We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ravenstone Manor”
Review of Ravenstone Manor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ravenstone Manor
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Bassenthwaite
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Ravenstone Manor”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

I had a great week's walking, despite the ice and snow. It was lovely to return to the Hotel for the evening, and have a great meal and socialise in the Bar afterwards. A very comfortable and relaxed venue, with great food and top quality service. The was my 25th visit since 2000, and I shall definitely be coming back in the Spring.

Room Tip: All rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HenoLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RavenstoneManor, Owner at Ravenstone Manor, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
We always try to please our guests, especially after days of strenuous walking, and we are so glad you enjoy the food and also the socialising in the bar in the evenings. Kim and Cherin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,043 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    735
    245
    35
    17
    11
See reviews for
89
737
30
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Banbury, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 25, 2013

the stay at this hotel was surperb, we went walking in the hills behind the hotel and unfortunatley the ice and wind defeted us but returning to the hotel and having tea with scones was a perfict end to the walk . A very welcoming hotel . we will be back !!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RavenstoneManor, Owner at Ravenstone Manor, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Always pleased to have tea and scones ready for our weary walkers and we will be waiting to welcome you again for your next visit. Kim and Cherin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bromsgrove
Level Contributor
248 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

We now visit this hotel a couple of times a year. The food just gets better and better! Nothing is too much trouble for them. I happened to mention that we would't be late back as the men wanted to watch the rugby. When we got to the games room we found the television had been moved into the lounge for them. Kim told the men to stay put and she would fetch whatever they wanted from the bar. Tea and biscuits were brought for the ladies. Hows that for service! Well done to both Cherin and Kim. This is a gem of a place.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alysonBromsgrove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RavenstoneManor, Owner at Ravenstone Manor, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
It is lovely to be able to make our guests feel at home and we are so glad you enjoy your stays with us. See you again soon, we hope. Kim and Cherin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maghull Liverpool
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Just back from a two night stay, couldn't have asked for anything better 10/10. Cherin & kim couldn't have been more warm and friendly including the staff they were all lovely first thing of a morning you were greeted with a nice friendly smile and nothing was too much trouble. We would definitely go back to this lovely place.

Room Tip: Room 8 was a delight the view was brilliant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monica H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RavenstoneManor, Owner at Ravenstone Manor, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
What pleasure to read such lovely comments and we do hope that we will be able to look after you again soon. Kim and Cherin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

You can't say fairer than that, eh? The proof is in the highly calorific and delicious pudding. I've visited twice and booked in for my next visit. Great service, beautiful food (see comment on pudding), well appointed and tastefully furnished rooms AND you are made to feel part of the family. A real home from home. What more do you want?

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RavenstoneManor, Owner at Ravenstone Manor, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
It gives us a great deal of pleasure to receive returning guests and we are delighted to hear that you feel at home. We look forward to seeing you again. Kim and Cherin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

We went here on a Living Social deal so it was excellent value. Friendly owners and a lovely room. We had a lovely view of the fells from our room. We had a meal in the restaurant which was lovely. We had to wait a while but we didn't mind that as we were comfortably seated in the bar with games and music to keep us entertained. Excellent games room with board games, a piano, pool table and billiards table (or possibly snooker, I can't tell the difference) so plenty to keep you entertained if you don't want to go out. Free internet connection (wi fi) as well. Meal was lovely, canapes, starter, main course, dessert and coffee and chocoaltes. What more can you ask for!! Plenty of information on things to do in the local area. Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 667Kazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RavenstoneManor, Owner at Ravenstone Manor, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
We are so pleased to read your comments and that everything on your Living Social deal met all of your expectations. Sorry for the delay in our reply. Kim and Cherin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull
2 reviews
Reviewed March 20, 2013

A great stay and wonderful accommodation in a lovely part of the Lake District.
The owners were very friendly and helpful and the food was delicious after a day of walking.
It is an excellent old building which feels very homely. The views from the bedroom were wonderful - even on a cloudy winter's day.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HullDan85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RavenstoneManor, Owner at Ravenstone Manor, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you for your comments and pleased to hear that the food provided both pleased and satisifed after a day of walking. Kim and Cherin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bassenthwaite
0.1 mi away
Ravenstone Lodge Hotel
Ravenstone Lodge Hotel
#2 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
518 reviews
22.2 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
3.1 mi away
Overwater Hall
Overwater Hall
#1 of 1 in Ireby
519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Embleton Spa Hotel
Embleton Spa Hotel
#1 of 1 in Embleton
454 reviews
2.5 mi away
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
1,605 reviews
2.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ravenstone Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ravenstone Manor

Property: Ravenstone Manor
Address: Bassenthwaite | Keswick, Bassenthwaite CA12 4QG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bassenthwaite
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bassenthwaite
#3 Family Hotel in Bassenthwaite
#4 Business Hotel in Bassenthwaite
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ravenstone Manor 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ravenstone Manor is a delightful 19th Century Manor House set within 3 hectares of grounds, situated at the foot of Skiddaw, looking across the valley to Bassenthwaite Lake. Rich in Cumbrian history, our 4 star Manor House has spectacular views of the Lake, the neighbouring Fells and Cumbrian countryside. We are fully dog friendly and ideally situated for walking, hiking & biking in the stunning Northern Lakes, Within the beautiful stone walls, you will find 20 charming en-suite bedrooms, a beautiful lounge, dining room and bar. Fed by the waters of Skiddaw, the Manor boasts its own fresh spring water that has quenched the thirst of its guests for over 50 years. The Dining Room serves a menu highlighting the freshest local meats, cheeses and produce. Open to residents and non-residents we offer a good home-cooked menu. Breakfast from 8:30 - 9:30am and evening meals from 6.00 till 8.00pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Booking.com, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Ravenstone Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ravenstone Manor Bassenthwaite/Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing