We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best wedding venue ever!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hawaii Island Retreat at Ahu Pohaku Ho`omaluhia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hawaii Island Retreat at Ahu Pohaku Ho`omaluhia
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kapaau
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Waimea, Hawaii
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best wedding venue ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2014

My daughter was recently married at Hawaii Island Retreat. What a fantastic experience! We felt aloha and welcomed from the moment we arrived. The Retreat is breathtakingly beautiful, peaceful and serene, also unique in that it is off the grid-what an accomplishment! The wedding ceremony was on the cliff overlooking the ocean. The reception was held in the dining room and courtyard-we danced for hours to a great band. The food at the reception was fabulous, and each day that we stayed (3) we were treated to a beautiful breakfast and dinner with organic fruits and veggies grown right there on the property. There are goats, chickens and bees and a large organic garden. We had fresh eggs, yogurt, cheeses, ice cream and honey!
The rooms were large and beautifully appointed. The honeymoon suite was so cool-on the third floor it has a claw foot tub, its own patio and lovely views. The Retreat is so amazing-everywhere we looked a delight to the senses. We swam in the salt water infinity pool overlooking a lush valley and relaxed in the hot tub.
Jeanne and her staff were so warm and helpful and incredibly knowledgeable about Hawaiiana and the land.
This is definitely the way to do a wedding. From the rehearsal dinner to the breakfast the day after-everything was perfect. I highly recommend the Hawaii Island Retreat to anyone who wants a magical, amazing wedding or just wants to get away to an awesomely beautiful place.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DODEEZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hawaiiislandretreat, General Manager at Hawaii Island Retreat at Ahu Pohaku Ho`omaluhia, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Thank you for choosing our "Retreat" for your daughter's wedding. We are extremely pleased that everyone had such a great experience; and delighted that all family members were able to enjoy such a beautiful wedding together.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    14
    11
    4
    4
See reviews for
17
60
19
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
St. Helena, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2014

A return to the TRUE Aloha Spirit that 50 years ago. A haven of nourishing tranquility and an atmosphere of harmony. If you want to recharge and spent valuable time with loved ones there is NO better place

Green Features: The hotel sustains the soul and the planet with equal authenticity.
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hawaiiislandretreat, General Manager at Hawaii Island Retreat at Ahu Pohaku Ho`omaluhia, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Thank you so much! We are so pleased you enjoyed your time with us. As you know first hand we strive very hard to recreate the aloha spirit. We want all of our guests to feel welcome and to enjoy this very special place that is Hawaii Island Retreat. We intentionally designed and built our retreat as a place for our guests to relax, unwind, and regain a sense of balance and wellbeing. Not only was the design critical to achieving this but also the location, set among the ocean side cliffs of the North Kohala coastline. Recapturing the "Aloha" spirit is a key element, thank you for recognizing it. We look forward to seeing you and your family return to our Retreat in the future. Mahalo nui loa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arcachon, France
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2014

Wonderful stay in the heart of nature, in this hotel overlooking a cliff. Peace and tranquility, this is the feeling that I remember from my time there. I recommend it highly, without the slightest hesitation.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Jo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hawaiiislandretreat, General Manager at Hawaii Island Retreat at Ahu Pohaku Ho`omaluhia, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
We work very hard to provide the tranquility and serenity many of our guests are looking for -- we are so very happy you were able to enjoy it to the fullest! Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2014

Jeanie and her staff are all amazing in their attention to detail and personal service. This was my fourth visit and I'll keep coming back for the care, healing & exceptional service!! The location is a bit remote but that's the point. It makes for a "true" retreat.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gdgerbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hawaiiislandretreat, General Manager at Hawaii Island Retreat at Ahu Pohaku Ho`omaluhia, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Mahalo! It is extremely gratifying to see returning guests! Thank you for being part of the Hawaii Island Retreat family and for allowing us to continue to make your stays pleasant and enjoyable. We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2014

I've just returned from two glorious weeks at Hawaii Island Retreat. I went for a wedding and stayed for the amazing experience of old Royal Hawaii. The wedding was at a beautiful spot on a cliff overlooking the ocean, so the sound of the sea punctuated the beauty of the couple's vows. The reception was glorious with tables scattered around the open patio and waterfall lights decorating the trees. Very romantic. There's room for a band and dancing, too.

Staying a week after the event gave me a chance to feel the beauty and the deep healing quality of the land. Chef Mo uses produce from the extensive gardens for meals plus fresh yogurt and cheeses are always available and made on site. A tea and coffee table is available all day long.

Two must-do experiences: walking in the gulch with the sacred stones where King Kamehameha held council and swimming in the salt water pool. Incredible. Lay your palms on the stones to feel their energy; let the salt water wash away tired muscles and rejuvenate your skin. And for an incredible healing session, book a massage with one of the therapists or a yoga session; and even better, schedule a healing with Jeanne who is trained in both ancient island healing and modern Neurolink to bring the brain and the body into alignment.

Great organic food, beautiful location, luxurious rooms, comforting beds and pillows, excellent staff, and a healing ambience. You can rest from this over-taxing world whether you're planning a couples' vacation, a wedding, or some alone downtime, and you won't go wrong. This isn't just a hotel. It's a haven.

Room Tip: Tell the owner, Jeanne, what you are looking for and she will accommodate you. All rooms are airy an...
See more room tips
Green Features: Having meals prepared from fruits and vegetables and yogurt and cheeses made from organic products on the land was marvelous. A windmill provides electricity; the water is pure; the land is cared for in a sacred manner; and the gardens are extensive.
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hawaiiislandretreat, General Manager at Hawaii Island Retreat at Ahu Pohaku Ho`omaluhia, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Aloha Janet, thank you for the amazing review! We are all so happy you were able to enjoy your stay to the fullest, not only the wedding but the time spent afterwards unwinding and absorbing all of the wonderful energy this land has to offer. There is not much more that I can add except, Mahalo nui loa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2014

This was my second visit to Hawaii Island Retreat at Ahu Pohaku, the first was for a family reunion, and this one was for a wedding. It could not have been better for either one. Incredibly lovely setting for a wedding, the dining room was perfect for the dinner, and the patio just right for dancing. A wonderful time was had by all. The quiet spirituality of the place cannot be missed, a trip down to the historical"circle of Stones" is a must. And to sample the healthful locally grown food is a bit of heaven.

Room Tip: The upper rooms have a wonderful view, while the lower rooms are great for those who prefer no stair...
See more room tips
Green Features: Most food is grown on the premises, and left overs are fed to the chickens--thus fresh eggs each day. Goats provide fresh milk, cream, cheese and even occasionally ice cream.
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Judith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2014

My husband and I loved this place! I stayed at the retreat as part of my University of Minnesota Center for Spirituality experience. This place is peaceful, historical, serene, healing and unforgettable.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Johgas007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hawaiiislandretreat, General Manager at Hawaii Island Retreat at Ahu Pohaku Ho`omaluhia, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Mahalo. We are so very happy that both you and your husband enjoyed your stay with us. We are deeply committed to making our guest's experience a memorable one. Again, thank you for your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapaau
17.5 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
16.8 mi away
Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection
22.7 mi away
Kings' Land by Hilton Grand Vacations
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
44.0 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
20.9 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
31.6 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawaii Island Retreat at Ahu Pohaku Ho`omaluhia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawaii Island Retreat at Ahu Pohaku Ho`omaluhia

Property: Hawaii Island Retreat at Ahu Pohaku Ho`omaluhia
Address: 250 Lokahi Road, Box 185, Kapaau, Island of Hawaii, HI 96755
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kapaau
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kapaau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hawaii Island Retreat at Ahu Pohaku Ho`omaluhia 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled among towering pines and cooling ocean breezes Hawaii Island Retreat and Spa is unique among Hawaii Destinations. Located on 50 acres of North Kohala's coastal land, this boutique hotel is the ultimate in sustainability merged with a luxury spa retreat. Our elite 17 room boutique lodge features farm-to-table dining, spacious yoga studios with polished hardwood floors, and luxurious guest rooms with roomy private bath and balcony. We offer elegant venues in a distinctly Hawaiian setting. Perfect for group retreats, weddings, reunions, and corporate retreats. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hawaii Island Retreat at Ahu Pohaku Ho`omaluhia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawaii Island Retreat At Ahu Pohaku Ho`Omaluhia Hotel Kapaau
Hawaii Island Retreat At Ahu Pohaku Ho`Omaluhia Kapaau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing