We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty homemade food”
Review of Konoba Maslina

Konoba Maslina
Ranked #15 of 79 Restaurants in Korcula Town
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Croatian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Konoba Maslina has been working for several years, always taking care about their guests wishes & comfort. It’s domestic atmosphere helps You to slow down and relax in these fast times, while eating many of our domestic meals which has our busy chefs gladly prepared for you. So, sit, relax and please take a look at our MENU . If You want a quiet and cozy atmosphere then search no more.
Bury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Tasty homemade food”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Ate here on the recommendation of the owner of the apartment we stayed in and he suggested we try the homemade Macaroni. The Macaroni was excellent and obviously homemade. We also had a dessert and a beer each and the bill was 174kn approx £18 which was reasonable. The second time we visited my husband tried the Pasticada and I had the squid. Both these dishes were very appetizing. They were also very filling and we couldn't manage a dessert on our second visit but we did try a carafe of the house wine which was excellent. The service was good and friendly on both the occasions we ate here.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ExCymru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    19
    4
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A fine line between 'traditional home cooked' and just bad”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

We went here on the recommendation of the people who ran the guest house we stayed in, and ordered the recommended homemade macaroni. I have to say the food was really very bad. We both had macaroni - one with meat sauce and one with prawns. The prawn dish had a couple of tiny prawns in it and a tomato-based sauce which tasted overly sweet, like a supermarket own-brand sauce. The meat dish wasn't much better with a thin gravy like sauce and tasteless meat. We really wanted to like this unpretentious place with the nice waiter, but couldn't as the food really let it down. We went to many 'good value' places in Croatia which served tasty home cooked food at reasonable prices... unfortunately this wasn't one of them. I am baffled at the good reviews of the food here on trip advisor, maybe the rest of the menu is better.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank JAAKBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good value for simple home cooked Croatian food”
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Very friendly owner and wife cooked us some of their home cooking style dishes. We had the pasta (home-mademacaroni) with meat sauce, as well as a deep fried dough and it was all very good for the price. As we were not expecting gourmet, and wanted to take a day off from seafood, this was a nice place for that purpose. Owner was also very friendly and eager to recommend and explain the traditional Croatian dishes.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Canucktravelle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancashire, uk
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Food just wasn't good”
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Our family sought out this restaurant based on the comments on TripAdvisor and we just didn't get it. The food just wasn't very good at all. We tried the home made pasta and gnocchi and they weren't very nice. Th meat served with the gnocchi was a tough bit of boot leather and the prawns served with the pasta was obviously not fresh - a very fishy taste. We had to leave most of our food.

Didn't see any of the Croatian hospitality we experienced elsewhere on the island here either.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank udgers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larkspur, CA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Eat here!”
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Our landlady told us that she would take friends here so we gave it a go. It is not overlooking the water. It's atmosphere is homely. But the food was heaven and so very authentic. Our landlady told us to order the homemade cheese, olives, and roasted peppers and ask for the fried bread to go with it. So we did. The lovely waiter said they had no peppers. I expressed my disappointment. When the cheese was served, there were grilled peppers with it! He must have gone out and got me some peppers; what a sweetie! The cheese was phenomenal, but those puffed cubes of bread were To Die For!! Our landlady also told us to order the homemade macaroni (which were twisted pasta pieces) with meat sauce. So so so good. The best pasta dish ever. We went back the next day and had the same meal! Get exactly this meal and you will be happy too. This is as good as it gets when you eat out traveling (and we've been eating out for 3 weeks!)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AlisonLarkspur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Konoba Maslina also viewed

Korcula Town, Korcula Island
Zrnovo, Korcula Town
 
Korcula Town, Korcula Island
Korcula Town, Korcula Island
 

Been to Konoba Maslina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing