We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best place in the world to relax and reflect” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hawaii Island Retreat at Ahu Pohaku Ho`omaluhia

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hawaii Island Retreat at Ahu Pohaku Ho`omaluhia
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kapaau
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best place in the world to relax and reflect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2011

I loved my stay here. I needed to get away from the stresses of daily life and found the perfect place. From the people to the food, locale to the spa and daily yoga, everything was top notch.
I really can't say enough good things. I have stayed at four seasons and other top resorts but I would choose this place over them hands down.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank njrudegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    14
    11
    4
    4
See reviews for
17
60
19
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2010

Our stay for a wedding at this family-owned hotel/spa was wonderful. The main building resembles the Mediterranean style of architecture, with a spacious veranda overlooking the attractive open courtyard below. The owners are friendly, knowledgeable, interesting and accommodating. Emphasis is on organic living , including a garden on the premises maintained by owner and staff. The catered meals for the wedding reception were excellent. Rooms are lovely but lack air conditioning,although overhead fan provides some ventilation. Considering the remoteness of this hotel, some type of food and/or beverage service should be available on a regular basis, or at least a small refrigerator should be provided in the room.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sonjavdh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darien, Connecticut
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2010

I was a solo traveler seeking a healing spiritual retreat and was a bit nervous about it, but once I was greeted by the staff and settled in I knew I was in the right place. Everything, from the hotel, to the bountiful, beautiful food (grown on the grounds) to the meditation, yoga and spa services, is done with care and thoughtful joy. I loved every moment! And the location is stunning, a true feeling of the Hawaiian coast.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mdldarien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2010

I'm a travel writer and have been to the Big Island over 30 times in as many years. I've not stayed north of Kohala and finding this new oasis in Hawi was pure heaven. Run by one of the gurus of spa culture, she worked a miracle on a leg problem I had that defied doctors, osteopaths and a massage therapist here in Australia which gave me the mobility I'd lacked for three months.

That was the surprise of the holiday and it gave me the freedom to zip around the property which comprises a nine room main building, a small colony of yurts up the hill, yoga facility, organic garden and a special spiritual place down th hill in a clearing where King Kamehameha used to meet with elders. The cliffside views plunge to infinity as sea breezes course up the coast. A pine grove gives way to rainforest and the surroundings are spectacular yet soothing.

All this activity was fueled by an immense yet meticulously prepared breakfast which included a Mexican influence one day and a fruit filled extravaganza of homegrown delights the next with some of the best birchermuesli I've ever tasted. The room was superb, the bed cocooned me and all the amenities were spot on for comfort. THere is a media room for the TV addict and a plentiful library. You couldn't ask for better staff who advised me of restaurants I'd missed in my travels including Sushi Rock and Luke's Tiki Bar and Restaurant in addition to my fave Bamboo.

The only shortcoming was my timing, I had only two days but found that they were like a week of decompression condensed in a mesmerising environment and family feel, yet private and spiritual without being new age.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trippsterSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2010

My husband and I were married at Hawaii Island Retreat last month, and we can't wait to go back for an aniversary. Every member of the staff is friendly and helpful; the rooms and grounds are beautiful; the spa treatments we enjoyed were top notch, and the ceremony was perfect. I don't think we could have found a better venue anywere.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mkdrsn25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Volcano, Hawaii
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2010

This year old retreat/spa is a perfect place for a relaxing get-away. Elegant, Island style architecture on developing grounds, with a beautiful pool and spa facilities. Quiet, with fabulous views out over the ocean from the bluff the retreat sits behind. A large, very private location with its own valley and trail to the water's edge, where whales are seen in season.
A full delicious breakfast is served and arrangements can be made for other meals, as well.
Hawaii Island Retreat is perfect spot to restore your mind and soul. It is also located in a lovely, very Hawaiian part of the Big Island, with great art galleries, and restaurants.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yodasan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2010

This is a beautiful, quite new inn, overlooking the ocean and facing Maui at the northmost tip of Hawaii Island. The owner and staff are solicitous of your comfort. The food is delicious and almost totally raised on the 60 acre property. Everything is fresh and beautifully prepared by a Morrocan chef whose use of middle eastern spices like curry and cumin enhance healthy, delightful meals. It's a place to totally relax, have a massage, read, swim in a beautiful pool, hike the trails and be renewed. It is not a place for people who need entertainment. It has no glitz - only beauty, comfort and care.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank edithseattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapaau
17.5 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
16.8 mi away
Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection
22.7 mi away
Kings' Land by Hilton Grand Vacations
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
44.0 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
20.9 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
21.3 mi away
Mauna Lani Bay Hotel & Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawaii Island Retreat at Ahu Pohaku Ho`omaluhia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawaii Island Retreat at Ahu Pohaku Ho`omaluhia

Property: Hawaii Island Retreat at Ahu Pohaku Ho`omaluhia
Address: 250 Lokahi Road, Box 185, Kapaau, Island of Hawaii, HI 96755
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kapaau
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kapaau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hawaii Island Retreat at Ahu Pohaku Ho`omaluhia 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled among towering pines and cooling ocean breezes Hawaii Island Retreat and Spa is unique among Hawaii Destinations. Located on 50 acres of North Kohala's coastal land, this boutique hotel is the ultimate in sustainability merged with a luxury spa retreat. Our elite 17 room boutique lodge features farm-to-table dining, spacious yoga studios with polished hardwood floors, and luxurious guest rooms with roomy private bath and balcony. We offer elegant venues in a distinctly Hawaiian setting. Perfect for group retreats, weddings, reunions, and corporate retreats. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hawaii Island Retreat at Ahu Pohaku Ho`omaluhia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawaii Island Retreat At Ahu Pohaku Ho`Omaluhia Hotel Kapaau
Hawaii Island Retreat At Ahu Pohaku Ho`Omaluhia Kapaau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing