We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Bassenthwaite
Reviewed March 12, 2013

It has been about five years since we visited this hotel, but it still delivers great value for your money. We ate in the Ritsons restaurant.where the food and service was as good as ever ,which we did not think was possible. Our room was spotlessly clean and the courtesy tray always replenished every day, not always found in certain hotels.All in all a very relaxing and enjoyable four night stay.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank polly40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastleinnDirector, Owner at Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2013

Dear Polly40

Thank you for your kind words about the recent stay at the Castle Inn Hotel. We all look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best wishes, Peter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (947)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

688 - 694 of 948 reviews

Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I stayed at this hotel last night and it was fantastic. The room (double exec) was stunning, very clean and cosy. The staff are friendly and approachable. I think that given the quality of the hotel, service and food it is extremely good value for money. It is in an ideal and beautiful location which just finish's off the stay nicely.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kurkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastleinnDirector, Owner at Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your great feedback. We are all really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us recently. Be sure when visiting next time to look out for our future special offers and contact us direct to get the best possible deal.

I look forward to seeing you again.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We had booked for a weekend of ballroom dancing with a group of fellow dancers. Reception staff very friendly and all set to deal with a large group arriving during the afternoon, slight confusion over room allocation quickly cleared up and we found our room to be excellent, a very spacious twin, bathroom had both bath and walk in shower, a wardrobe each, all in a good standard of decoration.
We had all pre-ordered the 3 course evening meals from a set of choices and the food was all served plated up and piping hot, overall standard was good. The Full Cumbrian breakfast was super although there was a good range of alternatives.
The largest function room provided a good venue for our dancing and Lakers bar a good spot for a drink.
All of the staff we encountered were friendly, helpfull and welcoming and provided a high standard of hospitality.
The Spa facilities do not reach the high standards achieved by other depts but on this trip they did not play a big part for us, we only had time to use once.
Location was good for us with ample walking opportunities from a gentle stroll to tackling Skiddaw.
We ended our 2 night break by extending to a further night and although we had few fellow guests on the Sunday night we had a reasonable meal in the bar and after another great breakfast left a little reluctantly on the Monday.

Room Tip: Stayed in room 7 which was an Executive room and would recommend rooms in this wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KennyJ53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastleinnDirector, Owner at Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your excellent feedback. I have since passed your kind words onto the team here. We do hold a lot of Dance events at the hotel as we are able to accommodate small and large groups quite easily. But as you mentioned our huge advantage is having the largest sprung dance floor in the Lake District-perfect for Dancing.

We all look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future (hopefully before your next dance event!)

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

I stayed at this hotel after arranging a reunion with a couple of friends. We had agreed to share a room for two reason, the first to keep the cost down and the second so we could natter into the night. On arrival at the hotel we were given a very warm and welcoming reception and then we went to our room to unpack and we were gobsmacked at the room!! It was fantastic! A huge room with three beds, a seating area, and lots of room. The bathroom was also very impressive, plenty of room and very clean. We decided to eat in the hotel that evening and opted for the bar area. Again, fantastic friendly staff, excellent food at a decent price and in lovely surroundings. The breakfast was excellent and throughout our whole stay, the staff we encountered couldn't have been more helpful or friendlier. We would definitely return, our only disappointment was that we hadn't thought to take swimming costumes so we missed out on the use of the pool etc, but we'll know better next time. All in all, a brilliant hotel, in beautiful surroundings and we will be back!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JudeCol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastleinnDirector, Owner at Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your kind words. We pride ourselves on the attention to detail put into the building and the bedrooms but in particular the attention that all of team pay to the guest.

Thank you once again and I hope to see you at the hotel soon.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Every thing about this hotel was frist class I would recommend it to anyone, the staff are very attentive , the rooms are clean, warm, and well equipped , the food was just as good, the pool and gym are a good size for a remote hotel , the rooms are spread out quite a bit but that meant not everyone would be using the same corridors or stairs so less noise from other guests ..

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jud_johnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastleinnDirector, Owner at Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your recent feedback and we were really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. I am glad you liked the remoteness of the hotel, although we are only 8 miles from Keswick, 7 miles from Cockermouth and 2 miles from the A66. It is a frequent comment from our guests that they love the location being so close to Skiddaw, Dodd Wood and Bassenthwaite Lake. We look forward to seeing you again at the hotel in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 1 night with friends. What can I say. Outstanding , the staff couldnt be more welcoming. Food was some of the best I have ever had. The attention 2 detail , from the receptionist ringing up just 2 make sure our rooms where o.k. One of the waitresses knocked over our bottle of champers that was in an ice bucket , probably half of it left. Straight away the boss came out with another new bottle no problem. It was a very relaxing weekend , the rooms where lovely , with great views. Really clean , lovely bathroom. Nice big bath that is a must for a nice long soak. Will definetely b goin back here. Could of stayed for a few more nights , but with a 7 yr old , and a 3 month old waiting back at home , didnt want 2 push our luck.

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the double suites. Really nice big room. Great views overlooking the lake. Would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastleinnDirector, Owner at Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your recent review. We are glad that you and the family had a good stay with us recently. My sincerest apologies regarding the Champagne incident but I am pleased to hear that it was resolved quickly.

We look forward to welcoming back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Id like to say it was a nice relaxing stay in a nice room but I cant. Squeeky floorboards, old dated and broken furniture, every noise from next dior and rain on the conservatory below all lead to an awful nights sleep. To complaign you have to wait until owner is in as the manager has no aythority what so ever. Breakfast swimming in water from eggs.The owner did not have the courtesy to call me when I asked them to. I refused to pay £10 bar bill as I was disgusted only to find they took it from my bank anyways. I am going to recommend that the department where I work ar Sellafield who spend a lot of money here stop doing so.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Garymac121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastleinnDirector, Owner at Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your recent review. I know that my Duty Manager spoke to you at length during the course of your stay to resolve the issues that you have highlighted. I have also rectified the issues regarding the squeaky floor boards and the furniture, and have spoken to the Head Chef about the Poached Eggs. At the moment unfortunately I could not do anything about the rain on the conservatory! I do hope that you will stay with us again and I will ensure that you are personally looked after.

Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bassenthwaite
18.5 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
24.5 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
6.1 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
1,702 reviews
2.9 mi away
Embleton Spa Hotel
Embleton Spa Hotel
#1 of 1 in Embleton
504 reviews
17.4 mi away
The Inn at Grasmere
The Inn at Grasmere
#6 of 14 in Grasmere
1,574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel

Address: | Near Keswick, Bassenthwaite CA12 4RG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bassenthwaite
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Bassenthwaite
#4 Family Hotel in Bassenthwaite
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bassenthwaite
Price Range: $69 - $205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Orbitz, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Castle Hotel Bassenthwaite
Best Western Keswick
Best Western Castle Hotel
Best Western Bassenthwaite
Bassenthwaite Best Western
Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel Bassenthwaite

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing