We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“St. Francis Resort” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cape St Francis Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cape St Francis Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cape St Francis
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
“St. Francis Resort”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

We took the family for a beach holiday and rented one of the five bed Sunbird units.
The unit were nicely furnished with all the basic necessities and were serviced every day and the on site restaurant was very convenient.
The beach was a 100m walk and was very clean. We really enjoyed our stay and will be back next year for a longer stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 817Michael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anita L, Manager at Cape St Francis Resort, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the Resort and are pleased that you had a great holiday.
It was lovely to welcome all visitors both new and returning and certainly look forward to welcoming you back.We wish you a prosperous and healthy New Year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

525 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    199
    61
    29
    9
See reviews for
216
120
12
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
East London, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

19 of our family went - from Grandparents down to teenagers. Everybody had a fantastic time there. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff, the units were clean and neat and Joe Fish, the resort restaurant is brilliant - best seafood, great prices. Beautiful beach (with awesome waves for the surfer) right on the doorstep. Quality shops and restaurants in St Francis Bay and JBay for those rainy days. Highly Recommended!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Debbie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anita L, Manager at Cape St Francis Resort, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thanks so much for taking the time to review the Resort and for your very positive comments regarding staff, the food and the general environment.All much appreciated and a great motivation for all after a summer season of fantastic weather and awesome guests.
Have a rewarding 2013 and look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
116 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

We stayed for 1 night in early January. While not really upset at anything besides the bed, I felt that it was slightly overpriced for what you get. We paid more than R600 for a 2 persons cottage that elsewhere would go for around R350 - R400. Though the cottage was basic, the bed was horrific.

Also, the food at the restaurant was disappointing. No calamari, tasteless steak and though they have a beautiful pool with tables outside, it wasn't possible to sit there. So we landed up at an awkward large inside table with little atmosphere.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevernscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anita L, Manager at Cape St Francis Resort, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our Resort.At the outset please accept my most sincere apologies for the uncomfortable nights sleep, and appreciate your bringing this matter to our attention.The mattress has been replaced .
Your stay with us overlapped with our high season rate period so the charges are based on a unit rather than a per person rate and have noted your comment in this regard.
We trust that you enjoyed your visit to Southern Africa and look forward to welcoming you on your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

Give attention to maintenance.
Dishwasher at this price level should be included. Fridge to small for 10 people.
Special thanks for cleaning over Christmas and New Year.
Thank you for clean towels every day.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Suzelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anita L, Manager at Cape St Francis Resort, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review the Resort and for your constructive input.
We constantly strive for 100% customer satisfaction and assure you that your comments will be addressed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

Beautiful venue right on the beach - Seagull's Song. Several small items were broken/needed repair, i.e. toilet seat, bedside lamp, etc., which should have been picked up by cleaning staff, however, a call to Heidi got it sorted out. Certain cleaning was superficial - tables not wiped down properly and still sticky presumably from previous occupant. Towels removed and not replaced during week - just slight irritations which can be easily managed. What was irritating was the next door occupants parked their car in our driveway for the whole of our stay - luckily there was another access and we didn't have 2 cars otherwise there would have been a problem.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Lynne89462
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East London, South Africa
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

Generally the resort offers good value for money when camping (landry was a bit steep). The sites are nicely developed and maintained. Good cover is provided against the elements and wind. Staff was very kind and professional - especially in the bar and restaurant, where good well prepared food was served. Draught beer was a total plus!(the Chrismas Lunch was excellent)

However there are a couple of small issues.

1. The area where we camped was serviced by a badly designed ablution facility. The washing area was close to the male ablutions - not making for gentle background music when you are washing you dishes.

2. Cleaning of the ablution facility was not all that consistant

3. There is only one entrance to the Beach which means a substantial walk for those staying close to the bar area.

If the ablutions could be improved - this would be a world class camping site

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sybert03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anita L, Manager at Cape St Francis Resort, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thanks so much for your review and constructive comments, we will certainly try and improve on those areas.
We wish you and your family the very best for 2013 and look forward to welcoming you on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape St Francis
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

Good location, service,value, sun and sea, this is what a holiday is all about.
This is our third time at Cape St Francis Estate, every time we are impressed by the high standard of the estate,good house keeping and maintenance . See you soon.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank J K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anita L, Manager at Cape St Francis Resort, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thanks so much for taking the time to review the Resort and are delighted that you had a great holiday.We wish you and your family the best for 2013 and look forward to welcoming you on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape St Francis
11.9 mi away
Mandyville Hotel
Mandyville Hotel
#1 of 2 in Jeffreys Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
2.7 mi away
Thatchwood
Thatchwood
#1 of 2 in Saint Francis Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
10.6 mi away
Oyster Bay Lodge
Oyster Bay Lodge
#1 of 1 in Oyster Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 mi away
Oyster Bay Lodge
Oyster Bay Lodge
#1 of 2 in Humansdorp
4.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
2.7 mi away
Dune Ridge Country House
Dune Ridge Country House
#1 of 19 in Saint Francis Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Sands at St Francis
The Sands at St Francis
#2 of 19 in Saint Francis Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape St Francis Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape St Francis Resort

Property: Cape St Francis Resort
Address: Da Gama Way, Cape St Francis 6313, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Cape St Francis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cape St Francis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Cape St Francis Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cape St Francis , a tranquil Eco -destination with it's historic Seal Point Lighthouse built in 1878 , pristine beach, surrounding nature reserves, mild temperatures, and the longest sunshine hours on the South African coast ensures a relaxed all year round destination. Action or leisure the choices are varied, exciting and endless. Explore the canals by boat, venture onto the Kromme River, experience a game of golf on one of the surrounding golf courses on either the St Francis Bay Golf Club or the St Francis Links, surf the Endless Summer, charter a fishing vessel or simply relax. From this most southern point one is centrally situated to experience all the Eastern Cape has to offer. Experience its charm and you will want to return again and again. Cape St Francis Resort offers a selection of accommodation options to suit all pockets, Club Break offers 46 one or two roomed en suite Apartments situated around a communal exclusive-use swimming pool. Simple, stylish decor with open plan living room and kitchen with private verandahs and satellite television, Village Break consists of traditional thatch, Cape Dutch style cottages nestled in the dunes and only 300 meters from the beach. Two to four bedrooms mostly en suite with comfortable beach decor, spacious, fully equipped kitchen, satellite television and private garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Cape St Francis Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing