We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful, imaginative food in a tranquil setting”

The Coach House Restaurant at Ravenstone Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $45
Cuisines: British, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Scenic view, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The restaurant is open to non-residents 7 days a week and is situated in a lovely rural setting on the A591 5 miles north of Keswick.
Guildford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful, imaginative food in a tranquil setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

We stayed at Ravenstone Lodge for 7 nights. We ate in the Coach House every evening.The welcome you get from the friendly and highly efficient staff is first class. The quality of the ingredients and the imagination of the cooking was wonderfuland the variety such that we ate for 7 nights without repeating a dish. The view from the restaurant is true Lake District and worth the visit alone. The breakfast menu is wide and providesan excellent start for a day out in Cumbria.
The reputation of Ravenstone Lodge has clearly been spread as during our visit a number of non residents came out for a meal. A real gem.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    16
    4
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kent
1 review
“Delicious food and great service!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

This is honestly one of the best restaurants I have ever been to in terms of quality of food!! A lovely romantic setting with a view of the lake, I will definitely be returning on my next visit to the lake district! I only wish I had asked the chef for his recipes!!!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank roxanne_radcilffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely splendid :)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2012

I invited my lady for a romantic weekend to the cosy Ravenstone Lodge which was absolutely lovely. We are both very much into simple, fresh and healthy food. Therefore, it was a nice surprise to get such fresh and well prepared dishes. One day we wondered off and had dinner at the Ravenstone Hotel (located above) which was a real disappointment… compared to the restaurant in the lodge.

I assume the chef will be able to get a star at some point in his life (if he really wants to). In the meantime you are welcome to enjoy some delicious compositions at fair prices.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rhys P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cumbria
1 review
“great service food divine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2011

visited the ravenstone restaraunt with family for a birthday treat as soon as we arrived we were made to feel so welcome by the staff . the food was devine great wine selection by far one of the best restarunts in the area well done guys.............................

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank simon j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Best in the area”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2011

Best in the area great price and quality. Been here a few times and the management asked me to leave a review, so here goes. The choice is extensive with a daily specials board,nice views and surroundings with really friendly and affective staff. Everything went well here not like most local places in keswick that I've been to . Just good honest homemade food with local produce, they even tell you which farm the meat has been purchased from, you will find this information on the seasonal menu. Also a really nice little stable bar you can relax in before and after your meal. They informed me that if your local and you book a table for 4 you can order your free taxi to and from the restaurant BRILL.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Renk2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Coach House Restaurant at Ravenstone Lodge also viewed

Bassenthwaite, Lake District
Bassenthwaite, Lake District
 
Bassenthwaite, Lake District
Bassenthwaite, Lake District
 
Bassenthwaite, Lake District
Keswick, Lake District
 

Been to The Coach House Restaurant at Ravenstone Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing