We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”
Review of Ravenstone Manor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ravenstone Manor
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Bassenthwaite
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 11, 2014

Went 6th May for my birthday had a nice meal and was well looked after.The room was very good
everything very clean. This is the second time i have been here but it was the previous owners and it was just as good this time

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank house2Manchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,072)
There are newer reviews for Ravenstone Manor
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

413 - 419 of 1,072 reviews

Reviewed May 9, 2014

Just finishing a 2 night break here.
Lovely property, great food and staff and customer service is 1st class.
Ideal location, just down the road from Keswick and a 45 minute journey to Carlisle.
Would come back again without any hesitation.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeff P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2014

Just back from a two night break at this Gem of a Hotel in the Northern Lakes. Really made us feel at home and all the staff couldn't do enough for us. The food certainly was the highlight of our stay: Most extensive Breakfast Menu I have ever seen and although it was a slow service the menu says "we don't serve fast food we serve fresh food" , which was very true, all cooked to order, my wife said that the poached eggs were perfectly cooked and my full english was exceptional. In the Evening most people seemed to have the daily menu deal with wine, lots of choice and that was faultless. We had room 15 which was satisfactory, good bathroom, very comfortable bed with a restricted view of the lake. Thoroughly deserving of it's 4 Star rating and I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alex S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2014

Yet another great stay at what we think is the best small hotel in the Lake District. The owners Kim and Cherin again making us feel very welcome in what feels like a real home from home. All the staff are polite and helpful and further reflect the friendly atmosphere at Ravenstone. The food was as excellent as ever and exceptional value money for such quality. Even the breakfast is a treat with quality rather than quantity being the order of the day. Beautifully decorated, comfortable, and immaculately clean rooms make this a great place to stay. Cannot recommend Ravenstone Manor more highly and look forward to returning for a fourth visit soon.

Room Tip: The lower the room number the better but they are all excellent!
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2014

My husband and I booked a special offer through e-vouchers which was DB&B for two nights, fantastic value for money ! Comfortable room with lovely views over the lake and surrounding hills. Had a quiet relaxing stay, enjoyed the food and especially the warm and friendly welcome by the staff. Thank you.

Room Tip: Front room overlooking lake
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allison S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2014

Just got back from a fantastic couple of days at the Ravenstone Manor beautiful location was well looked after buy Kim and Cherin and their staff. The day we checked in was my birthday and they made me feel special by decorating the dinner table with confetti and a birthday card a lovely thought.will recommened this fab hotel to our friends and one day return...

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kassim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2014

Recently returned from stay at this lovely hotel and can only praise the owners and their excellent staff for a warm ,friendly welcome in a charming country house. It's location is perfect with pretty views of the lake and surrounding countryside. The rooms were warm and beds were comfortable with good quality bedding. Had a very peaceful nights sleep without any disturbance.
Food was excellent with great choice and the bar was well-stocked and cosy with a roaring fire There was even a Games Room for anybody who wanted a game of Snooker or billiards!!
The whole experience was relaxing and we can't wait to return in Autumn

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank epsalsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bassenthwaite
22.2 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.1 mi away
Ravenstone Lodge Hotel
Ravenstone Lodge Hotel
#2 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
542 reviews
2.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Overwater Hall
Overwater Hall
#1 of 1 in Ireby
542 reviews
3.8 mi away
Embleton Spa Hotel
Embleton Spa Hotel
#1 of 1 in Embleton
478 reviews
2.5 mi away
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
1,661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ravenstone Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ravenstone Manor

Address: Bassenthwaite | Keswick, Bassenthwaite CA12 4QG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bassenthwaite
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bassenthwaite
#3 Family Hotel in Bassenthwaite
#4 Business Hotel in Bassenthwaite
Price Range: $138 - $639 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ravenstone Manor 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ravenstone Manor is a delightful 19th Century Manor House set within 3 hectares of grounds, situated at the foot of Skiddaw, looking across the valley to Bassenthwaite Lake. Rich in Cumbrian history, our 4 star Manor House has spectacular views of the Lake, the neighbouring Fells and Cumbrian countryside. We are fully dog friendly and ideally situated for walking, hiking & biking in the stunning Northern Lakes, Within the beautiful stone walls, you will find 20 charming en-suite bedrooms, a beautiful lounge, dining room and bar. Fed by the waters of Skiddaw, the Manor boasts its own fresh spring water that has quenched the thirst of its guests for over 50 years. The Dining Room serves a menu highlighting the freshest local meats, cheeses and produce. Open to residents and non-residents we offer a good home-cooked menu. Breakfast from 8:30 - 9:30am and evening meals from 6.00 till 8.00pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Booking.com so you can book your Ravenstone Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ravenstone Manor Bassenthwaite/Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing