We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delightful Property - Fun Innkeepers” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ravenstone Manor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ravenstone Manor
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Bassenthwaite
Certificate of Excellence
Foster City, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Delightful Property - Fun Innkeepers”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

What a great find! We stayed a few nights at Ravenstone Manor and found the facility and the hosts to be terrific! Our room had a delightful view out across the valley to lovely rolling hills. The house was formerly the home of the dowager mother of Greystoke legend and was certainly sited in a glorious location. The breakfast and dinner service were first rate. It is clear that the proprietors have a passion for the business of inn keeping. We would heartily recommend this facility to anyone wishing warm, lovely, local lodgings in Lake Country.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pisces132013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RavenstoneManor, Owner at Ravenstone Manor, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review, we know your travel schedule was very hectic. We are so pleased that our passion for the Manor and providing the right kind of service is showing - it is very rewarding when our guests have a great time. Its great that you put your personal recommendation on the review. Hopefully we will see you again if you are in the area.

Kind regards

Kim & Cherin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

996 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    698
    237
    35
    17
    9
See reviews for
84
698
30
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Rainford
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

We booked a last-minute one night stay (bed , breakfast and dinner) directly through the hotel. Our room was extremely comfortable, well-appointed and with fabulous views. The hotel itself is pleasantly quirky: the Lounge, Bar and Games rooms being littered with books, maps and games that weary walkers can occupy themselves with after the rigours of the day. The fact that the Games room had a full-size snooker table and a table tennis setup was a real bonus. As other respondents have said, the staff are wonderful - and the two meals we had were both excellent. As I am Coeliac, I'm used to having a pretty limited choice of food in hotels, so it was a delight to discover the hotel's commitment to providing a wide range of gluten fee food. The home made bread was particularly tasty (fellow Coeliac sufferers will know that most gluten free bread tastes like dust!) Above all, though, I commend the commitment of all the staff to getting things right for the visitor. On our visit, there were no minor niggles or disappointments and as a result we were simply able to relax.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RavenstoneManor, Manager at Ravenstone Manor, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Reviews are always so helpful but when they are so positive like yours, it has the additional bonus of making us feel like we are on the right track. Thank you for taking the time to write to us with your feedback. We think our staff are wonderful too, and we print every review for them to see, it is important that they get praise where it is due too. Our guests are the key element for us so it is fabulous to know we are doing well. Thank you once more for your lovely comments and we look forward to seeing you again, hopefully for a longer visit next time.

Best regards

Kim & Cherin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cumbria
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

We did not stay but decided to dine at the hotel. We were shown into a sitting room where canapés were served - not very appetising and a bit messy as individual plates/napkins were not provided. We ordered a 1/2 bottle of wine with our meal. It was only when we arrived at our table that we discovered a full bottle of a different wine had been opened - Chilean, not Australian. On questioning this, the waitress didn't apologise or offer any alternative, she just told us they didn't have any half bottles of wine. The bread came next - it looked more like cake than bread - the texture was all wrong. It was very odd indeed with the thick and not very special Celeriac soup. On mentioning this I was told it was gluten free bread. The main course was very ordinary and the vegetables rather cold. On selecting sticky toffee pudding for my sweet, I jokingly asked if it was gluten free, and was told it was. I decided against it. My husband chose the profiteroles - a very strange texture - he left three of them - they were also gluten free. We do not have coeliac disease and wonder why everything here seems to be gluten free. Service was well meaning but not great - we heard one lady diner being asked if she was 'Room 8'. The place is generally shabby and in our opinion greatly overrated. It is hard to understand how our experience appears to differ so much from that of other people who have sampled the food here.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank asitwasCumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RavenstoneManor, Owner at Ravenstone Manor, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to respond. As ever we struggle when we have not been able to meet our guests expectations, and we knew when you left that you were not happy with your dining experience.

As you stated in your review, your experience differs almost exclusively from the feedback we receive from all of our other guests. We are so sorry, and disappointed, but we have to accept the fact that our approach is not everyone's cup of tea.

We strongly believe in our decision to be a Gluten Free establishment. There are so many people who suffer with food allergies, and struggle to find nice places to go, that offer variety at a high quality. We are very proud that we offer both.

If on the night that you visited we wobbled on our high standards, this has nothing to do with the choice to be gluten free, but more likely just a bad day at the office... which you are bound to experience anywhere.

Again we thank you for taking the time to give us feedback. It is the only way that we can keep getting better at what we do.

Kind Regards, Cherin & Kim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

We were attracted to the high ranked comments for this hotel and were not disappointed. We stayed in room 7 on first floor. It had nice super king size bed and the owners had given a Z-bed for my kid. Together with the Z-bed there was not much space in the room but it was fine with us. The view from the window was of the fells. You can hardly see any lake from this hotel I think but the surrounding landscape is very pretty. Breakfast was filling with few options for Full English/Vegeterian or Omlettes but I thought they could have done a bit more with regards to keeping options for fruits. they did have fruit salad with some greek yoghurt but had the same pickled plums and grapefruit option everyday. There was not much choice for yoghurt either. We had dinner on one of the days. Kim had offered us dinner at a reduced price which was very kind. I enjoyed the 3 course meal. Desserts were nice. Canapés were good if you are a fan of seafood (which my wife is not). I had the pigeon breast and shark both were cooked nicely. My son's bolognaise was perhaps the best.

Overall, we had a pleasant stay. Rooms are nice and clean (shower pressure was quite low). Would definitely recommend for family.

Room Tip: any room to the front of the property comes with good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank roy_rajat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RavenstoneManor, Owner at Ravenstone Manor, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
We really appreciate every piece of feedback because it keeps us on the right track, thank you for your detailed comments. We do want to extend the breakfast offering and would like to do more in the line of fresh fruits and even some home made yoghurts and so on. Its a shame that we only had seafood oriented canapes on the night you ate with us...we would have liked your wife to get a flavour for the whole dining experience. We produce canapes each night and it seems that you got the seafood theme. We would have willingly changed them for your wife so apologies for that. We hope you will be back to stay with us in the future and hopefully we will continue to make our wonderful Manor house even better. Thank you Cherin & Kim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

We booked a cheeky weekend away and although the hotel's normal policy is for a minimum two night booking (over the weekend) the owners were really accommodating and allowed us to book for just a Saturday night.

The hotel is in a stunning location and the views are spectacular.

We had booked the bed, breakfast and dinner option and were very glad we did. The food was extremely well prepared and presented and exceptionally tasty. The hotel has a great bar selection (and very reasonably priced too) and the games room very inviting and relaxing after a tough day of doing nothing!!

The owners are very warm and welcoming and I wouldn't hesitate to return here as a base for a longer trip in the Lake District. It is ideally situated as it is slightly away from the much busier Windermere and Ambleside yet also within easy striking distance if you do want to visit them. It is also very conveniently located for walkers and there are some very good walks literally on the doorstep or a short drive away (Helvellyn is just down the road by car).

If you're not sure - don't be - book it!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RavenstoneManor, Owner at Ravenstone Manor, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
We would love to see you again and thank you for your lovely comments and for taking the time to write a review. We think the views are amazing to, and beleive that we are very licky to have found such a beautiful house in such an amazing location. The best part though, is always the guests. It was lovely to meet you, we are glad you enjoyed yourselves and look forward to your next visit. Regards

Cherin and Kim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg
Level Contributor
110 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

As usual, I checked the feedback, and found only two negatives- both dating from previous owners!

Luckily for mankind, the current incumbents are very service-focused and have given this lovely old building a tangible warmth.

Friendly welcome upon arrival, good explanations of what is where, and be sure to eat in the restaurant. It is a pearl, with an adventurous menu very well delivered, and an above-average wine list at very fair prices.

In the unlikely event of rain, a snooker table, pool table and a huge collection of board games will keep everyone happy.

All in all a great stay in a family atmosphere, well worth the money!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank euroboyLuxembourg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RavenstoneManor, Owner at Ravenstone Manor, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Your review was wonderful..thank you! We are amazed and humbled by all the amazing comments people take the time to make. Your reveiw summed up exactly what we try to be...service and comfort focused with some excellent fayre thrown in from the chef and his team. Thank you for your comments about the wine list too, we are currently re assessing the wine list so its is good to know that it is hitting the mark. We are trying to get a more interesting selection of half bottles and some more variation in the sparkling wines on our wine list but we are always concious of the price. Thank you for your reveiw, we look forward to seeing you soon kind regards

Cherin & Kim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

Stayed here with my family for 2 nights. Delicious food, comfortable rooms, great location and fantastic staff. Getting to know everyone's names was a great touch and nothing was too much trouble. I would definitely/have already recommended this place to many people I work with and would like to return with my partner in the (hopefully) near future!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bassenthwaite
0.1 mi away
Ravenstone Lodge Hotel
Ravenstone Lodge Hotel
#2 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
4.5 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
22.2 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
3.1 mi away
Overwater Hall
Overwater Hall
#1 of 1 in Ireby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,550 reviews
2.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Castle Inn Hotel
2.3 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Castlerigg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ravenstone Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ravenstone Manor

Property: Ravenstone Manor
Address: Bassenthwaite | Keswick, Bassenthwaite CA12 4QG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bassenthwaite
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bassenthwaite
#3 Family Hotel in Bassenthwaite
#4 Business Hotel in Bassenthwaite
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ravenstone Manor 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ravenstone Manor is a delightful 19th Century Manor House set within 3 hectares of grounds, situated at the foot of Skiddaw, looking across the valley to Bassenthwaite Lake. Rich in Cumbrian history, our 4 star Manor House has spectacular views of the Lake, the neighbouring Fells and Cumbrian countryside. We are fully dog friendly and ideally situated for walking, hiking & biking in the stunning Northern Lakes, Within the beautiful stone walls, you will find 20 charming en-suite bedrooms, a beautiful lounge, bar and games room with snooker and pool tables. Fed by the waters of Skiddaw, the Manor boasts its own fresh spring water that has quenched the thirst of its guests for over 50 years. The Dining Room serves a menu highlighting the freshest local meats, cheeses and produce. Open to residents and non-residents we offer a good home-cooked menu. Breakfast from 8:30 - 9:30am and evening meals from 6.30 till 8.30pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Ravenstone Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ravenstone Manor Bassenthwaite/Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing