We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Costa Rica adventure”
Review of Guacamaya Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Guacamaya Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 30, 2010

We were in Costa Rica March 4-11th, 2010 for a sunset wedding for our niece & her man and we were not dissappointed. We stayed at the Gucamaya Lodge, Bernie & Alice were very accommodating, the food was always good, the drinks cold, the rooms made up with - out any interruption to us. We were worried about no T.V. or radio in the rooms, but it was very relaxing, almost simple feeling not to have anything distracting. If your looking for a place to reconnect or just get away from everything, this is the place to go. The taxi driver Chris picked us up at the airport & got us back for our return flight with no problems at all. Thanks everyone at the Guacamaya Lodge for taking care of us & making our trip memorable !! Wade & Rhonda

1  Thank NoDakGirl28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (126)
There are newer reviews for Guacamaya Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 126 reviews

Reviewed July 24, 2009

I've been using Trip Advisor so much to plan another trip that it was gnawing on me that I never left a raving review of this wonderful place where I stayed three years ago. We stayed here to be close to Tamarindo. Once we got to Tamarindo, we left after about an hour to leave the spring break vibe and go back to our own private beach at Junquillal. The hotel is wonderful. Each "room" is its own little house. The bedroom was very spacious with a king sized bed. The grounds were gorgeous and very well maintained. At night I just stood there and stared at the stars- beautiful! The beach right by the hotel was equally beautiful- and it was empty! A private slice of heaven. The owners were very kind, the food was good, and I was amazed by the quality for the price. This was, by far, my favorite hotel in Costa Rica.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank redpixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2009

When we arrived we realized that we were the only people staying at the lodge and were concerned about the services.
It did not take long for us to see that everything was going to be okay. The grounds were beautifully maintained, the bungalow was spotlessly clean, the pool was beautiful and the restaurant/bar was open. Yes you are a short walk to the beach, but only about 200 - 300 yards.
This is a remote area with lots of natural beauty and not the crowded city. The walks on the beach and the sun sets are magnificant. There is a small restaurant/bar on the beach where you can have a drink and watch the sun sets. And yes we would also recommend the restaurant there at the lodge.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cadmandan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2009

Great place. Great location. Great restaurant. Wonderful owners. Very laid back and very professionally run. The 2nd floor apartments are the best. Rates are really reasonable. Cool breezes at the top of the hill really make a difference.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alexzen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2008

My wife and I stayed 2 nights at Guacamaya Lodge at the end of January, 2008.

When we first arrived at the property (after a 4+ hour drive from Lost Iguana/Arenal), my wife was concerned because we believed the hotel was closer to Playa Junquillal. In fact, its on a hill across the street from the road to access the beach. It looks much farther from the water than it really is, and we soon discovered that the walk to the beach was pretty minimal, which was nice. There's also a small supermarket on the way for drinks and snacks.

Guacamaya Lodge has a campy, communal feel to it (but rooms have A/C and private baths). Many of the guests are repeat customers, and many stay for weeks or months at a time. Plus there are numerous "locals" (actually transplanted Americans) who live in the Junquillal area and hang out at the Guacamaya restaurant and bar. Some are legends in their own minds, if you know what I mean. People were generally nice, but some act as if they alone discovered Junquillal and newcomers are ruining the secret. Nevertheless, its still pretty unpopulated compared to other CR beaches and quite undiscovered by most tourists.

Guacamaya has a nice little pool area and a good restaurant. The rooms were very clean and confortable - a great deal at $70/night, particularly after the vastly more expensive Lost Iguana Resort. Ours had a kitchenette with a full size fridge. The grounds were clean and well manicured. Playa Junquillal is also very clean with beautiful fine black sand. We participated in a release of baby baula and leatherback turtles one evening, which was a great experience.

All in all, good value for the money if you are looking for a quiet beach town experience on the Pacific coast.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank lkhjah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2007

The food here was amazing. I still wish i could eat there on a daily basis. Everything is reasonably priced. Bernie and Alice are so sweet and hospitible. Anna tres is so friendly and so is the local cat, snakes and frogs. 5 minute walk from the beach.

Stayed: May 2007
1  Thank okbecki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2007

I only had the chance to stay here for one night but I must say the staff here is the best to be found anywhere. The owner is Swiss and the menu reflects this in both Swiss and Costa Rican dishes. The pool is BEAUTIFUL and the rooms are well kept with good A/C. There is a very nice snorkling beach about a 20 minute walk from the lodge which was full of fish and other sea life. This lodge really is a gem and is an easy decision if you are looking for somewhere to stay for a night on a tour up the coast or to stay for a week and unwind.

Stayed: March 2007
Thank kitseng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Junquillal
0.2 mi away
Mundo Milo Eco Lodge
Mundo Milo Eco Lodge
#1 of 4 in Playa Junquillal
211 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Playa Negra
Hotel Playa Negra
#1 of 5 in Santa Cruz
140 reviews
8.4 mi away
Azul Ocean Club Hotel
Azul Ocean Club Hotel
#1 of 1 in Playa Azul
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas
9.3 mi away
Cala Luna Luxury Boutique Hotel & Villas
16.5 mi away
Conchal Hotel
Conchal Hotel
#1 of 3 in Brasilito
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guacamaya Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guacamaya Lodge

Address: Playa Junquillal, Playa Junquillal, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Junquillal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Playa Junquillal
Price Range: $72 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Guacamaya Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guacamaya is a friendly, feel-at-home haven of peaceful cabinas around a large pool overlooking the magic blue of the Pacific. The Bar and Restaurant also offer a luscious view of the beautiful manicured garden. Your peaceful relaxation will be ever so slightly "disturbed" only by a wonderful variety of tropical birds, our local group of monkeys from the mangroves or the pounding surf of Playa Junquillal.Your Swiss hosts, Bernie and Alice, welcome you in their native Swiss or fluent Spanish, English or German, or acceptable French, Italian or Portuguese. The brother and sister duo have designed an intimate atmosphere at the Guacamaya Lodge that allows their guests to get to know each other and the staff. The international clientele creates a unique opportunity to strike up new friendships in this tropical paradise, with guests from all over the world. Come join us for a taste of international cuisine, the magic of any kind of beach you desire, exploring an exotic wonderland of birds, animals, exotic tropical plants, or adventuring beneath the sea Enjoy international gourmet cuisine with a specialty in Swiss culinary delights, or bring home your own catch of the day and have it prepared a variety of wonderful ways. In the Rancho Bar, you can enjoy your favorite cocktail or cool "cerveza" while you brag about the day's activities.STANDARD CABINASGuacamaya Lodge has six well-kept cabinas with individual bathrooms surrounding a large pool (AC) STUDIO APARTMENTS Guacamaya Lodge offers four studio apartments including a full stove and refrigerator kitchenette with a wonderful ocean view from the kitchen, living room and deck. (AC)VILLA ESTHERTwo-bedroom villa with living room, full stove andrefrigerator, kitchen and covered patio. (AC)CASA MARGARITATwo-bedroom villa with living room, full stove andrefrigerator, kitchen and covered patio. (AC) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Guacamaya Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guacamaya Hotel Playa Junquillal
Guacamaya Lodge Costa Rica/Playa Junquillal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing