We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay!!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ravenstone Lodge Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Ravenstone Lodge Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Bassenthwaite
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great stay!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a one night stop over on our way to Edinburgh! Couldn't have picked a better place to stop. The staff were all fantastic so a big thank you to Anthony, Claire and mike for such a great time, made it like a home from home. Also met some lovely people staying there so also thanks to Barry and Mary for chatting to us lost souls!!! The food was lovely and all locally sourced. Hope to return in the summer!

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Becky B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    351
    103
    24
    8
    4
See reviews for
45
374
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bolton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

This is the first time we've been away for the New Year and I wouldn't hesitate to do it again thanks to Anthony, Claire and the team at Ravenstone Lodge who made us feel very welcome and couldn't do enough for us from the start of our break to the end. These guys really care about their guest enjoying themselves.
The hotel is in a great location for walking or touring this beautiful area of the lakes.
The room was a little on the small side but there are bigger rooms, although it didn't bother us as we weren't in our room that much. The bed was very comfortable.
There is a lovely little bar and a conservatory where we enjoyed a drink over looking the fells, I would've been happy just sitting looking at the views.
Outside there is a seated terraced area but unfortunately being January we wasn't able to sit outside, I will have to visit during the summer to appreciate this.
Thanks again guys for making our stay special.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Susan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

My partner and I recently stayed here for our anniversary.
Our room (High Man Room) was just lovely with a great view of the hills, great bathroom with a huge bath and a wet room (much appreciated after a day out in the freezing cold)
Room amenities were fantastic (including hot chocolate!)
We had a cooked brekfast each day which was scrummy (there was a large selection of other foods i.e. cereals, fruit, croissants and bread which also looked lovely)
The hotel is in a great location as it wasnt too far or too close to the centre, Anthony was incredibly helpful and friendly from the moment we arrived to when we left.
Overall I would deffinately reccomend this place as we thouroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Balyssia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

We stayed here for a few nights and slept soundly every night.
The room was comfortable and clean, the bathroom was modern and spotless.
The food was a big surprise to me, it was soooo good. There was lovely fresh breads at breakfast with different types of teas, fruits, jams, little pastries, yoghurts, cereal etc and the cooked breakfasts looked scrummy. We had dinner one night on the spur of the moment and would definitely recommend it. All round happy punters :)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank V P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

We stayed there for 2 nights to explore the Keswick area during our 4-day trip in Lake District. It's a bit out of the way since it is 10-min north of Keswick but it was worth it. We felt so relaxed the whole time there. The ground was well maintained and looked beautiful. We booked dinner there for the first night and ood was good. The walker's breakfast was plenty (we didn't order everything from the walker's breakfast since it was a lot of food). Chocolate croissants were to die for! I still drooled thinking about them, haha. Water to make tea apparently was taken from a particular stream or something; tea was very good.
Staff was nice, friendly, and helpful. The room was standard; bathroom was quite roomy and nice (We had room 5 North Col). However, the room was so hot in August. I think it was from a hot pipe underneath the floor. Opening the window helped but the mosquitoes there were gigantic and I got some really sore mosquitoe bites! The second night, we asked if they had a fan or something but they didn't have so we had to suck it up again, which was a bit unfortunate.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank seonmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012 via mobile

Just back frm a quick short break, a surprise for my cousin who has never been to this part of Cumbria .
Lovely place and lovely friendly folk running it,
Room well stocked and cosy,
Breakfast was good quality produce and nicely presented,
Cooked breakfast beautiful,
I'll be back

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Harper57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West midlands
Level Contributor
166 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

My husband and I stayed on Tues 13 November for 1 night, Exceptional value for money all rooms, being of a very high standard excellent evening meal, and breakfast, Anthony and team lovely friendly staff, We had the 4 poster room number 1, which overlooked the mountains and was very quiet., I have reviewed over 50 hotels in the last 12 months, and I place this one in the top 3, well done everyone, thanks Derek and Pauline

Room Tip: Room 1 had the 4 poster, with a new modern bathroom and shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ohdearmeWestmidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bassenthwaite
0.1 mi away
Ravenstone Manor
Ravenstone Manor
#1 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
4.5 of 5 bubbles 999 reviews
2.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Castle Inn Hotel
3.1 mi away
Overwater Hall
Overwater Hall
#1 of 1 in Ireby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,551 reviews
2.3 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Castlerigg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
22.3 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ravenstone Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ravenstone Lodge Hotel

Property: Ravenstone Lodge Hotel
Address: Bassenthwaite CA12 4QG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bassenthwaite
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Bassenthwaite
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bassenthwaite
#3 Business Hotel in Bassenthwaite
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ravenstone Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ravenstone Lodge is a converted 19th Century stables & lodge with many original features including the stables themselves which are now the bar. Situated at the foot of Ullock Pike close to Skiddaw with views towards Bassenthwaite Lake and the Northern Fells we are perfectly positioned to explore the Northern Lake District.Ravenstone Lodge is a privately small hotel with just 9 bedrooms and because of this we can provide a uniquely personal service and when you stay with us you are not just a room number but are our guests in the true meaning of the word. Because of this many return time and time again, maybe requesting their favourite room or that a particular dish be put on the menu. Food is very important to us and our philosophy is very simple, top quality locally sourced ingredients cooked to order by our resident chef with sufficient choice to satisfy all tastes.We look forward to welcoming you to Ravenstone Lodge.Mike Cornish - Proprietor ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Ravenstone Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ravenstone Lodge Hotel Bassenthwaite/Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing