We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel and friendly staff!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Ravenstone Manor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ravenstone Manor
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Bassenthwaite
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice hotel and friendly staff!”
Reviewed December 6, 2012

Me and my partner stayed here for a 'child free' weekend.
To start the welcome was very nice and the staff were lovely and asked if we would like help with our luggage. We were in room 18, the spa four poster room. The room was very nice and they had a portable heater in here for us as it was freezing when we arrived, although the underfloor heating in the bathroom could have been turned on a little earlier as it was so cold in there for the first day and a half, and even on full you couldn't really tell it was on. A couple of minors in the room, one of the lights were smashed, small amount of mold on the bathroom curtain and we were told there would be radox in the room to use with the spa bath and there was none ( even though the room next door had some and payed considerably less than us ) the upside of the room.. The bed was extremely comfortable and you didn't want to get up in the morning.
We had the dinner bed and breakfast package and the food could not be faulted, breakfast was brilliant and something for everyone. The evening meal I felt there was a limited selection as I'm a very fussy eater but on both nights I found something to suit me and it was truly gorgeous food. And the coffee afterwards was changed to hot chocolate as I don't drink tea or coffee. On our second night after finding out me and my partner had got engaged Kim bought a bottle of prosecco to our table which was a nice touch.
The games room was a very nice added bonus although when we were there it was being renovated so there were no radiators and it was freezing so you couldn't spend long in the there and the wallpaper and painting was being done on the second day so we had to wait a while to get in there, but once this is done there is a huge range of things for you to do in there. The bar is nice and cosy but a little pricey, £7 for a beer and a Tia Maria. And the beer seemed to have an extremely large head each time it was poured.
We we were among the youngest people there ( two couples around our age ) and everybody else was a little older, I would say this hotel is geared at the older generation.
Overall a lovely stay but not sure I would return, but this is mainly due to me liking to try new places. I was also a little disheartened when a staff member said that it was lovely we were all there off KGB deals, when in fact me and my partner had paid a lot more,than the £99 for two nights that the other people had paid... Nearly triple.
So yes a lovely hotel and if you dont mind being a little out of town in a lovely old hotel then this is probably the place for you.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Maz163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RavenstoneManor, Owner at Ravenstone Manor, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Thank you so very much for taking the time to review your visit to our home. The title of your review makes us smile - we are very fortunate to have such a great team to work with! It is so appreciated when they are recognised for their efforts.

I do apologise for the few things that seemed to be amiss during your visit. We have gone back into room 18 to review and rectify each of your points. The games room is now complete - including a new fire as of yesterday - it will be much warmer in there on your next visit. ;)

Please take good care. We do hope to see you again.

Best Regards,
Cherin & kim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,021 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    718
    241
    35
    17
    10
See reviews for
87
718
30
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
SHeffield
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2012

My Girlfriend & I visited here for the 2nd time after a very pleasant stay previously. I have to say that the team are still producing the goods & ever improving the facilities.

We stayed for 2 nights & ate there one evening. The food is fantastic & very reasonable, the service is just the right balance of efficient, friendly & welcoming.

Breakfast is 5 star with everything available & sourced locally...... and the coffee? MORNING!!

All in all this place is great. Nice well equipped rooms, lovely bar area with an open fire to unwind, games room & generally someone to chat with. Great value 100% recommended. Thanks.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VAG-hag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RavenstoneManor, Owner at Ravenstone Manor, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Uh - Oh must have been me who made the coffee !!! I tend to err on the side of strong when given the opportunity! Hope you enjoyed it nonetheless - a perfect marriage of our own spring water and or very own coffee blend ! :)

Thank you for taking the time to share your visit! It is so appreciated! Our aim is to create a home from home atmosphere and we love to know when we are achieving that! we do hope to be able to welcome you back very soon. Please take good care!

Best Regards,
Cherin & Kim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington
Level Contributor
36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

We have just returned from spending two nights at this brilliant hotel. It had everything that you could possibly want from an hotel: attentive hosts; welcoming atmosphere from start to finish; friendly, helpful staff; the most comfortable bed we have ever experienced in a hotel; relaxing lounges stuffed with comfortable armchairs and warming fires; a free games room with snooker tables and table tennis; an extremely comfortable room with an amazing shower in the bathroom; and the most fabulous breakfast. All in all, it was truly outstanding.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OurKate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RavenstoneManor, Owner at Ravenstone Manor, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Thank you so very much for such a fantastic review - and for taking the time to share your visit with us and our guests - returning and new. We are so thrilled that you were able to enjoy so much of what the house has to offer, and that you were comfortable in our home.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon. Take good care.

Warm Regards,
Kim & Cherin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clitheroe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

My partner and I had a wonderful time at Ravenstone last week (11th - 13th November). We knew the moment we stepped into the hotel that we were going to enjoy our stay. The hotel has such a lovely feel about it. Adam made us very welcome, and it is so nice to be shown to your room and be helped with luggage, something that doesn't happen in many hotels nowadays! We had one of the standard rooms which was very cosy with a view of the lake. The offer of fresh milk in our room was very much appreciated. We dined in the restaurant both evenings - delicious! We had our coffee in the lounge which was very relaxing. The breakfasts were also very good. We also enjoyed the games room facility. We are hoping to make a return visit in 2013, it is so good to find somewhere special.The owners and staff all deserve much praise.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ida R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RavenstoneManor, Owner at Ravenstone Manor, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Ida,

Thank you so very much for your lovely review. We are so happy that you felt so warm and welcome in our home and that you enjoyed so many of the features that the Manor has to offer. This is what we all aim to achieve with every guest! We are extremely fortunate that we have such a wonderful team of people working with us ! Thank you for recognising their efforts and contributions! Please take good care and give us a call directly when you are ready to book your next visit!! We look very forward to welcoming you back again.

Warm Regards,
Kim & Cherin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

We booked for Valentines and were unable to go at that time, so really big thanks for honouring the booking for later in the year! We booked through groupon because we always like a great deal and exceptional value. (I am a spendthrift to be honest). The room was clean and good, the service was good and the food we had was good. We did not have dinner because of my spendthrift nature, we ate out at approx half the price and enjoyed 3 courses nonetheless. We would have liked to have eaten there to avoid travelling into Keswick. Please don't misunderstand the dinner prices at £30/ head are in keeping with other local out of town/ tied to the the place hotels. I think us not eating there perhaps made us "unprofitable" but people have choices in life but we were asked many times (5 times in 2 days maybe) "are you joining us for dinner" so slightly awkward at times. One error which we made - we had originally paid the upgrade to the spa room, but when I re-arranged the booking (thank you again for honouring!) the spa room had gone - not sure how many rooms had a bath - ours didn't and after a long days biking at Whinlatter and Skiddaw we both wanted to soak aching muscles. Perhaps check your room has a bath if you want one, but again the bathroom we had in terms of decor was ace.
Now onto our biggest plus - the Games room - every and I mean every puzzle you can imagine which provided great fun and nostalgia to games of years back. Solitaire, full size snooker, pool, ping pong, yahtzee, jenga, cards, dominos, triv pursuits, cluedo spec ed, scabble. Read some of the 100's of trivia books like the "Lifes little instruction book" - oh my god, great proverbs/ tips to make you wake up about how you carry yourself in life. "Anytime you can hold your child's hand - do so because there will come a day when they don't want you to"

Thanks Ravenstone - we will return on a groupon type deal and try and barter a bit on the dinner price? :) Nice hotel, stay there and you will not be dissapointed.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RavenstoneManor, Owner at Ravenstone Manor, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Mike,

Thank you so very much for taking the time to leave your review. I have to apologise if there was awkwardness with regard to the meals - it is more about us making sure that chef knows - so that preparations can be made...Please be assured that we never consider our guests to be unprofitable - its not about what you spend - we love having people in our home and want to share all of the aspects with everyone.

Please give us a call directly when you are ready to come for another visit! We will always give you a great deal - including the meals - we are launching a new approach to the menu that I am sure you will enjoy!

bet wishes,

Kim & Cherin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Ravenstone Manor. The owners are very friendly and helpful. We spent most of our evenings in the games room playing snooker and table tennis. which is presently undergoing referbishment. There are plenty of other games available in the bar area and spacious lounge.
Ideally located for walkers, just a short drive to Keswick, or you can set off walking from the hotel. All rooms have tea and coffee making facilities, they are clean and well proportioned and all rooms have fantastic views over Bassenthwaite. The bedrooms have either been refurbished or are undergoing referbishment. Woud stay again!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RavenstoneManor, Manager at Ravenstone Manor, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Julie,
Thank you for your lovely review, and for sharing your experience with us - and all of our new and returning guests. So glad that the uplifts around the house did not take anything away from your being able to enjoy your visit! All are complete (for now - she says) ... Look very forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm Regards,
Kim & Cherin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Just returned from a lovely stay at Ravenstone Manor.
Friendly welcome.
After a Days walking in poor weather, it was nice to come back to a warm and comfortable Hotel.
Staff attentive.and coffee served in the pleasant lounge on request.
Prime position if wanting to climb Skiddaw.
Would return again..

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dennis W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RavenstoneManor, Owner at Ravenstone Manor, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Dennis,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your visit! So happy that we could warm you up after your excursions ! Please take good care and we hope to see you again soon.

Warm Regards,
Kim & Cherin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bassenthwaite
0.0 mi away
Ravenstone Lodge Hotel
Ravenstone Lodge Hotel
#2 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
497 reviews
22.2 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
3.1 mi away
Overwater Hall
Overwater Hall
#1 of 1 in Ireby
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Castle Inn Hotel
2.5 mi away
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
1,568 reviews
2.3 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Castlerigg
577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ravenstone Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ravenstone Manor

Property: Ravenstone Manor
Address: Bassenthwaite | Keswick, Bassenthwaite CA12 4QG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bassenthwaite
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bassenthwaite
#3 Family Hotel in Bassenthwaite
#4 Business Hotel in Bassenthwaite
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ravenstone Manor 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ravenstone Manor is a delightful 19th Century Manor House set within 3 hectares of grounds, situated at the foot of Skiddaw, looking across the valley to Bassenthwaite Lake. Rich in Cumbrian history, our 4 star Manor House has spectacular views of the Lake, the neighbouring Fells and Cumbrian countryside. We are fully dog friendly and ideally situated for walking, hiking & biking in the stunning Northern Lakes, Within the beautiful stone walls, you will find 20 charming en-suite bedrooms, a beautiful lounge, bar and games room with snooker and pool tables. Fed by the waters of Skiddaw, the Manor boasts its own fresh spring water that has quenched the thirst of its guests for over 50 years. The Dining Room serves a menu highlighting the freshest local meats, cheeses and produce. Open to residents and non-residents we offer a good home-cooked menu. Breakfast from 8:30 - 9:30am and evening meals from 6.30 till 8.30pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, HotelQuickly, Travelocity, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Ravenstone Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ravenstone Manor Bassenthwaite/Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing