We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Bassenthwaite
Reviewed October 18, 2013

my wife and i stayed here for two nights which we booked through the tesco clubcard scheme.Some hotels tend to put people on this scheme in their poorer rooms but not this hotel.We stayed in a double executive room which had a seperate bath and shower cubicle in the ensuite.We could fault nothing at all,staff were great,leisure facilities were good and food was excellent (we ate in Lakers Bar both nights).Paul the deputy general manager and Mick on the bar deserve a special mention for their pleasant and welcoming manner.
my wife enjoyed using the gym facilities whereas i preffered the real ales on offer in the bar !!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andy2465
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PLEEWELS, Owner at Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your recent review. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay and it's great to welcome guests who are using the Best Western Tesco Clubcard offer.

Please be sure that I can confidentially say that all our rooms are of excellent standard and quality which have been recently refurbished to ensure that we offer the best possible facilities within the Lake District.

May I also thank you for your kind words regarding Paul and Mick, I can support your view that they consistently deliver exceptional customer service to all of our guests, as do all of the team at the Castle Inn Hotel.

May we welcome you again in the near future.

Best wishes


Peter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (929)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

615 - 621 of 929 reviews

Reviewed October 17, 2013

We booked this hotel for the first time via tesco tokens albeit i am a best western platinum card holder. We had upgraded with tesco and paid extra for an executive room. We traveled with relatives who had booked standard rooms. The initial room that we were given was awful and smelly much below the standard of our relatives rooms. We complained and after a very brief initial discussion they changed us to a fantastic room with great views and a 4 poster. The whole experience was great and we will go back again. The food in the pub section was good and reasonably priced

Room Tip: Best rooms seem to be first floor looking over the gardens to the rear
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank martin w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PLEEWELS, Owner at Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your recent review and we are glad that you had an enjoyable stay with us. Please accept my apologies for the first room that you were allocated. This has now been rectified by my Housekeeping and Maintenance teams.

I am glad that you managed to enjoy your break at this time of year as the Bassenthwaite area looks magnificent at the moment. With the leaves changing to the beautiful colours within the forests and woodlands either side of the lake which can be viewed from our Lakeside and Garden bedrooms.

Please be sure to visit us again and please contact us direct for the best possible rates.

Best wishes

Peter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

This hotel does not provide 4 star quality or value for money. The breakfasts are mediocre, the pillows are of poor quality - although we were given better ones on request, the shower was extremely hot or extremely cold etc. On the plus side, although not cleaned during our two night stay, the room and bathroom were clean on arrival and the staff were polite and friendly.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
1  Thank eileen_campbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PLEEWELS, Owner at Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write your review on Tripadvisor. We are really disappointed to read your views and apologise if you feel that we have not provided you with our typically high standards of hospitality.

We have discussed your points at length with the senior management team to ensure that this does not happen again.

Again I can only apologise, but if you would like to stay at the hotel again please contact me direct so I can personally look after you.

Yours sincerely


Peter L. Wells.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Excelent hotel with helpful and professional staff. The food and service were good, the best value and atmosphere being in Lakers bar to eat and drink rather than the restaurant which was good but limited choice. The room was excellent and comfortable.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank MSPL16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PLEEWELS, Owner at Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your recent review of the Castle Inn Hotel. I am really pleased to read your comments and in particular Lakers Bar for its atmosphere, food and service. Lakers Bar is our informal dining area, perfect for families, couples and business guests. Where you can enjoy a pint of local real ale from Heskett Newmarket or a nice chilled bottle of Meursault from our wine supplier Corney & Barrow.

Thank you once again for your positive feedback and we look forward to your return to the Castle Inn Hotel.

Best wishes

Peter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We have just return from a two night stay at the Castle Inn Hotel. Found the hotel to have a relaxing atmosphere, our room (24) at the front of the hotel had lovely views across to Lake Bassenthwaite and the local fells. On the first night we ate in Lakers bar, our meal was very well presented also the bar had local micro brewery ales available. Tried out the leisure facilities which has a nice sized pool, sauna and steam room but was a bit disappointed that the jacuzzi wasn't working and seems to have been not been working since July having checked the past reviews! All in all the Castle Inn Hotel is a lovely hotel, very clean with very friendly and welcoming staff which made a great weekend.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lakeloversWigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PLEEWELS, Owner at Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Dear Guest

We are really pleased that you took the time to review the Castle Inn Hotel and that you enjoyed your weekend stay with us. Room 24, although a standard room is one of my favourite rooms in the hotel because of the amazing views of the fells, gardens and bassenthwaite lake and in particular during Autumn time when the leaves are changing colour.

As mentioned previously on Tripadvisor, we not have a Jacuzzi at the hotel, but we do offer a 15 metre pool, sauna, steam room, gym and tennis court. We also offer maps at Reception so that you can advantage of a number of walks on the fells, which start from the hotel.

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best wishes


Peter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank Maciej_Orleton
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
PLEEWELS, Owner at Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Stayed here on last night of our honeymoon what a disappointing end to a fantastic break at other hotels!! Staff here weren't very helpful except for workmen. Beds were not very comfortable, room was too hot and the main course we ordered through room service was atrocious breakfast was not very good either. The only plus point to this hotel was its surroundings .

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeanneDiaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PLEEWELS, Owner at Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2013

Dear Guest

I am very disappointed to read your recent review on Tripadvisor. Please could you contact me at the hotel so we can investigate further.

Kind regards


Peter L. Wells.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bassenthwaite
18.6 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
24.5 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.5 mi away
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
1,674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
749 reviews
6.6 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
2.9 mi away
Embleton Spa Hotel
Embleton Spa Hotel
#1 of 1 in Embleton
487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel

Address: | Near Keswick, Bassenthwaite CA12 4RG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bassenthwaite
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Bassenthwaite
#4 Family Hotel in Bassenthwaite
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bassenthwaite
Price Range: $88 - $212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Castle Hotel Bassenthwaite
Best Western Keswick
Best Western Castle Hotel
Best Western Bassenthwaite
Bassenthwaite Best Western
Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel Bassenthwaite

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing