We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb food”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Castle Inn Tavern

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Castle Inn Tavern
Ranked #11 of 12 Restaurants in Bassenthwaite
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Superb food”
Reviewed May 1, 2014

There were 10 of us on a family celebration and we all enjoyed the meal immensely. The staff were attentive, particularly one of the male staff, who had a great way with the kids!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    14
    4
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
46 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great New Years Eve party”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We visited with friends for New Years Eve 2013/14 and had a thoroughly great evening from the traditional Scottish Piper through to the magician and fantastic 5 course gala dinner with some of the most tasty beef my friends and I had ever tasted. The only down side was the DJ who was a poor choice and didn't engage people to dance or enjoy the evening.

The other point to note for the General Manager is the reception staff did not want to book us into the Gala dinner unless we stayed at the hotel and this could have lost them a 5 person booking on the evening if it hadn't been for the excellent Dining Manager on the evening.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mlv00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely Family Gathering”
Reviewed November 21, 2013

21 members of our family including baby twins and a 3 year old dined at the Castle Inn Hotel, we enjoyed wonderful food from a very varied menu in a lovely private dining room. We had a 3 course meal, the food was superb and the service was excellent, the staff were very attentive and pleasant, Highly recommended

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancashire
Level Contributor
46 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good Service, Excellent Food”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Handily located on the A591. Good menu with "specials board" staff very pleasanty and obliging. Food well prepared and nicely served.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank walker003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Castle Inn Tavern also viewed

Bassenthwaite, Lake District
Bassenthwaite, Lake District
 
Bassenthwaite, Lake District
Bassenthwaite, Lake District
 

Been to Castle Inn Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing