We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An extra special B&B for a much needed weekend away!”
Review of Sandhills Farm B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bassenthwaite
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sandhills Farm B&B
Reviewed December 1, 2011

We stayed at Sandhills farm B&B in November 2011 for 2 nights. We travelled to Armathwaite Hall for a spa day (which is just 5 mins away) couldn't have picked a better place to stay! Accommodation was perfect..our room was decorated beautifully (had a sneak peak at the other rooms which were also decorated to the highest standard), modern rooms but also farmhouse style, particularly liked the exposed beams and the under-floor heating in the bathroom! Room had everything we needed, would have liked to stay longer! Breakfast was delicious, locally sourced products. Sandhills feels very homely, Helen looked after us really well and recommended a great local pub for our evening meals, the pheasant inn at keswick (great food!). We really enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KandJNorthumberland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (79)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 79 reviews

Reviewed November 20, 2011

I stayed at this B&B in June 2011 while attending a wedding nearby. Our host, Helen, went to extraordinary lengths to look after us; preparing tea and cakes before we went to the reception and then even driving us a few miles down the road to the event. I cannot recommend Sandhills highly enough. No expense has been spared on the level of appointment of each of the beautiful rooms and the surroundings are stunning. Sandhills farm represents the best that the beautiful Cumbrian Lake District has to offer with a warm and friendly family atmosphere.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GetItFettled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2011

You'll do well to find a better B&B in the Lake District. We stayed in the ground floor room which was a good size, a massive bed all the mod con's with a good famhouse feel to it. Helen is a lovely host and the breakfast's are really good. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhilandLaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2011

Friendly host.
Very nice room.
Great location.
Homemade cookies every day! Mmm....

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sophie1584771
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2011

We stayed for one night in the Limousin room and it was perfect. On arrival, we sat down to home made cakes and tea from Helen which were lovely. The entire finish of Sandhills is of a very high quality and is fitting for the location, around 10 minutes out of Keswick. In the evening we took a taxi into Keswick which cost just under £10 each way.
Breakfast the next day was delicious, with home made jam and marmalade and free range eggs from the farm.
All in all an excellent place to stay and we will most definitely be back! Thank you Helen!

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hmb_22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2011

This was an amazing stay. We received a wonderful welcome from Helen with cake and tea (and what a lovely welcoming atmosphere this created). Breakfast was very good indeed. Our bathroom was a wet room and had underfloor heating - which seemed to us like pure luxury. The furnishings were all modern and comfortable and we felt it was better than many hotels we have stayed in. The bed was both large and extremely comfortable and it was a joy have a very large tv screen and tea and coffee making facilities. Nothing was too much trouble for Helen and we wish her well in the future.
We shall certainly be back.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gillyb_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2011

The most welcoming & comfortable B&B ever! We stayed for two nights & Helen welcomed us with tea & delicious homemade cake & biscuits. The rooms are beautifully decorated & spotlessly clean. Breakfast was delicious & fresh using locally sourced produce. The location was scenic, peaceful & excellent for walking & exploring the north western lake district. Lots of small personal touches made for a wonderful stay. We'll be back!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NorthYorkshireAnon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bassenthwaite hotels
0.0 mi away
Ravenstone Lodge Hotel
Ravenstone Lodge Hotel
#2 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
553 reviews
0.0 mi away
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
1,678 reviews
0.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Highside Farm
Highside Farm
#2 of 8 in Bassenthwaite
207 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ravenstone Manor
Ravenstone Manor
#1 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
1,088 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Pheasant Inn
The Pheasant Inn
#4 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandhills Farm B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandhills Farm B&B

Address: Bassenthwaite CA12 4QG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bassenthwaite
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Bassenthwaite
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandhills Farm B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Sandhills Farm B&B Bassenthwaite/Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing