We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful, Unique, and Delicious!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hawaii Island Retreat at Ahu Pohaku Ho`omaluhia
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kapaau
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed August 29, 2012

My significant other and I were looking to relax before the start of yet another stressful school year. We were able to stay for about a week but by the end of our stay we both wished we could live there. The staff was very friendly and helpful, the food was natural and delicious (not to mention organic and healthy), the rooms were beautiful and quiet, and the area is full of positive and calming energy. Since our return home we both have adopted lifestyles which were borrowed from our experience here. This resort is doing an excellent job and staying here is a wonderful way to experience what Hawaii has to offer!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Justin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hawaiiislandretreat, Manager at Hawaii Island Retreat at Ahu Pohaku Ho`omaluhia, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2012

Thank you so much for your thoughtful reflections. We loved having you both here and are pleased that the benefits of your visit has stayed with you. We hope this continues to be your "happy place" and look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (140)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 140 reviews

Reviewed August 15, 2012

We stayed here as part of our honeymoon holiday and found the resort a very peaceful and relaxing destination. We stayed in one of the Yurts, which are great value, as you can use all the rest of the hotel facilities. The infinity pool in particular is gorgeous, and we managed 5 swims in a 2 night stay! The public areas of the hotel are also very attractive and well maintained, and the personal attention of the staff is great. Our highlight was the dinner we had at the resort, cooked by Mo, as he was effectively our private chef for the evening, and having asked us what we liked to eat, cooked us a four course dinner for a bargain price! We also had a great meal at the Sushi restaurant in Hawi - which is a lovely little town.

The only very small issue we had were that we found the prices for the massages quite prohibitive - though I don't think these are set by the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Derbygirl100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hawaiiislandretreat, Manager at Hawaii Island Retreat at Ahu Pohaku Ho`omaluhia, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2012

Thank you for sharing your experiences and thoughts with us. We loved having you here and look forward to welcoming you back for an anniversary!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Because I live just a 45 minute drive away from Hawaii Island Retreat, I have never stayed at the hotel, but I have used the spa services a number of times. The massage therapists have always been fantastic; the outdoor massage area is incredibly relaxing; the ambiance of the hotel is wonderful. It is a beautiful place - I wish I could justify staying there!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hawaiiislandretreat, Manager at Hawaii Island Retreat at Ahu Pohaku Ho`omaluhia, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2012

Thank you Laura. It is always a pleasure to see you and share the healing energy of this place.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Honestly, this was the best vacation I had ever had -- and I cannot think of a single thing that could have been better. The staff, the food, the rooms, the location, the atmosphere.... peaceful, beautiful, and (not sure how to say this), but respectful of the beautiful planet we live on. I arrived a stressed out mess, and I have been home a week, and I still feel like a changed person. I am grateful for having had a glimpse of another way to live.

Take advantage of the wonderful meals prepared by Mo, but they do not have a liquor license, so pick up a bottle of wine at the lovely liquor store in town.

Perfect for relaxing but close to all kinds of great outdoor activities! Loved snorkeling (the hotel has equipment you can borrow), the ZOHALA Zipline adventure was out of this world, and hike down to the black sand beach at the end of the road.

My plan is to go back and this time I may stay in the Yurt. They are super cute and affordable.

Room Tip: There are only 9 rooms and they are all beautiful... we had the PEACH and it was lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elisabeth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacque W, Manager at Hawaii Island Retreat at Ahu Pohaku Ho`omaluhia, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2012

Thank you for making the choice to take a much needed rest and for choosing Hawaii Island Retreat. Hearing how deeply impacted you were by the energy of this place is very gratifying, and we are so happy to have had a part in your transformative experience. Come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Loved everything about this place. Beautiful retreat, beautiful island. My husband and I stayed for 4 days but wished we could have stayed much longer. The retreat is very clean, very relaxing. The food was wonderful. Jeanne and her staff were all so warm and friendly. Looking forward to going back asap.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank April C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 11, 2012

Thank you so much for sharing your impressions and experiences. We wish you could have stayed longer too! Next trip. Until then, Aloha!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2012

My new husband and I stayed for about a week. Jeanne, the owner and as well as the rest of the staff were very warm to us! The location is very private and is definitely a place for escape from everyday city life and hectic ness that life sometimes throws at you. We also had our intimate wedding there and staff members Kelli and Jacque were very accommodating to our needs! I would highly recommending staying at this retreat because of the food(organic, fresh from the garden!), the energy, the atmosphere and mostly the humble staff :)

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Humanity1st
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 7, 2012

Thank you so much for allowing us to participate in the beginning of your lives together. Heartfelt blessings on your marriage, and thank you so much for your kind words. See you on your anniversary!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2012

"Once is not enough" as the saying goes. My friend and I happened upon Hawaii Island Retreat in May, with no reservation and no knowledge of the place. Of course, we were meant to find it. It's what happens in Hawaii when things are done and accepted with the right intention. It is what is known as "Pono" - being in the right place at the right time with the right people doing the right thing. The owners, Jeannie and Robert, along with the staff Kelly, Jackie, Chef Mo, and Amy were briliant. I returned last week (June) and the experience was a repeat of the first. It is off the beaten trail for a reason - it is perfection. One will leave better in all ways if he or she "gets" the magic and sacredness of Ahu Pohaku Ho'omaluhia. It is not the typical resort in Hawaii - what anyone can find easily and book even easier, along with everyone else. A captain on one of the Hawaiian sailing canoes states, "You get out of it what you put into it." Well done on having the vision and persevering with the dream so that others may learn to do the same. I thank you, Mary Anna

Room Tip: You are in Hawaii so be sure and experience a room with an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary Anna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 7, 2012

We are always happy to welcome you back and look forward to your next visit. Thank you so much for sharing your kind words and warm thoughts.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapaau
16.8 mi away
Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection
17.5 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
22.7 mi away
Kings' Land by Hilton Grand Vacations
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.9 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
23 mi away
Hilton Waikoloa Village
21.3 mi away
Mauna Lani Bay Hotel & Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawaii Island Retreat at Ahu Pohaku Ho`omaluhia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawaii Island Retreat at Ahu Pohaku Ho`omaluhia

Address: 250 Lokahi Road, Box 185, Kapaau, Island of Hawaii, HI 96755
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kapaau
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kapaau
Price Range: $451 - $627 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hawaii Island Retreat at Ahu Pohaku Ho`omaluhia 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled among towering pines and cooling ocean breezes Hawaii Island Retreat and Spa is unique among Hawaii Destinations. Located on 50 acres of North Kohala's coastal land, this boutique hotel is the ultimate in sustainability merged with a luxury spa retreat. Our elite 17 room boutique lodge features farm-to-table dining, spacious yoga studios with polished hardwood floors, and luxurious guest rooms with roomy private bath and balcony. We offer elegant venues in a distinctly Hawaiian setting. Perfect for group retreats, weddings, reunions, and corporate retreats. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hawaii Island Retreat at Ahu Pohaku Ho`omaluhia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawaii Island Retreat At Ahu Pohaku Ho`Omaluhia Hotel Kapaau
Hawaii Island Retreat At Ahu Pohaku Ho`Omaluhia Kapaau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing