We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing but not well maintained” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cape St Francis Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cape St Francis Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cape St Francis
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town
1 review
“Relaxing but not well maintained”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2013

Our visit was one of mixed emotions.
The setting and the atmosphere was friendly and relaxing but the property maintenance was very poor.
Our property had a leaking shower dripping into the kitchen, our unit never had a braai even though it was advertised with one, our one sliding door didn't lock, an electrical socket didn't work, one window never had a curtain on it, the wooden floors were slippery etc.
The accommodation was relaxed and the staff at reception were friendly however the staff at the main bar/restaurant area weren't so helpful.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    199
    61
    28
    9
See reviews for
216
120
12
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

We attended a wedding which was gorgeous, but the rooms need some love. The staff were very friendly and we enjoyed the beach and location as a whole. However, the rooms need some maintenance, towels and bedding need to be upgraded and some finishing touches are needed to make this feel like the level of accommodation you are paying for.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Attwoods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East London
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

The location of the resort is excellent and the resort has many helpful places like spa and near to the sea. The rooms are clean and caters for both persons if you like a shower or bath all are available for you to choose. The accommodation is flexible as it caters for different people according to their income bracket and affordable as it does not cater for clients with lots of
money only.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Zukiswa N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

I enjoyed the stay in the rooms, the food was great, the venue was convenient, the people were friendly and helpful, service was overall good and the scenery is magnificent , I will come back anytime soon.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Wiesche R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

Welcome not very friendly, rooms were not clean at all, dirty bedsheets and towels, bathrooms moldy, waiting time for dinner almost 1 /1/2 hours, very bad food quality for dinner and breakfast, WiFi not working in rooms, only in Restaurant and bar, nice beach

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Cupcake1708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
49 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

It was really a horrible stay in this resort.

We had a little appartement with two bedrooms and two little bathrooms. The bathrooms where dirty and the shower just anything else than clean and the water stinks. On the towel where hair of other people as well as in the bed. The pillows and blankets hat a clean sheet but you could see through and it had very dark brown dirt on it, I dont even want to know what it was. WIFI was only available in the Bar and Restaurant. We went to the restaurant in the resort. We had to wait for over an hour for our food and when it came the meat was totally burned. Really a bad experience!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank myCupcake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Shepstone
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

This is a lovely peaceful setting. The rooms are clean and spacious. The bathroom in no 55 needs a bit of TLC. The gardens and surrounds are very clean and well kept. It is a great place for families.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Gabi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape St Francis
11.9 mi away
Mandyville Hotel
Mandyville Hotel
#1 of 2 in Jeffreys Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
2.7 mi away
Thatchwood
Thatchwood
#1 of 2 in Saint Francis Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
10.6 mi away
Oyster Bay Lodge
Oyster Bay Lodge
#1 of 1 in Oyster Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 mi away
Oyster Bay Lodge
Oyster Bay Lodge
#1 of 2 in Humansdorp
4.5 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
2.7 mi away
Dune Ridge Country House
Dune Ridge Country House
#1 of 19 in Saint Francis Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Sands at St Francis
The Sands at St Francis
#2 of 19 in Saint Francis Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape St Francis Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape St Francis Resort

Property: Cape St Francis Resort
Address: Da Gama Way, Cape St Francis 6313, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Cape St Francis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cape St Francis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Cape St Francis Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cape St Francis , a tranquil Eco -destination with it's historic Seal Point Lighthouse built in 1878 , pristine beach, surrounding nature reserves, mild temperatures, and the longest sunshine hours on the South African coast ensures a relaxed all year round destination. Action or leisure the choices are varied, exciting and endless. Explore the canals by boat, venture onto the Kromme River, experience a game of golf on one of the surrounding golf courses on either the St Francis Bay Golf Club or the St Francis Links, surf the Endless Summer, charter a fishing vessel or simply relax. From this most southern point one is centrally situated to experience all the Eastern Cape has to offer. Experience its charm and you will want to return again and again. Cape St Francis Resort offers a selection of accommodation options to suit all pockets, Club Break offers 46 one or two roomed en suite Apartments situated around a communal exclusive-use swimming pool. Simple, stylish decor with open plan living room and kitchen with private verandahs and satellite television, Village Break consists of traditional thatch, Cape Dutch style cottages nestled in the dunes and only 300 meters from the beach. Two to four bedrooms mostly en suite with comfortable beach decor, spacious, fully equipped kitchen, satellite television and private garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Cape St Francis Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing