view!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank digerati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
65 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Awesome food, relaxed atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014

Amigos is a great place to go for a casual night out and for fresh yummy food. There is not a huge menu but everything on it is super fresh and delicious. We love the ceviche and the Poke is top notch. The ribs are also amazing. As someone else mentions, this restaurant is cash only so go prepared. The owner, Garrett, is a really nice guy from California who puts his heart into every dish. If you are in Junquillal, you should not miss this place!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PuraVida365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Placentia, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Best ceviche I've ever had”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014

Everything here is fresh and made with a lot of love. I can't say enough about how good the food is here, bur most impressive is the ceviche. As somewhat of a ceviche connoisseur, I've had my share of the citrus cured fish and none was better than what I tasted at Amigos. It's really no frills, just the best of all the essential elements. Though if ceviche, or even fish, is not your thing, you can't go wrong with whatever you order at Amigos. My wife and I had a chance to sample just about everything. We might have to go back to CR just to eat at Amigos again. Go here if you're anywhere near Junquillal!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Improvised1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amigos Bar and Grill also viewed

Playa Junquillal, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Junquillal, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playa Negra, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Junquillal, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playa Avellanas, Tamarindo
Playa Negra, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Amigos Bar and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing