We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ravenstone Lodge Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Bassenthwaite
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent service”
Reviewed May 19, 2014 via mobile

We had a very pleasant 3 days here. Staff were very pleasant and efficient. Rooms 9 and 6 are roomy and comfortable. Other rooms ara fairly small for doubles. Food was excellent a dormir good value. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenneth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

497 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    357
    104
    24
    8
    4
See reviews for
45
380
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Wigton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2014

We stayed at ravenstone lodge 16th&17th of May for my 70 birthday. Manageress Rachael and her staff were lovely. Room and food brilliant. Situated six miles from Keswick Ravenstone gives visitors easy access to the Lake District,with lovely walks nearby. We will return to this lovely hotel.

Room Tip: Superior room lovely. Because the hotel is in a quiet location no noise at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2014

My husband took me to Ravenstone Lodge for a surprise birthday weekend. It was fantastic, the hotel setting was beautiful, our room (room 9) was lovely, there are 2 areas to eat, the Stables bistro and the Restaurant. The chef is amazing and we had 2 lovely evening meals, served by great staff, especially Martin who was very attentive. Breakfast is served in the restaurant and we both enjoyed Eggs Benedict each morning. The owners were there when we stayed and were a lovely couple, we were made to feel very welcome and will be back later in the year for definite.

Room Tip: Room 9, very spacious with windows on 2 sides. large bathroom with walk in shower area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armagh
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2014

We stayed in Ravenstone on April15 whilst on a visit to the Lake District. Everything about this place is 5 star. Upon arrival we were warmly greeted by the Manageress Rachael and from then until we left we were treated as welcome guests. Every question/request we asked of Rachael was answered comprehensively and we got the impression that nothing was too much trouble to her to ensure that her guests were comfortable and contented.
The room was spotlessly clean and the bed was extremely comfortable.
We had both breakfast and dinner in the hotel and the food was of a standard as good as any we have ever experienced.
The Conservatory area is pleasantly inviting as a wonderful place to just chat and relax with other guests over a drink. Further out front the lawn area is an idyllic setting for early evening drinks (weather permitting) with commanding and beautiful views of the Bassenthwaite countryside.
Finally Keswick (typically English tourist town) and the Theatre by the Lake are a 10 min ride away.
Well done Rachael - you manage a beautiful hotel and WE SHALL RETURN

Danny and Pat (Armagh)

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dansyourman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
huddersfield
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2014 via mobile

What a hidden gem this place is just had the most fantastic 2 nights there Friday and Saturday just gone for my wife's birthday the room was terrific but the food oh my god we had the best 3 course meal ever had on Friday night and Saturday as well wonderful chef mr James cooper a truly wonderful memorable stay we will be back in August for our wedding anniversary

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ian w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed April 26, 2014 via mobile

Ravenstone Lodge has the best views and fantastic, welcoming staff and proprietors which are only surpassed by the food. We have eaten in many fine restaurants in our home town of
Perth, Western Australia but nothing can compare to the venison we had at the Coach House Restaurant while there-it was superb! If you are a whisky lover then Mike's extensive collection of fine single malts is sure to please. Top rate.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jodie2busy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2014

Booked as a last minute break for my husband and I. The first thing I must say is how friendly and helpful all of the staff are. When we arrived Rachael gave us a tour of the lodge and gave us all the useful information we needed. She then showed us to our room. It was cosy and comfortable, just what we needed for our break. We ate at the restaurant on all 3 nights of our stay as the food was delicious and service excellent, the views from the patio and conservatory are also beautiful, a lovely place to enjoy a drink. We were there for walking and found it helpful that the Hotel had a selection of maps there for you to borrow for the day. They also had the bus timetable (bus stop to Keswick just outside the hotel), and printed out the weather for the area and on the mountains every day for guests. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel too which is always a plus. Overall a beautiful place to stay which we would definitely return to.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bassenthwaite
0.0 mi away
Ravenstone Manor
Ravenstone Manor
#1 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
1,019 reviews
2.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Castle Inn Hotel
3.1 mi away
Overwater Hall
Overwater Hall
#1 of 1 in Ireby
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
1,566 reviews
2.3 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Castlerigg
577 reviews
22.3 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ravenstone Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ravenstone Lodge Hotel

Property: Ravenstone Lodge Hotel
Address: Bassenthwaite CA12 4QG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bassenthwaite
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bassenthwaite
#1 Family Hotel in Bassenthwaite
#3 Business Hotel in Bassenthwaite
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ravenstone Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ravenstone Lodge is a converted 19th Century stables & lodge with many original features including the stables themselves which are now the bar. Situated at the foot of Ullock Pike close to Skiddaw with views towards Bassenthwaite Lake and the Northern Fells we are perfectly positioned to explore the Northern Lake District.Ravenstone Lodge is a privately small hotel with just 9 bedrooms and because of this we can provide a uniquely personal service and when you stay with us you are not just a room number but are our guests in the true meaning of the word. Because of this many return time and time again, maybe requesting their favourite room or that a particular dish be put on the menu. Food is very important to us and our philosophy is very simple, top quality locally sourced ingredients cooked to order by our resident chef with sufficient choice to satisfy all tastes.We look forward to welcoming you to Ravenstone Lodge.Mike Cornish - Proprietor ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Ravenstone Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ravenstone Lodge Hotel Bassenthwaite/Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing