We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than what is on offer in other restaurents”
Review of U Maje i Tonke - CLOSED

U Maje i Tonke
Cuisines: Croatian
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Better than what is on offer in other restaurents”
Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

After a crappy meal the night before it was a delight to have some tasty well presented food. The tapas were enough to satisfy rhe 2 of us. After watching another table tuck into a selection of desserts with gusto I tried the spiced peaches in wine and was not disappointed. Had we been staying longer I would have eaten there again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Diane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    21
    17
    7
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great food, service & atmosphere”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

After doing the rounds of the restaurants, this one appealed to us the most. We loved the setting and were looking forward to the antipasto plate. We were not disappointed! There was so much to share and something for everyone. Two of us had the stuffed eggplant for a main and enjoyed it very much, but could probably have shared one serve. The portions are a good size and after filling up on the antipasto, we didn't need too much more.
We ordered a bottle of red wine and were delighted to see it decantered and served in good quality glasses.
All in all, a very enjoyable evening.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Places2GoLots2See
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Konoba with an arty touch”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Sweet tavern with outdoor seating, overlooking the sea. It's quite modern in design in comparison to other, more traditional konobas. The food is home made and fresh, the dishes which are a bit quirky, are very tasty. My travel buddy and I ordered a platter of antipasti for one person but since we're not big eaters, it was more than enough to meet our needs. I ordered baked aubergines stuffed with goats cheese in tomato sauce (puttanesca style), which was simply delicious. I wanted to try some home made pasta with prawns but unfortunately there were none available on that day. It was quite chilly in the evening (we travelled in September) whilst we were dining but we didn't even manage to mention it to the waiters, when they offered to bring us some fluffy blankets. Lovely place with a great atmosphere. My rating? 9/10

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank BeaDeTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Decent food, good location”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We went for my girlfriend's birthday so booked the day before and glad we did as the Restaurant was full the next night. Food was a bit different but very enjoyable and the prices were a touch more than some other places but overall worth the extra. It's predominantly fish and vegetarian but some meat option are available. We shared the platter (for one) as a starter which was plenty and very tasty. Easy to find just go up the steps near Hotel Korcula, turn right at the top and it is in the courtyard at the end of the street.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank lechou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wien
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely & quirky”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

U Maje i Tonke has a lovely terrace and serves fine homemade food. This konoba also features quirky design, especially tablecloth (oilcloth with roses) and the menu. We really enjoyed our evening there. The two owners, Tonka and Maja put a lot of effort into their restaurant, paying attention to small details. We had homemade pasta (one dish with tomatoes, one with octopus), house wine, dessert (mousse au chocolat) and rakija. Service was good and swift. The terrace can get a little windy in September, but this didn't bother us at all. We highly recommend U Maje i Tonke in Korcula!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank anachien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed U Maje i Tonke also viewed

Korcula Town, Korcula Island
Korcula Island, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
 
Zrnovo, Korcula Town
Korcula Town, Korcula Island
 
Korcula Town, Korcula Island
Zrnovo, Korcula Town
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing