We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“January visit”
Review of Ravenstone Manor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ravenstone Manor
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Bassenthwaite
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 30, 2013

This was our second visit and once again we were made very welcome - it was like meeting up with friends again. All the staff are very friendly with very good rooms and enjoyable food. If you go look out for the penguin and dolphin on the hill!!!

Room Tip: Have stayed in two different rooms - both v good
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NWEnglandNWcouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RavenstoneManor, Owner at Ravenstone Manor, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2013

It was so nice to welcome you both back and to catch up on how retirement is treating you ! We just love that you feel welcome when you return for a visit ! That is the best compliment you can pay us all - it is a home from home and we love sharing it with you! Please take good care. We look very forward to seeing you soon.

Warm Regards,
Kim & Cherin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,072)
There are newer reviews for Ravenstone Manor
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

632 - 638 of 1,072 reviews

Reviewed January 28, 2013

The hotel is set in beautiful surroundings. The staff were the friendliest we have experienced and no request seemed to be too much bother. The owners were very attentive and very knowledgable of the area - advising us of a lovely walk into Keswick. Little touches, such as bubblebath being provided and fresh milk for your room upon request, make your stay there that bit more special. The bar area, which includes a real fire and many, many games, was very cosy and we had two very enjoyable evenings chatting to other guests. Dinner was one of the nicest meals we have had. We definitely hope to return to this hotel and will strongly recommend it to family and friends.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RavenstoneManor, Owner at Ravenstone Manor, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2013

It was our pleasure hosting your impromptu birthday party! We love celebrating with our guests ! Thank you for your kind words and for recognising our wonder team as well ! We are very fortunate to work with all of them. We are especially pleased that you were able to enjoy your meals without having to think twice about the food that you were eating. It is extremely important to us that there is no distinguishing and absolutely no compromise on variety and taste for any of our guests who may have specific dietary requirements.

Thank you again for taking the time to share your visit to our home. Please be well, and we hope to see you again soon.

Warm Regards, Cherin & Kim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

We had a great relaxing weekend. The superior room was very comfortable, with a sparkling new bathroom, and wonderful views over Bassenthwaite Lake and beyond. The hospitality was wonderful, with very attentive and efficient staff, and yet a relaxed friendly atmosphere. Our relatives were made very welcome as non resident dinner guests at an impromptu birthday celebration, with lovely personal touches. But the best of all was the extensive menu choice and care taken for my gluten free diet. I have not eaten better gluten free food in any other hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 60MCC60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RavenstoneManor, Owner at Ravenstone Manor, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

Our most sincere apologies for overlooking your most welcome review. We do appreciate your comments and we are delighted to hear that we were able to meet your gluten free diet and that the celebrations were enjoyed by all. We shall look forward to perhaps seeing you again. Kim and Cherin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Thank you soooooooooooo much to our daughters who booked us a fabulous weekend for our Christmas present. Fab food, staff and beautiful room. Defo 10/10!!!!!!!!!!!!! The weekend could not of been any more perfect. The staff were helpful to such a point that they even looked after you when your throat needed lozengers. We have not laughed so much after meeting such a lovely couple in the games room. We highly recommend that you visit as we are hoping to go back soon!!

Room Tip: Four poster is just perfect, you even fall asleep in the spa bath!!!
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paula H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RavenstoneManor, Owner at Ravenstone Manor, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2013

Dear Paula,

We are so happy that you enjoyed your visit to our home! We just love when our guests make new friends when they are here ! We too thank your daughters for treating you to a visit ! We hope to meet them when you come for your next visit ! :)

Please take care and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Best Regards, Cherin & Kim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

I decided to book this when I received one of these voucher thing e-mails and thought it would be nice for my husband's birthday. The last couple of years we have been away for mine but the poor dear hasn't really been made a fuss of, so I thought it was about time. We were lucky as the traffic from Liverpool to Keswick was painless and the only problem was fog for 15 - 20 minutes once we had arrived in hill country.....difficult to be sure exactly where we were as it was after 4.30 pm and pitch black.
We got to the hotel at 5.30 pm, Kim was very hospitable and did her best to assist us in spite of her broken arm. She gave us a quick guided tour of the hotel before showing us to our room. We loved it already; creaking stairs, quirky doors the true charm of an original building with bundles of charm and charisma. We settled into our room which was small but cosy and well equipped. Plenty of space to store our belongings, a comfy bed, nice bathroom with good lighting, plenty of tea & coffee making facilities.....all we needed really. After an hour or two and time to freshen up we went down to the bar.
Again old world charm with a real fire, a cosy bar and a large games room with a full size snooker table, pool table and lots of games.
The next day we awoke to the stunning view outside our window, the magnificent mountains on the other side of Lake Bassenthwaite. We decided that after breakfast we would visit the local town of Keswick, Saturday is market day so the town was busy but not crowded. We found people to be friendly and there was lots of choice if you wanted a snack, a solid meal or just a drink. We used the local bus service to return to our hotel as there was a reliable local service and a stop just across the road.
That evening we looked forward to our "birthday meal", fortunately for us we were not disappointed. As I had spoken to the staff at the hotel they had dressed the table for a celebration, even a birthday card was included. At Ravenstone you go into the bar first to peruse the menu while you enjoy canapes provided by the hotel. Once everything is ready, you are invited to go into the dining room for your meal. The food was excellent, there was plenty of choice and the friendly service which accompanied the meal was first class. You are not hurried to finish so that you can take your time and rally enjoy your evening.
The next morning it was time for us to take our leave from Kim & Cherie....however, before we did we enjoyed another excellent breakfast. Cereals & juice are available so that you can help yourself. Your choice of morning beverage and toast are provided while you decide what you would like for your main breakfast.....we had the full English with choice of eggs.....fabulous and tasty; it kept us going for many hours afterwards.
If you want a hyper modern, all mod-cons sterile but minimalist hotel DO NOT visit Ravenstone Manor Hotel. However if you want a great, relaxed, friendly weekend with great food, lovely atmosphere, helpful and accommodating staff then do what we will be doing again and book yourself a weekend at Ravenstone Manor Hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JanetMcH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RavenstoneManor, Owner at Ravenstone Manor, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2013

Dear Janet,
Thank you so very much for all of your kind words and for sharing so much about your visit to our home. We were so happy to be able to share your husband's birthday and do our part to make a fuss ! We just love celebrating with our guests ! When we receive reviews like yours we just know that we are achieving what we had hoped in creating a home from home atmosphere! We want you all to be able to enjoy our home as we do, and never feel like you are actually staying in a hotel, but still receiving the service to the standard you expect! We thank you again for taking the time to let us know and for sharing with all of our new and returning guests! Please take good care. We do hope to be able to welcome you back very soon.

Warm Regards,
Kim & Cherin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

We booked a 2 night stay at Ravenstone Manor for a well-needed break after a busy Christmas period running a pub/restaurant. We were not disappointed; a very warm welcome by all the staff. The premium 4-poster room was delightful, warm and cosy with a lovely new bathroom, robes and everything we needed. We enjoyed a fabulous meal in the restaurant on our first night, with wonderful service. The breakfasts were plentiful and not to be faulted. The hotel is quirky, with a great games room and lovely little bar. Adam and all the staff could not have done any more for us; it was a pleasure from start to end. We would highly recommend this lovely Manor House and will definitely return.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VH30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RavenstoneManor, Owner at Ravenstone Manor, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2013

Thank you for such a nice review and for sharing your experience at the Manor with us and our guests - new and returning! We are so please that we created a relaxing and enjoyable atmosphere for you both so that you could recharge for a bit! Thank you for recognising our fabulous team as well! We are very fortunate to work with each of them, and it is nice when their efforts are mentioned in reviews ! Please take good care - don't work too hard :) We will hope to see you again soon.

Best Regards, Kim & Cherin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Friendly staff, interesting, quirky but very cozy and comfortable hotel with good food in a scenic location. We loved the four poster room with its stunning views. Worth a visit, or call in for evening dinner which is excellent value at£30per person for canapés, 3course meal, coffee and petit fours. Only downside was the wifi was patchy. The full size snooker table was fun too.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RavenstoneManor, Owner at Ravenstone Manor, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2013

Argh - those pesky mountains and thick walls - so sorry Dave about the wifi - some days its good and some not so good. We are working on boosting it again, and trying a satellite beam from a nearby location that is literally on top of the exchange. it will be much better on your next visit !
We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and the rest that the Manor has to offer despite the wifi! Thank you for taking the time to share your visit ! please be well and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best Regards, Cherin & Kim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bassenthwaite
22.2 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.1 mi away
Ravenstone Lodge Hotel
Ravenstone Lodge Hotel
#2 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
542 reviews
2.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Overwater Hall
Overwater Hall
#1 of 1 in Ireby
542 reviews
3.8 mi away
Embleton Spa Hotel
Embleton Spa Hotel
#1 of 1 in Embleton
478 reviews
2.5 mi away
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
1,661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ravenstone Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ravenstone Manor

Address: Bassenthwaite | Keswick, Bassenthwaite CA12 4QG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bassenthwaite
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bassenthwaite
#3 Family Hotel in Bassenthwaite
#4 Business Hotel in Bassenthwaite
Price Range: $138 - $639 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ravenstone Manor 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ravenstone Manor is a delightful 19th Century Manor House set within 3 hectares of grounds, situated at the foot of Skiddaw, looking across the valley to Bassenthwaite Lake. Rich in Cumbrian history, our 4 star Manor House has spectacular views of the Lake, the neighbouring Fells and Cumbrian countryside. We are fully dog friendly and ideally situated for walking, hiking & biking in the stunning Northern Lakes, Within the beautiful stone walls, you will find 20 charming en-suite bedrooms, a beautiful lounge, dining room and bar. Fed by the waters of Skiddaw, the Manor boasts its own fresh spring water that has quenched the thirst of its guests for over 50 years. The Dining Room serves a menu highlighting the freshest local meats, cheeses and produce. Open to residents and non-residents we offer a good home-cooked menu. Breakfast from 8:30 - 9:30am and evening meals from 6.00 till 8.00pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Ravenstone Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ravenstone Manor Bassenthwaite/Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing