We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LEISURE CENTER PASS & SUNDAY LUNCH”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Bassenthwaite
Budleigh Salterton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“LEISURE CENTER PASS & SUNDAY LUNCH”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We didn't book in for an overnight stay, but went for the offer of Splash and Swim which is full use of the Leisure Centre if you book for Sunday Lunch.

We arrived mid morning and after signing at in the main reception, went through to the Leisure Centre for a couple of hours for sauna, steam room and swimming. The Leisure Centre staff were very helpful supplying us with free tea and coffee and cold drinks for the kids as well as towels and free newspaper.

The facilities are fine, (The pool is much better than The Lodore at Derwent Water) although the Jacuzzi was out of order that day. Good showers, hairdryer and toiletries in the changing room.

We took our free drinks out into the lovely garden before lunch in the restaurant.

The restaurant was very good. Service was excellent, and the menu very good value for money. Decent quality, good sized portions. £13.25 for two course or £17.50 for three courses including filter coffee or tea. There was also a kid's menu or the alternative of eating a half portion from the main menu at half price.

The staff were very attentive and suggested our kids may like to use the Games Room in between courses. They even went to retrieve them for us when the food arrived.

We then finished off with an hour or so in their lovely gardens overlooking Siddaw.

All in all a very pleasant experience, 5 star service, good quality food and excellent value for money.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pleewells, Owner at Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your recent review. We pride ourselves on being a family orientated hotel and providing that extra service to all our guests. The Sunday Lunch and Swim has proved really popular on wet Lake District Sunday! We have now opened this up to a similar offer which includes 'Afternoon Tea' available every day apart from Sundays. Please contact the hotel for more information.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

904 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    371
    309
    114
    60
    50
See reviews for
173
507
11
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
middlesbrough
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 27, 2013

After our fourth visit, on dance weekends, we know we will be back again. Though we now know the surrounding area quite well , the Castle Inn will draw us back.Friendly and helpful staff , very good rooms , decent food with very good breakfasts , what more could you want.The loss of the Jacuzzi after our first visit is the only reason for not getting "the full five"

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank valueMiddlesbrough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pleewells, Owner at Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Guest

We really appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel and pass on your positive comments to other potential guests. We are glad that you enjoyed the dancing, we have a number of Dance Groups book into the hotel throughout the year for social and learning to dance and it's a real pleasure to welcome them.

We all look forward to seeing you back at the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

I stayed here last week and thought I'd pass on my thoughts on a great hotel- excellent new entrance at the rear of the hotel which was really easy to find and was checked in by a friendly receptionist
My room was large and had a great big comfy bed and was very clean throughout
Ate in the bar which was really tasty along with local ale
Fantastic hotel with amazing views of the lakes and the fells and a great base to explore the rest of the lake district-I will definatley be back!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aquasun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pleewells, Owner at Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your recent review and we really appreciate your positive comments regarding the hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future. Be sure to check out our new website which should 'go live' at the end of September and book direct with the hotel for the best possible rates.

Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Just spent three nights at this hotel using it as a base to explore the lake district. It was my first visit to this lovely part of the UK and the area around this hotel is really nice. I decided to go with the Best Western team as i knew what I would be getting for my money. On arrival we were greeted by Anna who was in the process of training a new receptionist, she was polite, professional and had a warm welcoming smile. Our room was well appointed, the bed a little hard for my liking but OK. The only problem we encountered was the shower cubicle door not closing properly. I reported it on the first night but it was sadly not fixed during my stay. The food in the restaurant is really good and not at all pricey, the service is also very good. I would stay here again, however to be top draw they just need to get the maintenance issues sorted quicker or at least offer feedback to guests who report problems!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gerry2743
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pleewells, Owner at Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. It is pleasing to note your positive comments and in particular about Anna on Reception. We have reviewed your feedback regarding the maintenance issues and I must apologise that the two issues were not rectified sooner. We have looked at the communication between housekeeping and maintenance and put better procedures in place to ensure that this does not happen to future guests.

May I thank you for staying at the Castle Inn Hotel and we all look forward to welcoming you again the near future.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We stayed at the hotel just after New Year and thought it was so good we would book a few days in the summer. We requested room 23 as we had liked the suite of rooms and the views of Skiddaw. We called the hotel to make the booking to ensure we got the room we wanted. The booking was made about two months in advance and we were told we would get the room. As we were told we would get the room we wanted, we paid the full price up front to get a discount as it isn't a cheap room.
When we got to the hotel, we were told that we could not have room 23 as a family was already staying in the room and that we had only made a request for the room and we hadn't made a guaranteed booking! We were never told this at the time of booking. We thought it was enough to say WE WANT ROOM 23! We wanted to leave, but of course we couldn't because we had paid the bill up front. I was also asked to give a swipe of my credit card for any extras we might put on the bill. I found that to be shoddy. We had already paid £460 for a room we didn't want for three nights!
The reason I have given Poor for Service is this. We felt tricked out of our money, paying for a room that was not provided. The attitude of the English lady on reception, who had made our booking was not overly apologetic and I am sure she felt happy with herself that she offered us another room. But it was NOT what we wanted!
Another niggle is the toiletries in the bathroom are not replenished. You can ask for more but I found this to be very stingy and annoying. The breakfast finishes at 9.30 and the buffet table is cleared away shortly after.
I will add however, the breakfast and bar staff are very helpful. The location is excellent and the grass tennis court is well looked after and a joy to use.

Unfortunately due to the room booking issues, we will not return to this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Strawberty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pleewells, Owner at Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your recent review. We are really sorry that you were disappointed with your stay with us. I understand that you booked a Suite with us at the discounted advanced purchase rate and on booking you requested room 23. As with all requests of this nature we unfortunately cannot guarantee this, but will endeavour to do our best. I have spoken to my Front Office Manager who informs that you were then allocated room 34, which is an equally fantastic Four poster Suite overlooking the gardens with it's own lounge area and then offered room 23 for the remainder of your stay, which I understand you refused. I am sorry that this was not acceptable.

I have also spoken to my Head Housekeeper regarding the replenishment of toiletries.

If we have the opportunity of welcoming back to the hotel please contact me direct so that I can assist with your booking.

Kind regards


Peter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

visited 07/08/13 one night stay to tie in with walking trip,have stayed before several months ago,arrived 18.30 went into usual entrance to find reception had been relocated to newly built extension at the opposite end of the hotel,slightly annoying that no sign affixed outside before you empty car contents,so after tour of various parts of hotel balancing luggage we ''found'' the new reception,check in very efficient,and reserved table for dinner later,room 62 was nice and modern including new bathroom slightly musty smell when first entering but opened window and that seemed to cure it,tried to make cuppa found there where no teaspoons,used complimentary pen! only three tea bags seemed a bit stingy also, went to use leisure facilities was looking forward to jacuzzi after 16 mile walk,but alas it was covered over,steam room was also not operating properly and sauna was so hot you could not sit on the wooden benched even the tiled floor burnt your feet! had swim and set off for dinner in a very empty restaraunt one couple paying bill as we arrived (8.30) and we where alone for the rest of the evening (60 covers)just us and I must say our excellent waitress who went beyond the call and made up for the lack of atmosphere,food was ok slightly expensive (starters £5-£9 soup was a fiver) mains £14-£24 puddings £6-£8 so racked up a bill with a bottle of wine of £78ish it was not worth that and explained all the empty tables,they do do bar snacks and that appeared to be the more popular choice,next morning I returned to the Leisure club where the steam room was now closed as well as the jacuzzi,sauna was more bearable due to it being early in the day,breakfast was very good staff all attentive and food excellent,all in all let down by small details but is an exellent location for walks and other activities (on site tennis courts and putting green at this hotel).

Room Tip: some rooms have excellent views of Skiddaw fell and Binsey fell,also bassenthwaite lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stephen k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pleewells, Owner at Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback. We have taken your comments on board and addressed the issues where necessary. i am really pleased that you enjoyed certain aspects of your stay.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Visited again in May this year, but there seems to be something missing from the original quality. The food was fantastic but do you want to eat the same thing night after night? I think not! Whilst the quality of food was excellent on one night, the same meal on our third night was just not up to the level of our first night. The rooms do not stand the test of time, especially since they are meant to have been renovated only last year. The level of cleaning could have been better ie: attention to detail not what it should be, we had to ask for our wastebin to be emptied (from the previous occupant.) not very nice! The only person that deserves a mention is Katrin, she goes out of her way to make you feel valued. She is now the Matre' D but has an interest in what her clients are feeling about the rest of the hotel services. The big draw to this hotel has to be its position with views of the Lake and mountains. Anyone looking for a good spot to explore from it has to be one of the first options. However, I think we will look elsewhere when we next take a break in the Lakes.

Room Tip: Suites are the best rooms, but ask for the suite with a corner spot of the garden and lake views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kenlynn3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pleewells, Owner at Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your recent feedback. I have since taken on board your comments regarding our Ritsons Restaurant A La Carte menu and spoken to chef and we have increased the selection from 8 choices of starters, mains and desserts to also include chefs daily special.

I have also passed on your kind words regarding Katalin our Maitre'D. We do hope that you will visit us again in the near future.

Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bassenthwaite
18.6 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
1,638 reviews
24.5 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
718 reviews
2.9 mi away
Embleton Spa Hotel
Embleton Spa Hotel
#1 of 1 in Embleton
469 reviews
6.6 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel
Address: | Near Keswick, Bassenthwaite CA12 4RG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bassenthwaite
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Bassenthwaite
#4 Family Hotel in Bassenthwaite
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bassenthwaite
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Castle Hotel Bassenthwaite
Best Western Keswick
Best Western Castle Hotel
Best Western Bassenthwaite
Bassenthwaite Best Western
Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel Bassenthwaite

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing