We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eco-lodge dining a treat”
Review of Mundo Milo

Mundo Milo
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Costa Rican
Restaurant details
Brownsville, Oregon
Level Contributor
136 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Eco-lodge dining a treat”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

We enjoyed a wonderful dinner at Mundo Milo while visiting sleepy little Junquillal. Our hosts were friendly and it was fun hearing their story of moving from Holland to rural Costa Rica to set up their beautifully handcrafted outdoor restaurant (and lodge, but we didn't stay here). My husband and I each had really fresh sea bass, served with a tasty sauce that brought out the flavor of the fish. Rice and salad complemented the fish nicely. Service was attentive, and the setting couldn't have been nicer (although I could have used about 15 degrees cooler!). Since it's the end of the big tourist season, hours are shortened only to dinner, but it was worth the wait. If you're in the area, stop by and enjoy a nice dinner as the sun sets!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelVet61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    12
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Playa Junquillal, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A gem in the wilderness”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

This wonderful open, polished wood post and beam structure provides a very relaxed ambience and vibe to enjoy dinner. I was there 2 evenings; the owner/ operators are very friendly and lovely people. She selected the wine which I had with a perfectly grilled beef tenderloin, pan fried potatoes and a fresh delicious salad with home made dressing I even had dessert and a cappuccino to top off.
The next night was their lasagna and salad, also a winner of a special for Friday Night. Tuesdays are sushi nights, sometimes with live music.
The atmosphere is exceptional, music is good and it is definitely worth the trip to experience.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank d00zy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estero, Florida
Level Contributor
51 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Promise almost delivered”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

The setting is great. Three stories high.open on three sides. Soft night air from the Pacific. Views blocked by vegetation. Two and one quarter hours from order to dinner. Wife's mahi mahi plate reported as very good. Lots of dorado only a half mile distant. Pork loin dish seriously tough. We were lured in by news that a fresh apple pie had been baked. Our slices showed evidence of a too cool oven and were just soggy enough to suggest recent defrosting.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HPBsr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
77 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Excellent & flexible”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

The Dutch proprietors of Mundo Milo offer a full-service restaurant in an attractive open-air setting with a beautiful view of the sunset over the ocean. The menu is large enough to accommodate most diners' needs...yet they had just gotten in some beautiful fresh tuna and offered to make us a tuna tartare rather than the seared tuna special being offered. It was fantastic! Everything we had was very fresh, perfectly prepared and very good.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NSKramer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mundo Milo also viewed

Playa Junquillal, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Junquillal, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playa Negra, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Negra, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Mundo Milo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing