We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“winter paradise.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sandhills Farm B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bassenthwaite
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sandhills Farm B&B
morecambe
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“winter paradise.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2012

Stayed last weekend of January. Stunning weather with sunshine and snow. Very comfortable and friendly accommodation in a lovely setting. Look forward to returning!
L and T Morecambe.

Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ljmorecambe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
53
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
cheshire
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2011

My friend and I have just got back from staying at Sandhills Farm as we were attending a wedding nearby. On our arrival Helen brought tea and home made cake, which were delicious. Our room was on the ground floor and was a lovely room, with a wet room. Helen recommended a local pub for dinner, which was only 5 minutes away in Keswick, the meal was lovely.

We looked around the other 2 rooms before we left, and have told Helen that if ever we are in the Lakes with our husbands, we will definitely be returning to her wonderful B&B

We have stayed in numerous B&B's across the country, and we can say that this was absolutely the best we have ever stayed in - WELL DONE HELEN!!!! :) :) :)

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gilly_dragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2011

We stayed at Sandhills farm B&B in November 2011 for 2 nights. We travelled to Armathwaite Hall for a spa day (which is just 5 mins away) couldn't have picked a better place to stay! Accommodation was perfect..our room was decorated beautifully (had a sneak peak at the other rooms which were also decorated to the highest standard), modern rooms but also farmhouse style, particularly liked the exposed beams and the under-floor heating in the bathroom! Room had everything we needed, would have liked to stay longer! Breakfast was delicious, locally sourced products. Sandhills feels very homely, Helen looked after us really well and recommended a great local pub for our evening meals, the pheasant inn at keswick (great food!). We really enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KandJNorthumberland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2011

I stayed at this B&B in June 2011 while attending a wedding nearby. Our host, Helen, went to extraordinary lengths to look after us; preparing tea and cakes before we went to the reception and then even driving us a few miles down the road to the event. I cannot recommend Sandhills highly enough. No expense has been spared on the level of appointment of each of the beautiful rooms and the surroundings are stunning. Sandhills farm represents the best that the beautiful Cumbrian Lake District has to offer with a warm and friendly family atmosphere.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GetItFettled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2011

You'll do well to find a better B&B in the Lake District. We stayed in the ground floor room which was a good size, a massive bed all the mod con's with a good famhouse feel to it. Helen is a lovely host and the breakfast's are really good. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhilandLaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grafenhausen, Germany
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2011

Friendly host.
Very nice room.
Great location.
Homemade cookies every day! Mmm....

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophie1584771
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2011

We stayed for one night in the Limousin room and it was perfect. On arrival, we sat down to home made cakes and tea from Helen which were lovely. The entire finish of Sandhills is of a very high quality and is fitting for the location, around 10 minutes out of Keswick. In the evening we took a taxi into Keswick which cost just under £10 each way.
Breakfast the next day was delicious, with home made jam and marmalade and free range eggs from the farm.
All in all an excellent place to stay and we will most definitely be back! Thank you Helen!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hmb_22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bassenthwaite
0.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Castle Inn Hotel
0.0 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
0.0 mi away
Highside Farm
Highside Farm
#1 of 9 in Bassenthwaite
4.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Summer Hill Country House
Summer Hill Country House
#10 of 105 in Ambleside
5.0 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bassenthwaite Lakeside Lodges
Bassenthwaite Lakeside Lodges
#1 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
5.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
0.0 mi away
Littletown Farm
Littletown Farm
#42 of 177 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandhills Farm B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandhills Farm B&B

Property: Sandhills Farm B&B
Address: Bassenthwaite CA12 4QG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bassenthwaite
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Bassenthwaite
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandhills Farm B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Sandhills Farm B&B Bassenthwaite/Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing