We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Ravenstone Manor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ravenstone Manor
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Bassenthwaite
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great Place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

Lovely hotel, beautiful gardens and amazing views. The staff were really nice and helpful and the rooms very clean looking on to a wonderful view. I have to say that the website does not do it any justice.
I love the old style/wooden decor - throw back to an old black and white movie. My only compliant - well not a compliant but note would be that the restaurant although very clean could do with a more updated interior and it would have been really helpful if they had a bar meal menu.
We ate off their al a crate menu the first night which was really nice but would have been good to have a choice of a less expensive menu the next night. However these are only minor and would not hesitate in coming back. Great service and lovely place.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,022 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    719
    241
    35
    17
    10
See reviews for
87
719
30
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

We bought this as a Living Social deal as hubby had never been to Lake District before. The hotel is charming in beautiful countryside overlooking Bassenthwaite Lake albeit quite a long way from the hotel. We were lucky enough to have a room on the top floor so got amazing views. When we arrived the weather was glorious and we sat out in the gardens at picnic style tables. The staff are very warm and friendly and the co-owner Kim made us very welcome and gave us a wonderful insight into the hotel, both past and present. The fire in the bar whilst we waited for our drinks was very welcoming. We sat in the lounge eating our canapés whilst we perused the menu. Once in the restaurant the food was brilliant and ate their two nights running. I am so glad we took up the offer of bread that was slightly pink looking as the flavour was amazing - horseradish and beetroot on the first night and tomato bread on the second night. Hubby's wood pigeon breast was beautiful and I had it on the second night. My salmon and prawn starter was very tasty. Rack of lamb and Pork Belly main courses were best lamb and pork ever [the second night we had same two main courses just swapped over] and deserts to die for. After dinner drinks in the bar sat by the roaring fire complemented the evenings and then off to a very comfortable bed in a lovely warm room. Breakfast was very good with lots of choices. A thoroughly enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julie_spafford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

Just got back today after a two night stay. Beautiful room with gorgeous scenery. Kim and Cherin were excellent hosts. Nothing too much trouble. Breakfast was excellent. Only 10 minutes to Keswick. Had a great time. Definately be back.

Room Tip: Room No 1 was excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hallwcar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

Got this on a Groupon voucher and what a lovely surprise it was as it has a really nice feel. Food in the restaurant excellent both for dinner and for breakfast Kim,Cherin and staff really helpful and friendly. Will be visiting again.

Room Tip: All the rooms have a fabulous view over Bassenthwaite but if you are not fit- then opt for the first...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

Thank you to everyone for a lovely stay. Everything was exceptional. Acccommodation, staff and food all first class. Loved the under floor heating in the bathroom - bliss! We will be back again. Would certainly recommend for a wonderful break in the Lake District. Berni and Mark

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank First4admin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

Myself and my husband visited the Lake district for the first time in May 2013 we had a wonderful stay at the Ravenstone Manor, Lovely home cooked food and very nice room after long walks in the day you can relax in a hot bath, bubble bath providedby hotel ( nice touch)...Ravenstone is a very good base for visiting the main attractions , Grassmere Ambleside, Windermere well worth a visit.

Room Tip: May be better on alower floor if you have problem with the stairs we were at the top with 2 flights...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank berniijones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

We chose the Ravenstone Hotel due to its ability to cope with food allergies, and following a lovely, reassuring email from Cherin.
Everyone in the team was wonderfully friendly and helpful - from being able and willing to answer our queries regarding food content, to making special breads, drying wet clothes and providing advice on walks.
The quality of the food is amazing - and more so when considering that the vast majority of -dishes are gluten and wheat free! In our case, there were only a very few items that weren't suitable.
The hotel decor is a bit dark - particularly during the day (and made us think we were in Bavaria or Austria!) - but this translates into cosiness in the evening, and it certainly felt very homely and welcoming at the end of a long day. Beds were comfortable and the refurbished bathroom worked perfectly.
We had a lovely stay and thank everyone for making us feel so comfortable!

Room Tip: Would probably sacrifice the roominess of a large family room at the back of the hotel for the views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fairygirly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bassenthwaite
0.0 mi away
Ravenstone Lodge Hotel
Ravenstone Lodge Hotel
#2 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
4.5 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
22.2 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
3.1 mi away
Overwater Hall
Overwater Hall
#1 of 1 in Ireby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,568 reviews
2.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel
2.3 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Castlerigg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ravenstone Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ravenstone Manor

Property: Ravenstone Manor
Address: Bassenthwaite | Keswick, Bassenthwaite CA12 4QG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bassenthwaite
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bassenthwaite
#3 Family Hotel in Bassenthwaite
#4 Business Hotel in Bassenthwaite
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ravenstone Manor 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ravenstone Manor is a delightful 19th Century Manor House set within 3 hectares of grounds, situated at the foot of Skiddaw, looking across the valley to Bassenthwaite Lake. Rich in Cumbrian history, our 4 star Manor House has spectacular views of the Lake, the neighbouring Fells and Cumbrian countryside. We are fully dog friendly and ideally situated for walking, hiking & biking in the stunning Northern Lakes, Within the beautiful stone walls, you will find 20 charming en-suite bedrooms, a beautiful lounge, bar and games room with snooker and pool tables. Fed by the waters of Skiddaw, the Manor boasts its own fresh spring water that has quenched the thirst of its guests for over 50 years. The Dining Room serves a menu highlighting the freshest local meats, cheeses and produce. Open to residents and non-residents we offer a good home-cooked menu. Breakfast from 8:30 - 9:30am and evening meals from 6.30 till 8.30pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Travelocity, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Ravenstone Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ravenstone Manor Bassenthwaite/Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing