We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Till the next time...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ravenstone Lodge Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Bassenthwaite
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 27, 2010

Having just got back from my stay here I wanted to type this now to share my view.

Myself and my girlfriend stayed here for 3 nights in room 9. Nice big room, comfy with a large bathroom as well, the pictures don't really do it justice.

Our arrival was greeted by Mike, the owner himself and he was more than happy to show us around and give us some facts; which considering we stayed here two years a go we didn't know. (back to the previous stay in a moment) Mike showed us to our room with a menu in hand so we could decide what we wanted to eat that evening.

Now as I mentioned stayed here 2 years a go just after New Year and I am delighted to say as much as we loved that stay there were improvements. It felt more personal this time. Antony (I believe was his name) a young scouse waiter more than happy to do what he can to make sure we and other guests were catered for at breakfast and tea.

Setting is nearly perfect, half way down the A591; a few minutes drive from most places and there are some nice walks nearby as well, the only reason I say nearly is because of the tight turn if you are coming back up the road from Keswick, although it is not too bad after your first attempt.

The food at the hotel was nice be it a Traditional English for breakfast or a pleasantly cooked meal in the evening.

We visited South Lakes Wildlife Park which is about an hour and a bit in the car, Trotters World; again if you like animals is only 5 minutes up the 591 and along a short road. We went to "The Puzzling Place" in Keswick town which was worthwhile as well.

Places to eat that we liked:
Star of Siam - (Thai food): Good service and nice food.
Luca's restaurant - (Italian): Brilliant service and really nice food, recommend this place.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank earlist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (567)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

537 - 543 of 567 reviews

Reviewed October 3, 2010

My husband and I stayed at Ravenstone Lodge for only one night and were disappointed not to be able to stay longer. The Lodge is set in the most beautiful part of the Lakes District close to Lake Bassenthwaite. The instructions to reach the lake were " head through the fields, pass through 5 gates and you'll find the church and river". For visitors from Australia this was a most amazing afternoon of wandering through fields full of sheep and cows, having afternoon tea by the river and then home to drinks in the conservatory and the most fantastic dinner ever! Adam the manager and head chef is truly a wonderful cook - his lamb shanks in mint sauce with roast vegetables were the best I've tasted! His knowledge and friendliness were very much appreciated, as were the chats we had with Ros his wife and Mike the owner. The Lodge is beautifully decorated and has every comfort needed. Breakfast the next morning was again superb. We certainly recommend this Lodge to anyone looking for a peaceful, relaxing stay.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lmillertlsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2010

We were made to feel so welcome Adam and staff were so kind there is nothing they wouldnt do to make your stay more relaxing as this is what we went there for the food was excellent especially wee Rabs home made chips we will definetly be back keep up the good work hope to see you soon Tricia and Jim scotland

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tricia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2010

Very friendly staff, breath taking views, very clean and tidy, excellent food, would defo go back, highly recommended, didnt want to leave allan and amanda of southport

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Love-Footy-and-Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2010

When we arrived, host came to parking for welcoming us. He was kind and friendly. My boyfriend asked him what time is close the bar, then he said [Until the last guest come back the room.] with smile. This word impressed me.(It's doesn't matter to me that true or not) It's like Kyoto, Japan.
Breakfast was good, good cook with fresh ingredients. and good smiley staff.
For standard room, I can't say it was excellent. Wall is thin(but guests next door were sensible), room and window is small( but nice view), bed mattress is not so bad. But we were happy with stay there. They know what makes guest comfortable and happy.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank uron00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2010

i can only say i would not go back and it is a shame it is in a great place but the shower was dirty and the room did not smell that good the staff did try and were helpfull

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank goliathoo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2010

We had a pleasant stay for two nights. Our room was a Superior Room, but was right above the kitchen, and became very warm and smelled strongly of food early in the morning, wich was not so pleasant. The staff were very helpful though, and the breakfasts keep you going for the rest of the day.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrsgravyuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bassenthwaite
0.1 mi away
Ravenstone Manor
Ravenstone Manor
#2 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
1,090 reviews
22.3 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
2.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
1,703 reviews
3.8 mi away
Embleton Spa Hotel
Embleton Spa Hotel
#1 of 1 in Embleton
505 reviews
17.2 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ravenstone Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ravenstone Lodge Hotel

Address: Bassenthwaite CA12 4QG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bassenthwaite
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Bassenthwaite
Price Range: $79 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ravenstone Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ravenstone Lodge is a converted 19th Century stables & lodge with many original features including the stables themselves which are now the bar. Situated at the foot of Ullock Pike close to Skiddaw with views towards Bassenthwaite Lake and the Northern Fells we are perfectly positioned to explore the Northern Lake District.Ravenstone Lodge is a privately small hotel with just 9 bedrooms and because of this we can provide a uniquely personal service and when you stay with us you are not just a room number but are our guests in the true meaning of the word. Because of this many return time and time again, maybe requesting their favourite room or that a particular dish be put on the menu. Food is very important to us and our philosophy is very simple, top quality locally sourced ingredients cooked to order by our resident chef with sufficient choice to satisfy all tastes.We look forward to welcoming you to Ravenstone Lodge.Mike Cornish - Proprietor ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Ravenstone Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ravenstone Lodge Hotel Bassenthwaite/Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing