We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ravenstone Lodge Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Ravenstone Manor Hotel(Bassenthwaite)
$129
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Pheasant Inn(Bassenthwaite)
$180
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$111
$108
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lyzzick Hall Hotel(Castlerigg)
$170
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$100
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
$150
$146
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (615)
Filter reviews
615 results
Traveler rating
452
121
29
9
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
452
121
29
9
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstables bistrosmall hotelhomemade breadcoach houselake districtspecials boardrestaurant menufour posterboth nightseggs benedictdodd woodcomfortable rooman evening mealwalk in showerlovely walklovely locationon arrival
Filter
Updating list...
420 - 425 of 615 reviews
Reviewed November 20, 2013

We booked 2 nights in this hotel just to find that Hotel.com didn't actually booked the room for despite receiving a confirmation ref. This is a good lesson you guys ' do not book with Hotel.com'.
back to this lovely place. This is a truly enjoyable place to stay in. very friendly and helpful staff. The breakfast was one the best we have had. Mike, the owner, couldn't do more to help us. Everything about this place says ' you are at home'. Great location and very accessible. well recommended place. Go there and enjoy it.

Room Tip: Pay extra and stay in room 9. fantastic.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Villa57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We booked Ravenstone Lodge after recommendations and the setting did not disappoint. The room was fine, although bathroom a little tired. Breakfast was great, with lots of choice on the menu. However I dont know if there was a problem with a chef but the bar menu was poor and the food equally disappoining. The restaurant was closed Mon and Tues so we ate out after our Mon experience, and did not try the restaurant on Wed.
The staff were very friendly and helpful so I hope the problem is a temporary one.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brenda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Stayed in luxury room 9 which was a lovely large room, has two seats, huge flat screen tv, tea & coffee, trouser press, pack of tissues! The bed is enormous and we are used to sleeping in a kingsize! Spotlessly clean. Fab views and huge wet room with lovely bath and shower. Room service if you want it for a small charge, the owners have certainly thought about everything you might need! There's a small restaurant and an informal stables bar, relaxing conservatory and outside terrace which catches the last of the sun on an evening. We ate in the stables bistro, the meal was freshly made and delicious. Breakfast was also lovely, although as often so, did feel a little awkward..a little radio/music would probably fix that in the breakfast room. Would definitely recommend this hotel and would return sometime in future.

Room Tip: Luxury room 9
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank christiner476
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We stayed here for 5 days, having found the hotel online. It did not disappoint and we enjoyed our stay very much. Our room was the largest on offer and was very comfortable, clean, spacious and nicely furnished with plenty storage space. It had a good view over the grounds. The ensuite was very modern with a wet room shower. Only trivial thing I would say would be a box of tissues In the room would be a good touch. The owner and staff were very friendly, helpful and welcoming. The food was excellent, both in the bistro and the restaurant. So much so that we ate in the hotel each night, when normally we would try different restaurants in the vicinity. All food we had, both dinners and breakfast were of good quality, locally sourced and very good value. The bread was freshly baked and delicious. We will return, hopefully in the not too distant future.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

We stayed here for a bank holiday weekend and this was our first time to the Lake District. We arrived to the Lodge and were excited as most reviews were brilliant and the locations looked amazing. What we saw when we arrived was lovely and the grounds are great but thats where it all sort of stopped.

The room although a good size was noisy, boring and the bathroom very average. We could hear almost everything next door and didn't help they were a rough couple looking to get boozed every night. We could hear all noises from the kitchen and the window was so small we had basically no view.

Breakfast was average again, although great portion and great menu, the food was poorly cooked. The room although nicely finished is crammed and the atmosphere is awkward and you don't get the peaceful country feel at all.

The prices are O.K for what they say the give you but the experience doesn't match up. The bar at the time smelt like a toilet that had just been cleaned with bleach and we didn't go in there.

All and all quite disappointing and I would not recommend, I feel you could get more for the same price which is not high just not good value.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kiwijared
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews