We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First stay at Trusmador”
Review of Ravenstone Manor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ravenstone Manor
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Bassenthwaite
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Having turned up at our booked accomodation in Keswick to find it had no heating we went to the Ravenstone Manor as we had stayed there earlier in the year - they told us about their self-catering flat and we had the most marvellous week there - nothing was too much trouble for the four owners who are now friends. We finished off our week by taking advantage of the subsidised evening meal in the hotel. Would recommend this to any couples and we will be going back if only for the fantastic shower and whirlpool bath!!!
Margaret and Terry

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank margaret w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RavenstoneManor, Owner at Ravenstone Manor, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2013

Dear Margaret and Terry,
We were so happy to be able to offer you the flat when you called - and we were especially happy that your holiday was not ruined after all!! It is always a pleasure to see you both! Thank you for the kind words and taking the time to share them! We look forward to seeing you both very soon. Be well!

Best Regards,
Cherin & Kim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,091)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

658 - 664 of 1,091 reviews

Reviewed January 7, 2013

I persuaded my family (my husband, myself, my mother and our two adult sons) to spend New Year's Eve away from home this year. As soon as we had arrived they agreed that it was the right decision!
We were greeted by Adam and shown to our rooms, which were warm, cosy and comfortable with lovely new en suite bathrooms and beautiful views of the lake.
The food was fantastic and VERY plentiful with a great choice and something to suit all tastes with games and champagne on the house on New Years Eve. Adam, Cherin, Kim and Tina joined in the fun and throughout the weekend were very welcoming and made us all feel at home. Nothing was too much trouble for any of them.
Adam, Cherin, Kim and Tina really made stay memorable and we are looking forward to visiting them again next New Year. We would thoroughly recommend Ravenstone Manor to everyone.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RJayneS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RavenstoneManor, Owner at Ravenstone Manor, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2013

What a wonderful review - Thank you for taking the time to share!!! We had a blast at New Years and we were so glad to be able to ring it in with so many of our guests - new and returning! We are so pleased that you and your family were there to celebrate with us! In our opinion, our guests are worth celebrating all year!!! :) We do hope to see you again this coming year! Please take good care.

Warm Regards,Cherin & Kim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We had 2 nights in this lovely hotel, including dinner on both evenings.
The food was first rate, and the management friendly and attentive. Log fire, plenty of games, and a drink on the house!
I would thoroughly recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RavenstoneManor, Owner at Ravenstone Manor, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2013

Dear Rachel,

It was our pleasure welcoming you into our home, and we are so please that you enjoyed your stay and all that the Manor has to offer. Thank you so much for taking the time to share your visit with us and all of our guests - new and returning! We all love knowing that we are successfully creating a warm and inviting atmosphere.

Please take good care - we hope to see you soon.

Best Regards,
Cherin & Kim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Spent three nights at Ravenstone between Christmas and New Year to celebrate our wedding anniversary.
Tina and Charin really pulled out all the stops to ensure our time there was memorable, nothing was too much bother for them.
The food was excellent with plenty of choice, and good size helpings. They had my favorite beer on tap, and a good whisky selection. So with good food, good drink, lovely company, and help to organise a special anniversary, we really couldn't ask for more.
Well done to all, and thank you.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RavenstoneManor, Owner at Ravenstone Manor, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2013

Dear Dave,
Thank you very much for your kind words, and for choosing Ravenstone Manor to celebrate your anniversary. We love celebrating especially when it is a special anniversary ! We are so pleased that we were able to make your visit a memorable one. We hope that means we will see you again soon. Please take care.

Best Regards,
Cherin & Kim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We recently stayed at Ravenstone Manor for 2 nights over The New Year, taking in their New Year's dinner party.
There were 4 of us in our party and we cannot praise the hotel and staff too highly. Nothing appeared to be too much trouble for them. The food was excellent, and plenty of it as well.
Our rooms were clean, tidy and well stocked.
The owners of this hotel just seem to go the extra mile for their guests.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lyraboat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RavenstoneManor, Owner at Ravenstone Manor, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2013

We just love having a party and celebrating !!! We are so pleased that you were here and enjoyed New Years with us. Thank you very much for taking the time to share your stay and for the kind words. we hope to see you again in 2013. Please take good care.

Regards, Cherin & Kim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We slipped away for a pre Christmas jolly in the Lakes on a livingsocial deal, and were completely bowled over by the amazing welcome we were given by the staff, and the wonderful food we ate! We will be recommending this hotel to all our friends and will definitely return soon!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank baabaamaggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RavenstoneManor, Owner at Ravenstone Manor, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2013

Thank you so much for such a great review! We are so pleased that we have exceeded your expectations! One of the goals for offering the Living Social package was to introduce Ravenstone Manor and the beauty of the Northern Lakes to guests who may not have ventured to our part of the Lake District otherwise. Your kind words confirm that we achieved our goal. Thank you again for taking the time to share your visit. We look forward to seeing you again very soon.

Best Regards,
Kim & Cherin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Stayed New Year the owners are very helpful , the food is very good. The rooms are clean and comfortable though vary somewhat. Its a great place to stay , been before and will return. The service is personal and the atmosphere chilled and relaxed.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UkTufty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RavenstoneManor, Owner at Ravenstone Manor, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2013

Thank you so very much for taking the time to leave such a nice review, and for sharing your visit. We love throwing a party and celebrating with our guests, and we are thrilled that you enjoyed New Years with us ! We look forward to seeing you again in the near future ! Please take good care.

Best regards,
Kim & Cherin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bassenthwaite
0.1 mi away
Ravenstone Lodge Hotel
Ravenstone Lodge Hotel
#1 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
567 reviews
22.2 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
2.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
1,706 reviews
3.8 mi away
Embleton Spa Hotel
Embleton Spa Hotel
#1 of 1 in Embleton
507 reviews
3.1 mi away
Overwater Hall
Overwater Hall
#1 of 1 in Ireby
557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ravenstone Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ravenstone Manor

Address: Bassenthwaite | Keswick, Bassenthwaite CA12 4QG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bassenthwaite
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Bassenthwaite
Price Range: $94 - $660 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ravenstone Manor 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ravenstone Manor is a delightful 19th Century Manor House set within 3 hectares of grounds, situated at the foot of Skiddaw, looking across the valley to Bassenthwaite Lake. Rich in Cumbrian history, our 4 star Manor House has spectacular views of the Lake, the neighbouring Fells and Cumbrian countryside. We are fully dog friendly and ideally situated for walking, hiking & biking in the stunning Northern Lakes, Within the beautiful stone walls, you will find 20 charming en-suite bedrooms, a beautiful lounge, dining room and bar. Fed by the waters of Skiddaw, the Manor boasts its own fresh spring water that has quenched the thirst of its guests for over 50 years. The Dining Room serves a menu highlighting the freshest local meats, cheeses and produce. Open to residents and non-residents we offer a good home-cooked menu. Breakfast from 8:15 - 9:30am and evening meals from 6.00 till 8.45pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Ravenstone Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ravenstone Manor Bassenthwaite/Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing