We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small Local Restaurant with a Great Attitude”
Review of Minnie's

Minnie's
Ranked #3 of 16 Restaurants in Kapaau
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Hawaiian
Restaurant details
Hawi, Hawaii
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Small Local Restaurant with a Great Attitude”
Reviewed July 19, 2014

The chef - Minnie- really knows how to prepare fish . The fresh Ono and ahi are excellent. The Friday night prime rib special was delicious. The staff is friendly and really makes an effort to accommodate even large groups. No one is afraid to move a table or two to get things right. An observation: community member or visitor, dine in or take out - everyone was treated in a friendly manner. It was really fun to feel all the positive energy. This is the Aloha spirit.
We sat inside but there is also an outdoor dining area. No ocean view but you know you are in Hawaii. How cool is that!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Ele L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    25
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Island of Hawaii, Hawaii
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best fish sandwich we've found...anywhere.”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We've been to a lot of places in the Hawaiian Islands, and we've eaten a lot of good food, but the best fish sandwich we've found is at Minnie's in Kapaau. Not only is this one of the least expensive fish sandwiches around, it is reliably the freshest as you can stand at the window and watch Minnie slicing the fish in the kitchen. There are generally two choices of fish each day, and it has been fun trying out fish that I never new I loved! Monchong - who knew? The sandwich is served with homemade dill tartar sauce, and with the cup of slaw made with diced apple and pineapple and a very light cream sauce, your meal is complete. Excellent food. Excellent value. And served with the sweetest smile. Priceless.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank timnconnie13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great Quick Lunch”
Reviewed May 18, 2014 via mobile

Needed a quick lunch after visiting the north end of the island. Really fresh ahi and very friendly service!!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Curtis H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“good fish”
Reviewed May 9, 2014

The prices are amazing for the amount of fish. It is a walk uo counter. No wait help here but very good "local" food.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lilia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kapaau, Hawaii
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The best in Kapaau.”
Reviewed April 16, 2014

You have to order the lobster dish from them,it is so good,fresh and appetizing,i liked the scallop and the shrimp patties which comes with ,also the fresh fish and believe me it is ALWAYS fresh,the glazed carrots and the mash potatoes.The price is sooo reasonable and the atmosphere is very homy.Honestly i love MINNIE'S.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank micha903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Minnie's also viewed

Kapaau, Island of Hawaii
Kapaau, Island of Hawaii
 
Kapaau, Island of Hawaii
Hawi, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Minnie's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing