We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Location, location, location”
One of the Many Beautiful Views right in front of your apartment
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
One of the Many Beautiful Views right in front of your apartment
Patio with Comfortable Lounge Chairs you can take the Lounge Chairs to the Beach
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
33 reviews
One of the Many Beautiful Views right in front of your apartment
Patio with Comfortable Lounge Chairs
you can take the Lounge Chairs to the Beach
Fully equipped modern kitchen Kitchen
living & Dining Area
Comfortable Living Room
Looking into the Bedroom
Queen Size Bed
Modern Bathroom with Marble Counter Top
looking west from inside your apartment
Looking out your Door and Outdoor Shower
Looking West
Looking North
Looking South
Where your apartment is at sunset
You will have plenty of opportunities to see monkeys
that's Lola, she lives up the Beach
You could catch one like this right in front
Sunsets at Plumita Pacifica!
Many beautiful sunsets right in front of your apartment
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Playa Junquillal, Province of Guanacaste

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Federico...
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Location, location, location”
Reviewed April 23, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Being able to wake up to the sound of the waves, or enjoy the setting of the red Pacific sun, is a majestic feeling, and this beachfront property provides just that, and more. The beach is secluded, clean and just beautiful. The apartment itself has the necessary amenities to enjoy a great vacation: it is equipped with a full kitchen if you prefer to stay in and cook to save some money. But the town has nice restaurants where you can enjoy local and international cuisine. Gary, the owner, is very friendly and has all the tips on restaurants and other nearby beaches and town to visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location of the property which is right on the beach.
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calysta5
Seattle, Washington
1 review
“Amazing Vacation Stay”
Reviewed January 12, 2014 for a stay in December 2013

I recently visited Costa Rica with my grown sons. Plumita Pacifica was a perfect vacation spot where we planned our explorations and adventures. When we weren't exploring the country, we were playing in the waves right in front of our rental. Our little apartment on the beach was better than we could have imagined! The home is a charming beachfront retreat. . . .beautiful and so comfortable. Gary, the owner, is a helpful and friendly host. We can't wait til we can return!

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 11, 2014
Hi Calysta... thank you for the great review!!! :-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Starrnzy
Nampa, Idaho
1 review
“Costa Rica the best vacation ever”
Reviewed November 23, 2013 for a stay in November 2013

We stayed 10 nights, Gary was so accosting and his domestic help was top notch. If you are looking for a big fancy tourist resort, this is not the olace for you. If you are looking to rest, relax and enjoy a vacation away from it all, then Plumita Pacifica is the perfect spot. We spent our days walking on the beautiful beach, looking for shells, checking the tide pools, learning about the turtle efforts with the turtle sanctuary just down the beach. We were never bored, and the time went way too fast. Great restaurants nearby, our favorite was Latinos the food was off the charts we tried something different every day. If I was brave enough to sell all we own, we would retire to Playa Junquillal in an instant, for now just have to make plans for a second visit.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 23, 2013
Hi Debbie & John,

Thanks for the nice review! :-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen K
Cedar Park, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Beautifully serene. Relaxation at its finest.”
Reviewed July 5, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

This is a small 1 bedroom located right on the beach. My wife and I loved hearing the sound of the surf, taking walks on the beach and swimming in the ocean. The owner is super friendly and accomodating, and the live-in caretakers are a great family and do a good job. For the price, this place is perfect to get away from it all. Keep in mind, it doesn't have a lot of frills but is perfect if you want to unplug and simply enjoy the beach. By the way, the beach is teeming with life....Crabs, Sand Dollars, Butterflies, birds, etc. Very exciting.

We mostly cooked for ourselves in the kitchen, which is sufficiently stocked with utensils and pans, etc. Need something you don't see, simply ask Gary or the caretakers. There is a market nearby, as well as several good local restaurants. Gary, the owner can fill you in and recommend a shuttle company if you don't want to make the walk. Some places are about half a mile, and others a little further. I almost forgot about the hammock, it's fantastic for afternoon naps. I connected to the WiFi to listen to a ball game and would enjoy a snooze.

My wife and I are already looking at our calendars to return next year!

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Fantastic location, right on the beach. Perfect for swimming and sunsets
Liked least: Small ants but they're everywhere, not just at this location.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 4, 2013
Hi Steve & DeDe... thanks for the terrific review!!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissa N
Friendswood, Texas
1 review
“Beach Paradise is Right!”
Reviewed June 12, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

Awesome location, the beach is literally right outside your front door. Great restaurants within walking distance. Gary and his staff are excellent and helpful, Gary knows the ins & outs of Costa Rica from his first hand experiences. The ticos are very nice and helpful with many speaking English. Plus great surf spots like Playa Negra & Lola's are a short drive away. Will definitely be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moon C
Bremerton, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Vacation Ever - Paradise on the Beach”
Reviewed March 1, 2013 for a stay in February 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Gary calls his rental, Plumita Pacifica, a slice of paradise. He's spot on. We thoroughly enjoyed our eight nights of paradise at Plumita Pacifica. The room is very comfortable, with a fully equipped kitchen where we made our breakfasts and lunches. The bedroom is nice and the bathroom has a spacious shower. But what makes this place so wonderful is the view - and what a view!! From our room, which had wall-to-wall glass windows and sliding doors, we could the rolling surf and the bright blue sky. Just a few steps from our door we could take long walks on the perfect beach. During the day the palm grove provided welcome shade from the sun, and at night we had the perfect view for watching the sunsets. We even saw the elusive "green flash"!

Plumita Pacifica is a great place to see local wildlife. We saw pelicans, egrets, hawks, magpies, squirrels, lizards, jumping marlin, devil rays, hermit crabs, and land crabs. We also had a surprise visitor - a young howler monkey came within 10 feet of our door one morning! My husband saw manta rays while swimming (but don't try that if you're not an experienced ocean swimmer). We also saw a large group of howler monkeys crossing the road just behind the rental. In fact, we got better monkey photos at Plumita Pacifica than we did on the wildlife tour we took!

We were looking for the perfect place to kick back and relax and we definitely found it. We chose not to rent a car and we didn't regret it. There are a few great restaurants within easy walking distance. There's also a little grocery store where you can get basics for breakfast and lunch just down the road. A larger store is only a mile away (be sure to make that walk in the morning as it gets hot in the afternoon). Local, "tico" restaurants are only a short drive away. If you don't have a car, a local company will drive you for a small fee.

Our stay at Plumita Pacifica was one of our best vacations ever! We highly recommend it.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The view and the price.
Liked least: I got sunburned.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 28, 2013
Hi Moon... thank you very much for taking the time to write a review... and such a great one at that! Gary :-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandarin0...
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Bargain.”
Reviewed January 2, 2013 for a stay in December 2012

This vacation rental is a bargain, the property is located right on the beach. The beach is secluded, clean and beautiful. The apartment is clean, comfortable and well appointed. Gary, the owner, is very friendly and helpful. There's a well stocked mini market about a mile away where you'll find just about anything you might want in order to prepare your own meals. Great place to have a relaxing and inexpensive vacation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: View.
Liked least: Nothing really.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing