We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Idyllic Holiday Destination” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Minoa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Minoa
Ranked #2 of 40 Hotels in Tolon
Certificate of Excellence
Lancashire, England
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Idyllic Holiday Destination”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2011

I'm writing this review sat in the beachside bar, savouring a G&T whilst the warm sea gently laps onto the shore.

This is my first visit to Tolo so obviously my first time at the Minoa. Whilst here I've met people who are on their 12th, 13th, 20th and 30th visit to the hotel.

All the reviews on this site are spot on. The location is perfect, scenery stunning, hotel is clean and impeccably run. Fantastic service all round, with special mention to Aris in the beach bar.

Check in was swift and hassle free, the main problem being having to drag the cases across the sandy beach which literally meets the hotel steps!!

The rooms, whilst basic are spotless with large flat screen TV, Fridge and air con. The furniture is slightly dated but perfectly adequate and the bathroom has a shower over the bath.

Breakfast I thought was fab. There isn't an endless selection but there is cereal, toast, bacon or sausage, fried and boiled eggs, continental meats and cheeses, fruit and divine thick greek yoghurt plus as much tea and coffee as required. The highlight though is the view across the sea and little boats to the hills in the distance.

The food in the beach bar is fine with a good selection though we didn't eat in the hotel restaurant in the evening, preferring to try the tavernas nearby of which there are many. Try the Romvi for a great meal right on the beach. The pizzeria on the main road was great and reasonably priced but my absolute favourite is Tsiros taverna for a kebab or Gyro. It's very well priced, the food is excellent and most of the diners are greek which tells you all you need to know.

There is a Friday night boat trip to Nafplion (the former Greek capital) which is a delight. it returns around 11.30 and the sail back is fantastic with the night sky full of stars, and if you're lucky the odd shootinmg star - fantastic!
I could go on but why take my word for it? If you are looking for a relaxing break you couldn't do much better than the Minoa but you could do a lot worse. I couldn't recommend it highly enough.

Room Tip: Sea view is essential. It costs more but it's breathtaking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HP134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    58
    4
    0
    2
See reviews for
73
71
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
athens
Level Contributor
38 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2011

The hotel is the absolute beach & sea destination. The hotel entrance is 5 meters from the shore and on the beach sand. You can sit the whole day in front of the lovely bay with clear shallow water, ideal for kids, no wind since the bay is covered by surrounding mountain and 2 islands which giving you a lovely view.
The hotel is lovely, clean with more facilities and services you can expect from a 3 star hotel, being definitely for me a 4 star hotel. Fridge, Flat TV, Cable & Satellite, room service, reasonable prices at the beach bar which serves really good food, sun beds and umbrellas without extra charge, even beach towels, safe box, quiet air condition and if you get a beach view room the view is amazing, specially from the 2nd and 3rd floor. The rooms could be bigger but it really doesn’t matter with all the other positive fact of this hotel. In the shower there is no floor mat so if you are about to shower a young child you should bring along one, in order to avoid any slipping. The Parking is also an issue since you have to park the car at the nearby municipal parking space which, in prime periods of summer, it’s mainly full but since the hotel is at the best possible beach front spot in tolo the parking issue is just a small sacrifice you have to make.
Breakfast is also great. Served in front of the beach at the air-conditioned restaurant, or at the tables on the beach, a few steps from the sea. Great variety of food: Eggs, bacon, sausages, pastries, corn flakes, low fat turkey ham, 2 sort of toast bread, even fresh fruits. And everything served with a big smile.
Check in and check out is fast and service of the receptionist girl named “Soso” was great.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank makis33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wageningen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2011

as a family of 5 we stayed in a suite excisting of two bedrooms with two bathrooms and two balconies. The rooms are spacious, kept very clean, but a little bit older (curtains are a bit faded, bathroom needs some sprucing up, that kind of thing). Overall, we had a lovely stay in Minoa, good breakfast, very spacious hotel with breakfast restaurant and outside terrace with restaurant, large seating area inside, good tourist information available. From the hotel you step right on the small beach and into the water. Especially for families with smaller children, this will be perfect.
The only strange thing....you have to drag your suitcases through the sandy beach to get to the hotel entrance. We were kind of surprised that you couldn't get to the hotel any other way.

Room Tip: spacious rooms and kept very clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sandra-vacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2011

We always enjoy staying at the Minoa, a sea front room is essential to make the most of the beach location. The adjacent harbor is alive with activity, fishing boats coming and going, the small Pegasus cruise vessels taking to tourists to Hydra and Spetses. The hotel is always clean and welcoming, the owners and staff always extremely helpful. The food served in the hotel bar and restaurant is also recommended, with home made Greek dishes on offer most days. As you can see, we cannot fault the hotel and will be back in 2011 to enjoy another visit to Tolo.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Stan-Pam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2010

What can I say? We stayed at Hotel Minoa at the beginning of our trip around the Greek mainland. The Hotel turned out to be my absolute favorite. The location of the hotel is just breathtaking. We woke up every morning to the beautiful sunrise and the fishermen leaving on their boats. The extra cost for the rooms with sea view are definitely worth it.

The hotel is owned by a friendly and helpful Greek family and has a real Greek feel to it. It is not a flash luxury hotel, maybe the interior would be considered a little bit dated, but in my opinion that only added to the charm.

Tolo is a busy holiday location, with Minoa Hotel lying just on the edge of all the hustle and bustle. The hotel and the beach wasn't overly busy while we were there, but we were told it can get very crowded during July and August.
The beach was very pleasant (suitable for families with young children as well) with beach chairs provided by the hotel.

While we stayed here for 3 nights, I really wished we would have booked for a full week, as there is plenty to see and visit in the area.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marthune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Kent UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2010

I have stayed at this Hotel with my wife and young son (now 15) for the last 5 years and I am going again in 2010. The hotel Minoa is beautifully placed near to Tolo Harbour and the sea is literally in front of the Hotel. The food is excellent particularly tyhe cooked morning breakfast. The staff are very courteous and friendly in both the reception and restaurant areas, as are the hotel's domestic staff. This hotel is a must in this part of Greece. There are numerous places of interest to see nearby, so what are you waiting for?

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anthony009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
60 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2009

Seaview room well worth it for the lovely view. The apparent lack of amenities was no problem; the slightly unusual approach via the sandy beach was from a large public car park, with bus terminus, and the sea was only a few paces across the beach from the front entrance, great for a swim before breakfast, or at any time. Our room was virtually above the front entrance, but very quiet; quite small, but with good storage and well equipped; we were glad of the air conditioning. Nice public areas, breakfast good and varied and, in addition to the buffet dinner, there was a bar snack menu from lunch time late into the evening, though there were plenty of good tavernas handy. All the staff were efficient, friendly and out to please the guests, several of whom were regular returners over a number of years. Greek hospitality at its best.

Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank GrandadLincs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tolon hotels
0.5 mi away
Apollon Hotel
Apollon Hotel
#1 of 40 in Tolon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel King Minos
Hotel King Minos
#3 of 40 in Tolon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
0.4 mi away
Amaryllis Hotel Apartment
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Golden Beach Tolo
0.4 mi away
Frini Hotel
Frini Hotel
#7 of 40 in Tolon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
0.5 mi away
Nelly's Apartments
Nelly's Apartments
#5 of 40 in Tolon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Minoa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Minoa

Property: Hotel Minoa
Address: 56 Aktis, Tolon 210 56, Greece
Location: Greece > Peloponnese > Argolis Region > Tolon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Tolon
#1 Family Hotel in Tolon
#7 Romantic Hotel in Tolon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Minoa 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Minoa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minoa Hotel Tolo
Hotel Minoa Greece/Tolon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing