We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Back again and again to the wonderful 'Pheasant'”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Pheasant Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Pheasant Inn
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Bassenthwaite
Certificate of Excellence
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Back again and again to the wonderful 'Pheasant'”
Reviewed December 10, 2013

We have just enjoyed another lovely stay at 'The Pheasant Inn'. We have lost count of the number of times we have stayed here over a period of thirty years. It never disapoints and, whilst there have been changes over the years, with the arrival of the Bistro and the much improved bedrooms, the ambience remains 'The Pheasant'
We (well - me actually!!) always make pigs of ourselves with the homemade crisps but we were wise enough to leave room for the 'vegetable crisps' served with our drinks. Yumeeee!!
Our three breakfasts set us up nicely for days spent enjoying favourite walks, then back for a lovely relaxing time over dinner. I noticed that one reviewer didn't like the Bistro.He should have tried the dining room, where you will enjoy a gentle, quiet atmosphere and a superb dinner.
The staff are all excellent. Attentive without being 'pushy' and very friendly.
I'm going to sign off and book another visit for March. 'The Pheasant' - LOVE IT!!

Room Tip: We have favourite rooms but all are very comfortable. We like to be at the back of The Pheasant as w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pheasantfans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    247
    152
    48
    25
    14
See reviews for
97
274
8
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2013 via mobile

We eat here quite frequently and have never had a bad meal and think its great value for money.
We decided to have an early Christmas lunch and what an absolutely gorgeous meal it was.
A turkey dinner with all the trimmings bursting with flavour and well priced.
The food is fresh and well cooked and served by extremely friendly staff.
I fully recommend trying the Pheasant, I'm sure you'll see for yourself what quality is?

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lallokkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013

Overpriced, indifferently cooked food in a harshly lit, noisy room with too much bustle and not much genuine attention to our needs. We all felt we would have had a better meal for half the price in several of the local pubs.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DavidStanley50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
253 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Hotel is in a lovely country setting. We arrived on a lunchtime to a very friendly welcome. We ordered drinks and sat in the bar for a while untill our friends arrived.
We had booked a table in the bistro which was empty . We had our choice of tables and once seated we were given menus. Although not a large menu , what was on was very tempting.
Our order for food and drinks was taken quickly, and while we waited the room began to fill up and get busier.
Our food arrived but not our drinks which we had to ask for again.
All of us thought our food was marvelous and the triple cooked chips were amazing.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KEVCO36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 20, 2013

Had a 2 night midweek break. A lovely cozy place to stay, great room, staff couldn't have been more helpful, food good - in fact just what the doctor ordered!!

The spa was a wonderful experience too!

Already planning to go again next year.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morecambe
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

My husband booked for my surprise birthday, arrived Saturday 16th Nov 2013. We went for a walk, and checked in at 2pm, stayed in the Newlands, not in main hotel, but cosy and warm. We opted to use the Spa at Armathwaite Hall, which was great, outdoor hot tub, sauna, steam room....We got back had a lovely hot bath, and ate in the restaurant, service was quick & food was delicious. We finished our wine in the Locals bar, snug and welcoming.
Slept so well, bed was comfy, fab nights sleep. Breakfast was outstanding, fresh leaf tea, freshly squeezed orange juice, full traditional, thick wholemeal toast, excellent service.
Would love to stay again..

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MorecambeKaty1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2013

Just had a 2 night stay in a party of 5 couples. My major complaint is about housekeeping - I put bath towels/mat in bath to be replaced as per 'eco instructions'. They were folded and put back on the unheated towel rail for reuse! 1 shampoo and 1 bath gel for 2 guests were supplied initially (!), and although used were not replaced for second day use. Stayed in the Kirkstone room, a small double (we were the last of our party to arrive on Fri) - big disadvantage was the noisy plumbing which came on several occasions though the night from nearby rooms, and was so loud as to wake us up! Check to see that this is not for you.
The serving staff in the restaurant were pleasant and efficient, but agree with other reviewers that the price of 'supplements' did not reflect the quality afforded

Room Tip: Check out which room you will be allotted - some good size with kingsize bed and others regular dou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BrendaWestYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bassenthwaite
1.2 mi away
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
1,566 reviews
1.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Castle Inn Hotel
2.3 mi away
Ravenstone Manor
Ravenstone Manor
#1 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
1,018 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Ravenstone Lodge Hotel
Ravenstone Lodge Hotel
#2 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
497 reviews
3.6 mi away
Overwater Hall
Overwater Hall
#1 of 1 in Ireby
511 reviews
8.4 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#4 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pheasant Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pheasant Inn

Property: The Pheasant Inn
Address: Bassenthwaite Lake, Bassenthwaite CA13 9YE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bassenthwaite
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bassenthwaite
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pheasant Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dating back to the 17th century, this former haunt of the famous huntsman John Peel has been entertaining guests for the past 300 years in the traditional Cumbrian manner with stunning food and refreshment and good old fashioned values. With an abundance of unique period atmosphere and a sense of timelessness with the clever mix of luxurious, contemporary comforts provides The Pheasant a well deserved national and International reputation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Pheasant Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pheasant Hotel Bassenthwaite
The Pheasant Inn Bassenthwaite/Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing