We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Bassenthwaite
Wigan
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice Weekend Stay.”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We have just return from a two night stay at the Castle Inn Hotel. Found the hotel to have a relaxing atmosphere, our room (24) at the front of the hotel had lovely views across to Lake Bassenthwaite and the local fells. On the first night we ate in Lakers bar, our meal was very well presented also the bar had local micro brewery ales available. Tried out the leisure facilities which has a nice sized pool, sauna and steam room but was a bit disappointed that the jacuzzi wasn't working and seems to have been not been working since July having checked the past reviews! All in all the Castle Inn Hotel is a lovely hotel, very clean with very friendly and welcoming staff which made a great weekend.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lakeloversWigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PLEEWELS, Owner at Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Guest

We are really pleased that you took the time to review the Castle Inn Hotel and that you enjoyed your weekend stay with us. Room 24, although a standard room is one of my favourite rooms in the hotel because of the amazing views of the fells, gardens and bassenthwaite lake and in particular during Autumn time when the leaves are changing colour.

As mentioned previously on Tripadvisor, we not have a Jacuzzi at the hotel, but we do offer a 15 metre pool, sauna, steam room, gym and tennis court. We also offer maps at Reception so that you can advantage of a number of walks on the fells, which start from the hotel.

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best wishes


Peter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

904 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    371
    309
    114
    60
    50
See reviews for
173
507
11
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Stayed here on last night of our honeymoon what a disappointing end to a fantastic break at other hotels!! Staff here weren't very helpful except for workmen. Beds were not very comfortable, room was too hot and the main course we ordered through room service was atrocious breakfast was not very good either. The only plus point to this hotel was its surroundings .

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeanneDiaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PLEEWELS, Owner at Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Guest

I am very disappointed to read your recent review on Tripadvisor. Please could you contact me at the hotel so we can investigate further.

Kind regards


Peter L. Wells.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehaven, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Just had a great weekend at the Castle Inn for a family wedding. We had an Executive room with a lovely comfy bed and a spacious bathroom with great shower. The setting was excellent gand the staff were very friendly and helpful. When I unpacked on Friday I discovered a can of coke had leaked on my dress for the wedding!! I phoned Reception to enquire about the laundry service and they asked me to take the dress to Reception and they would get Mrs Wells to look at it. Mrs Wells (who I later found out is the owner) took my dress to wash in her own machine as the hotel ones are commercial machines. She then brought it back to reassure me it was okay and took it back to allow it to drip dry and I got my dress back perfect on Saturday morning ready for the wedding. The staff worked hard all weekend and nothing was too much trouble. A very pleasant weekend just sorry I never got the chance to use the spa.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lyndam62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pleewells, Owner at Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your recent review and we are glad that you enjoyed the weekend, the weather was fantastic on the Saturday for the Wedding.

I will pass on your kind words to Mrs Wells, who was only too happy to help with the situation.

Thank you once again and we do hope that you will come and visit or stay with us again in the near future.

Best wishes


Peter Wells.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire England
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Enjoyed a short two night break at the Castle Inn Hotel in Bassenthwaite recently to recharge exhausted batteries (work).
A lovely quiet and relaxing hotel in a beautiful spot at the top of the lake near to Skiddaw.
Staff were very friendly, welcoming and helpful whenever we required anything. There is a small leisure complex which we did not use but looked pleasant.
The breakfast was excellent and the room we were given was lovely - traditional furniture but up to date and clean bathroom.
Thank you Best Western Castle Inn for your hospitality.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Webchecker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pleewells, Owner at Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for recent kind review on tripadvisor. We are are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Castle Inn Hotel and please be sure to phone the hotel direct to get the best possible special rates.

Best wishes


Peter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

We had a lovely room a suite the staff were lovely food really nice room very spacious and comfortable very quiet not even disturbed by the wedding party
Husbands birthday the only downside was we should have stayed two nights
Would highly recommend for a relaxing break

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gill24_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pleewells, Owner at Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Guest

We appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel on Tripadvisor. Thank you for your positive comments and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

We hopefully offer everything you require a quiet getaway break in the beautiful Bassenthwaite area.

Best regards

Peter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

We have just returned from four nights at the Castle Inn. On arrival we were given a free upgrade to a suite which was excellent and comfortable, We had booked dinner bed and breakfast and although the food was excellent we were disappointed that there was not a change of menu, it was the same every night and there was not quite the choice that I would expect from a 4 star hotel, that said the staff were fantastic and we will definitely return but on a B & B basis as this will give us flexibility to try other restaurants

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pleewells, Owner at Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I read with interest your positive comments and i take on board your comment regarding the menu.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Best wishes

Peter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bassenthwaite
18.6 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
1,638 reviews
24.5 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
718 reviews
2.9 mi away
Embleton Spa Hotel
Embleton Spa Hotel
#1 of 1 in Embleton
469 reviews
6.6 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel
Address: | Near Keswick, Bassenthwaite CA12 4RG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bassenthwaite
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Bassenthwaite
#4 Family Hotel in Bassenthwaite
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bassenthwaite
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, getaroom.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Castle Hotel Bassenthwaite
Best Western Keswick
Best Western Castle Hotel
Best Western Bassenthwaite
Bassenthwaite Best Western
Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel Bassenthwaite

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing