We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay - highly recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Bassenthwaite
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent stay - highly recommended”
Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights as a spur of the moment weekend away and after searching the web chose this hotel. I cannot offer more praise for this hotel and highly recommend it to anyone wanting an excellent weekend break. The staff were courteous, knowledgeable and offered a fantastic high level of service on all the occasions I spoke with them.

The double executive room was well equipped with an en-suite which had both a bath and shower in it.

The only downside was that the walls of the room were a little thin and you could hear what your neighbours were getting up to and people returning to the hotel.

Anyone looking for a stay in the Lake District should seriously consider this hotel.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Masamune1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PLEEWELS, Owner at Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your recent review about the Castle Inn Hotel on Tripadvisor. We all take pride in our hotel and it is really pleasing to read such positive comments.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

Peter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

880 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    366
    301
    107
    58
    48
See reviews for
167
497
10
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Darlington
Level Contributor
96 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

This was a last minute break, booked on the Thursday for Saturday night, so pleased we picked the Castle Inn, we`ve stayed in the Lakes many times, but never in Bassenthwaite, on arrival we were upgraded to an executive room, which was very well appointed, furnished to a high standard, very clean and spacious, we booked a table in the restaurant for evening meal, the attention to detail by the restaurant manager and his staff was second to none, the food was fantastic, the pace of the meal could not have been better, no rushing here, plenty of time inbetween courses, one of the best hotels for food and service I`ve stayed in for quite a while, breakfast was in a similar vein, plenty of options including a good full English.

Room Tip: We were upgraded to an executive room, which was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GillianandPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PLEEWELS, Owner at Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear Guest

I really appreciate your recent review on Tripadvisor to comment on your great last minute break at the Castle Inn Hotel.

As with all feedback, we share this with the team so we can celebrate the success or learn from our mistakes.

I am pleased that you enjoyed your meal in Ritson's restaurant, Neil our Head Chef has just changed the menu to offer some wonderful Autumn favourites. So please, if you are in the area come and visit us again!

Best wishes


Peter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level Contributor
37 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

We have just returned from the perfect 2 night stay at the Castle Inn,all the staff were great so pleasant and helpful,and the food in restaurant was delicious.....would most definitely recommend this hotel it was first class................

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cheerfulManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PLEEWELS, Owner at Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear Guest

I would like to thank you for your recent review on tripadvisor. I will share your positive comments with all of my team at the Castle Inn Hotel.

My team always work hard to ensure that all guests who stay with us have a fantastic experience and it is very pleasing to read such positive reviews.

Thank you again and we all look forward to welcoming you back to the Castle Inn Hotel in the near future.

Best wishes


Peter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

Free upgrade on arrival despite only booking that morning and things certainly got better and better- food was lovely and staff helpful and friendly. Pool great and really quiet. Shame about the rain but you can't have everything !

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank walker90_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PLEEWELS, Owner at Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay at the Castle Inn Hotel. We are really pleased to read that you had enjoyable experience with us.

I will certainly feedback to the team your positive comments regarding staff being friendly and helpful, which I feel is the basis of great hospitality service.

We hope we will see you again in the near future and please remember to contact us direct to get the best possible rates at the Castle Inn Hotel.

Best wishes


Peter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland uk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Just returned from 3day stay at this hotel,complimentary upgrade on arrival to executive room,could not fault any aspect of the hotel,especially the 2 young ladies on reception and Peter the bar and dining room supervisor and Mick the barman.If you are on a diet,ask for child portions,they really are large,and it was superb.I would definitely return and recommend the superb Castle Inn at Bassenthwaite .

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PLEEWELS, Owner at Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Mr & Mrs White

Thank you for taking the time to post a great review on Tripadvisor.

I will pass on your comments to all of the team here at the hotel and especially Peter, two ladies on Reception and Mick, (who seems a forerunner to 'Employee of the Month', as this is the second mention of him in the last week!!)

We all hope that you return to the hotel in the near future.

Best wishes


Peter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

my wife and i stayed here for two nights which we booked through the tesco clubcard scheme.Some hotels tend to put people on this scheme in their poorer rooms but not this hotel.We stayed in a double executive room which had a seperate bath and shower cubicle in the ensuite.We could fault nothing at all,staff were great,leisure facilities were good and food was excellent (we ate in Lakers Bar both nights).Paul the deputy general manager and Mick on the bar deserve a special mention for their pleasant and welcoming manner.
my wife enjoyed using the gym facilities whereas i preffered the real ales on offer in the bar !!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andy2465
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PLEEWELS, Owner at Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your recent review. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay and it's great to welcome guests who are using the Best Western Tesco Clubcard offer.

Please be sure that I can confidentially say that all our rooms are of excellent standard and quality which have been recently refurbished to ensure that we offer the best possible facilities within the Lake District.

May I also thank you for your kind words regarding Paul and Mick, I can support your view that they consistently deliver exceptional customer service to all of our guests, as do all of the team at the Castle Inn Hotel.

May we welcome you again in the near future.

Best wishes


Peter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
136 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013

We booked this hotel for the first time via tesco tokens albeit i am a best western platinum card holder. We had upgraded with tesco and paid extra for an executive room. We traveled with relatives who had booked standard rooms. The initial room that we were given was awful and smelly much below the standard of our relatives rooms. We complained and after a very brief initial discussion they changed us to a fantastic room with great views and a 4 poster. The whole experience was great and we will go back again. The food in the pub section was good and reasonably priced

Room Tip: Best rooms seem to be first floor looking over the gardens to the rear
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank martin w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PLEEWELS, Owner at Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your recent review and we are glad that you had an enjoyable stay with us. Please accept my apologies for the first room that you were allocated. This has now been rectified by my Housekeeping and Maintenance teams.

I am glad that you managed to enjoy your break at this time of year as the Bassenthwaite area looks magnificent at the moment. With the leaves changing to the beautiful colours within the forests and woodlands either side of the lake which can be viewed from our Lakeside and Garden bedrooms.

Please be sure to visit us again and please contact us direct for the best possible rates.

Best wishes

Peter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bassenthwaite
0.5 mi away
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
1,607 reviews
18.5 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
24.8 mi away
The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.5 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
2.2 mi away
Ravenstone Lodge Hotel
Ravenstone Lodge Hotel
#2 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
519 reviews
2.9 mi away
Embleton Spa Hotel
Embleton Spa Hotel
#1 of 1 in Embleton
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel
Address: | Near Keswick, Bassenthwaite CA12 4RG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bassenthwaite
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Bassenthwaite
#4 Family Hotel in Bassenthwaite
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bassenthwaite
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Castle Hotel Bassenthwaite
Best Western Keswick
Best Western Castle Hotel
Best Western Bassenthwaite
Bassenthwaite Best Western
Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel Bassenthwaite

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing