We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic meal!”
Review of Konoba MARETA

Konoba MARETA
Ranked #13 of 93 Restaurants in Korcula Town
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Reviewed May 9, 2012

This was the best meal we had in Croatia. We had 2 cheese appetizers...sheep's cheese with tomato and onion and goat cheese atop a roasted apple. Melt in your mouth delicious. Wish I knew how to make them at home. Then we had the gigantic fish platter....fresh grilled calamari, prawns, bream and oysters all sitting atop grilled veggies. Fantastic! Definitely deserves the #1 rating.

Date of visit: May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank prspt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (523)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

310 - 314 of 523 reviews

Reviewed December 2, 2011

We went here for lunch. We sat outside and we were the only customers. The entire town seemed quiet when we were there. The food was outstanding. We highly recommend it.

Date of visit: September 2011
1  Thank Planettraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2011

My boyfriend and i ate at this restaurant on the basis of TripAdvisor and are happy to report a very pleasant dining experience.

It’s situated along the main cobbled street in the old town, with rustic wooden tables on a pretty side street.

We had the carpaccio of octopus which was smooth, velvety, with delicate meat and a fresh and full flavour. The shrimps in soy sauce and cognac were simply divine – the tastiest shrimps I have ever eaten! The scampi was equally delicious. We washed this down with a wine - Kvalitetno suho vino, Rukatac antunovic – as recommended by our very friendly waitress, which was a perfect light and fruity accompaniment to our meal.

Overall it was a lovely meal and we would definitely return again.

Date of visit: September 2011
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TanVinnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2011

We walked in here with no reservation, there were no outside seats available but upstairs indoors was fine. The waiter was excellent, he recommended some fresh fish - we ordered dentex (500g) and amberjack and he recommended that we have them served all on one platter and it was fantastic. Vegetable garnish completed the main course. The roasted apple with goats cheese to start was nice, it was a hit with my husband but a bit sweet for me. The house wine was very nice and well-priced. One of our nicest meals in Croatia and good value.

Date of visit: September 2011
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Fi24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2011

The restaurant is in the walled town of Korcula. It has a very good selection of dishes for vegetarians such as bulgur wheat, falafels, vegetable kebabs. It was really nice to have vegetarian options on the menu other than pasta, pizza or salad. We had a really good waitress who was very attentive and really friendly and helpful. This is a lovely restaurant with good food at reasonable prices.

Date of visit: September 2011
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ahallen_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Konoba MARETA also viewed

Korcula Town, Korcula Island
Korcula Town, Korcula Island
 
Korcula Town, Korcula Island
Zrnovo, Korcula Town
 
Korcula Town, Korcula Island
Korcula Town, Korcula Island
 

Been to Konoba MARETA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing