We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great time for everyone!”
Review of Kohala Ditch Adventures - CLOSED

Kohala Ditch Adventures
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Introducing the Kohala Ditch Adventures. A completely new and ultimate Eco-adventure floating in mountain Kayaks exploring the famed Kohala Ditch System on the Big Island of Hawaii.
Guam, Mariana Islands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great time for everyone!”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

So much fun! Get off the beach and into the ditch. Our group had folks aged 6 to 60 and everyone loved it. This tour is a great way to learn island history while spending time outside. If you're nervous about the water--don't be. It's a relaxing ride with cool breezes and beautiful scenery. Ask for Keli'i and Harold. Those guys rock!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jenn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

186 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    43
    8
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Tame ride, but cool experience !”
Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

We were on our honeymoon and wanted an offbeat but interesting adventure. Kohala Ditch Adventure was recommended by the hotel in Hawaii. We arrived at the main site and were transported up the mountain in a fun open air truck. After arriving at the summit of the rain forest we were placed in inflatable kayaks for a trip down the irrigation flukes. A fun, cool, a little wet, 5 mile trip in and out the mountains. Literally you go in and through passages cut through the mountains. If you're looking for a relaxing adventure with interesting sites you will enjoy the Kohala Ditch tour.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Neil N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jefferson City, Missouri
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very tame but off beat adventure”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

My family and I decided to this because we've never before had the opportunity to kayak in an irrigation ditch system before and probably won't again. For that reason, it's a must do. However, my teenagers were a little bored. You spend a lot of time going through the underground tunnels that the irrigation ditch follows. It's fascinating to hear about the history and the guide is very knowledgable about Hawaii but the only thing my kids found exciting was going through the tunnels without turning on our headlanterns. Honestly, this is great for young kids and old people. Teens and young adventurers are going to find this a bit dull. The only reason that my 70 year old mother wouldn't do this is because she can't sit indian style for 2 hours. Otherwise, she would have really enjoyed it. I wish there had been a lot more float time were you could see the scenery and enjoy the sun. But that's not possible because of the limited areas where you can pick up and drop off in the ditch system. Glad I did it, but I don't see myself ever doing it again.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Anna E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KohalaAdventures, Owner at Kohala Ditch Adventures, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Aloha, Anna.

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us feedback on our tour. We are very sorry to hear your group thought our tour a bit dull. The purpose of our tour is to share the rich history of the area with our guests while taking off-road trips on our pinzgauar, strolling around the surrounding areas of the ditch, and floating through earth tunnels and water flumes. Our main goal is to bring these places of the past to life for our guests. The actual time spent sitting in the kayak is a little over an hour. Believe it or not, guests ranging in ages from 5 to 83 years old have joined us on our tour. Individuals uncomfortable sitting indian-style may request to sit in the front of the kayak where they can stretch out their legs. Again, thank you for joining us, and we hope that you enjoyed the rest of your time on the island.

Mahalo,
Sandie Wong, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broomfield, Colorado
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“AWESOME experience to see and hear about the island underground!”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

WOW! This is a must do for everyone! Our group of adults and children had a blast going through a water filled irrigation ditch on kayaks for over 2 miles. The leaders of every kayak do get wet, as their legs are in the water most of the time, but our group leader said he didn't mind at all. The leader and "caboose" on each kayak wear headlights and have paddles for the slower areas, but it's not a labor intensive trip at all. You mainly use the kayaks to keep from running into the tunnel walls, which isn't a big deal if you do. There's no where else to go! It's like being on an alpine slide with water, but without the major incline. You go through a bunch of long, dark caves...the last one everyone keeps their lights off and our wonderful guide, Hula, tells Hawaiian stories and gives out a ton of Hawaiian history, some scary, but all entertaining. Our group had a blast! We loved popping out of the tunnels and seeing the beautiful Hawaiian vegetation and waterfalls - amazing! We brought a water-proof camera, but only our rear ends and legs got super wet. Our heads got a little wet when going over some dripping areas of the tunnels, but we definitely could've brought our regular camera. Our short hike down to the entry of the canal was breathtaking! Harold was a great guide and maneuvered us in the Pinzgauer to a beautiful spot on the Big Island overlooking a cliff near the start of our kayak adventure. The kids in our group said it was their favorite experience on the entire trip...they said it sure beat the Pirates ride at Disney!! The kiddos also enjoyed hanging out with Elmer the cat after the tour and we all loved our macadamia nut and Hawaiian drink/water snacks. The entire staff was extremely professional and fun to be around! We also noticed how they cleaned the bathrooms before and after all their groups so it was spotless. What more can I say?! We did have a great time...it was a bit pricey, but all our excursions on this trip weren't cheap, so I can't complain about the price!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tiff2010_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
120 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Best Activity on the Big Island”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

This is the best activity on the big island. Our guide Hula was da best. Very relaxing float down while getting a lot of history and info. We went on this tour about 10 years ago (different company) and was very happy to see the return of flumin da ditch following the earthquake. My wife and I will definitely repeat this activity again.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank lawdawg1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kohala Ditch Adventures also viewed

Hawi, Island of Hawaii
Kapaau, Island of Hawaii
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing