We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Bassenthwaite
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Just arrived back from a four night stay at the Castle Inn Hotel and it more than lived up to our expectations. We booked a standard room (no 63) and although not massive it had everything you needed and it was immaculate. It had a side view to the hotel's garden and the lake. The bathroom was very modern with a big shower cubicle. We ate two nights in the Laker bar and the food was excellent and very well presented. We ate one evening in the Ritson and again the food was to die for although a little pricey. All the staff were friendly and went out of their way to ensure you wanted for nothing. The hotel is in a perfect location away from it all but only 7 miles from Keswick. A perfect place to relax.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thomasbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pleewells, Owner at Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2014

Thank you for your recent review and we are all pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Room 63 is in 'The House' and has fantastic views over the gardens.

The team and I look forward to you returning in the near future.

Best wishes


Peter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (947)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

544 - 550 of 947 reviews

Reviewed April 27, 2014

Lovely relaxing weekend break in a peaceful location. Ate in the Lakers bar both nights, the food was a little pricey but similar to most hotel bar prices. The food was very nice and served quickly. We enjoyed a cooked breakfast on both mornings and there was lots of different choices for cereal, fruit, etc too. So full we didn't need lunch. The pool, steam room and sauna are a nice addition too. Our room was lovely with patio doors and a big window and a large bathroom. Staff were friendly. Good location, about 15 minute drive to Keswick. If you're looking for somewhere peaceful to relax you will enjoy it here.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pleewells, Owner at Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for the recent review on Tripadvisor. I am pleased to read your positive comments and I will certainly share these with the team. We are a family owned and run hotel and we take all comments good and bad seriously so we can celebrate the success and act upon areas that need to be improved.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.


Best wishes


Peter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2014

very nice hotel close to the lake where there are places to picnic. Pool good size but disappointed jacuzzi not working - apparently hasnt worked for 2 years so really shouldnt be advertised as a facility. Nice bar area for drinks/food although both a bit on the pricey side so went into Keswick on an evening which is a 10 minute drive. We were room only so it wasnt the cheapest of breaks but it was easter so always going to be a bit more expensive. Overall very nice.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
1  Thank janandreece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pleewells, Owner at Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your recent review and we are really pleased you had a nice stay with us. I am sorry that you thought that we had a Jacuzzi, as we removed this two years ago and we do not advertise that we do have one. Please could you let me know where it was advertised.

Thank you once again and we look forward to you returning to the hotel in the near future.

Best wishes

Peter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
pleewells, Owner at Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Room was small
And cramped although immaculate. Very limited supply
Of
Drink making facility had to ask for milk . 2 teabags 1 coffee sachet .
Pool was lovely.
Breakfast was an experience to say the least !! With a waiter like basil fawlty! He continued to pace up and down and circle our table making us feel very uncomfortable , I took a bowl of ketchup to use for my little girl and he promptly came and stood over us waiting to put it back!! Breakfast was very mediocre no continental meats or cheeses ,
1 bowl of natural yoghurt no other flavours offered. Coffee was awful. No paper given to me as I was told I had not specified a paper therefore I could only have the free IT paper ( no thanks)was not shown where anything was or where to have breakfast etc kinda of found my own way. Rooms and hotel are very tired and the staff are not over friendly. Would not stay here again. Very poor service.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank julie w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pleewells, Owner at Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for recent review on Tripadvisor. We are a family owned and run hotel and we take all comments good and bad seriously so we can celebrate the success and act upon areas that need to be improved.

I am sorry and very surprised to hear about your experience and I will certainly be investigating the points you have raised and will deal with these issues.

My apologies once again and I hope that you will give us another opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.


Kind regards


Peter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2014

I stayed with friends recently and I have to say it is the best hotel I've stayed at I years. I know the Wells family own it and you can tell that they go that extra mile, which you only get with a family run hotel. Location, food,staff, pool and bedroom were all fab! Cannot wait to visit again-well done to everyone who made our stay perfect and keep up the good work.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank welltravelyoung1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pleewells, Owner at Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2014

Dear Guest

We are really pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and I am equally pleased that we are one of the best hotels that you have stayed at in years.

The team always work hard to ensure our guests have an enjoyable time.

Thank you again


Peter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2014 via mobile

Just back from a one night stay at this hotel. Everything about the stay was fantastic.

Check in was quick and the girls on reception were lovely, we were in room 21 which was great, bathroom spot on and everything was clean. Had the best nights sleep ever, bed was so comfortable.

We had a few drinks in the Lakers Bar on the afternoon and on the evening ate at Ritson's. The starters and mains were fabulous, plenty choice and were just delicious. Our waitress Sandra was very attentive and customer service was excellent.

There were various options at breakfast time. We all opted for full English breakfasts, adapted to what we wanted and again that was delicious.

Couldn't fault a thing about this hotel and I can't wait to return.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Andrea-Washington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pleewells, Owner at Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2014

Thank you for your recent review. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay, room 21 is lovely as it over looks the fells and lake at the front of the hotel. It is also one of our family rooms with 1 double and 1 single bed, but also has space to put an occasional bed!

I am thrilled that you cannot wait to return and we are all looking forward to seeing you again.

Best wishes

Peter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bassenthwaite
18.5 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
24.5 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
6.1 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
1,702 reviews
2.9 mi away
Embleton Spa Hotel
Embleton Spa Hotel
#1 of 1 in Embleton
504 reviews
17.4 mi away
The Inn at Grasmere
The Inn at Grasmere
#6 of 14 in Grasmere
1,573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel

Address: | Near Keswick, Bassenthwaite CA12 4RG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bassenthwaite
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Bassenthwaite
#4 Family Hotel in Bassenthwaite
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bassenthwaite
Price Range: $69 - $204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Castle Hotel Bassenthwaite
Best Western Keswick
Best Western Castle Hotel
Best Western Bassenthwaite
Bassenthwaite Best Western
Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel Bassenthwaite

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing