We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Haute Cuisine”
Review of The Pheasant Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Pheasant Inn
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Bassenthwaite
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 18, 2013

We were staying at a cottage nearby and visited the Fellside Restaurant for a birthday celebration meal. We received a warm welcome and were served canapés in the lounge, while we viewed the menu. The restaurant was traditional and the meal we chose was well presented and a delight to eat. Would be expensive to eat everyday but as a celebration meal was well worth the money.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tamw0rth2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (557)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

415 - 421 of 557 reviews

Reviewed May 13, 2013

We stayed here for my uncle's 70th birthday. It is in a peaceful and secluded spot, with nice walks from the door and a great place to base your stay in the Lakes.

The rooms are comfy and have all you could ask for, they are not luxurious, but then you're not paying luxury prices! The bar in the pub and the food in the restaurant are fantastic. We'd planned to eat elsewhere one night, but there was so much delicious choice on the menu that we changed our mind and ate all meals in the restaurant at the Pheasant.

I would definitely recommend this property.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keen_Bean_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

I cannot recommend The Pheasant Inn highly enough. My Daughter booked my Husband and I for a surprise 25th Wedding Anniversary gift as we had honeymooned in the Lakes at a Hotel on Lake Ullswater.

We were warmly welcomed in to the reception area then taken to one of the Superior rooms I think was named Calderbeck.

Each room has its own individual character and is the very best in comfort, beautifully finished providing you with utter peace and quiet.With the most comfortable of beds you could not fail to have a good nights sleep.Of course en suite, hairdryer, robe, tea/ coffee even shortbread biscuits were included in each room. What I particularly liked were the china crockery and silver sugar bowl, non of these little packets of milk and sugar you come to expect in hotel rooms nowadays.After a really enjoyable dinner in the Fell restaurant,food was exceptional, we returned to our room, to find our bed turned down and soothing music ( Classic FM ) playing from the radio provided.I'm hooked now.Each room has a name associated with the Lake District.
We have booked again next weekend, this time we will visit the Spa and weather permitting will take a walk in the extensive gardens at the rear of the Inn. We are so looking forward to this trip.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hvtor1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

we have just returned from a one night stay at this lovely hotel, our room was at the front of the hotel and was so cosy and comfortable with a large bathroom. We ate in the bistro the food was very good and the staff so helpful and friendly, the bed was one of the most comfortable I have ever slept in and breakfast first class. hopefully we will be back soon.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sophieCumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

We stayed the night in this lovely old inn during a four night "fine dining" walking tour in the Lake District. This was a really comfortable, cosy and intimate place to stay with great service and lovely food. We stayed in one of the superior rooms which had a fantstic four poster bed and was very comfortable with lots of nice touches. The bathroom was great with lots of hot water. Having arrived mid afternoon we took advantage of the Pheasant's membership at the Spa belonging to the nearby Armathwaite Hall Hotel. This was wonderful but we were still happy to be staying at the cosy Pheasant Inn and really enjoyed pre-dinner drinks in one of the cosy lounges in front of the fire. We took dinner in the restaurant and had a really enjoyable meal. Given the price the food wasn't absolutely exceptional but was still really good I would definitely go back again. We had a great night's sleep and then had a fantastic breakfast - the full English was amongst the best I'd ever had with a superb black pudding! This is a lovely English Inn and isn't cheap but offers something a bit different to other hotels nearby.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wrecktor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

My wife and I sometimes call in the Pheasant for a drink and find the small bar very quaint with its lack of modernity and beer served in pint pots rather than straight glasses.
The ales - local beers - are usually well kept but the sparklers on the hand pulls need to be adjusted as the pints are served with massive frothy heads which suggest short measures.
Be prepared to pay over the odds for drinks but enjoy the atmosphere and the service not to mention the free crisps on the bar..

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Wainwright007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Great hotel with plenty of character and fantastic food. Fabulous place to visit for a nice relaxing weekend and close to areas around the lake. Staff were friendly and attentive and were on hand to help at all times. The bar is cosy and you feel you are in a local due to the friendliness of the clientele. We will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lotty09001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bassenthwaite
1.2 mi away
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
1,739 reviews
2.3 mi away
Ravenstone Manor Hotel
Ravenstone Manor Hotel
#2 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
1,104 reviews
1.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Ravenstone Lodge Hotel
Ravenstone Lodge Hotel
#1 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
586 reviews
12.2 mi away
Washington Central Hotel
Washington Central Hotel
#5 of 9 in Workington
270 reviews
3.6 mi away
Overwater Hall
Overwater Hall
#1 of 1 in Ireby
563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pheasant Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pheasant Inn

Address: Bassenthwaite Lake, Bassenthwaite, Keswick CA13 9YE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick > Bassenthwaite
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Bassenthwaite
Price Range: $159 - $239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pheasant Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dating back to the 17th century, this former haunt of the famous huntsman John Peel has been entertaining guests for the past 300 years in the traditional Cumbrian manner with stunning food and refreshment and good old fashioned values. With an abundance of unique period atmosphere and a sense of timelessness with the clever mix of luxurious, contemporary comforts provides The Pheasant a well deserved national and International reputation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Pheasant Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pheasant Hotel Bassenthwaite
The Pheasant Inn Bassenthwaite, Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing