We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“fantastic caravan in a fantastic location”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
32 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Caravan/mobile home -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Bassenthwaite, Keswick, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Aimee H
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“fantastic caravan in a fantastic location”
Reviewed April 2, 2013 for a stay in March 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We've just returned from a week at Skiddaw 'View and despite the freezing cold weather had an amazing time. The park is in a lovely location and the caravan is excellent, spotlessly clean and the creme eggs on arrival were a welcome touch (not just from the children's point of view!).

This is our second holiday at Skiddaw and won't be our last, even though as said it was freezing cold weather at least we didn't get wet this time. On our previous 5 visits in August we've been soaked!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: excellent condition and cleanliness of van
Liked least: frozen pipes in a morning although I realise this was out of your control
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crss1
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“its converted me!!”
Reviewed November 7, 2012 for a stay in October 2012
1
person found this review helpful

When we go away, we always go to a 4* hotel. We stayed here as we wanted to visit family in the area and couldnt get booked in a hotel.
We were really surprised.
The caravan was large, and had plenty of storage. It was clean and the heating worked great. My children brought there bikes and spent most of the week riding through the mud, so missed a washing machine, however there was one close to reception and also a tumble dryer.
really cute goats on site but no sighn of the Jacob sheep.


Will be going back again next year!!

Value Location
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KerriS89
1 review
“Best caravan ever”
Reviewed October 8, 2012 for a stay in October 2012

We and my partner stayed for 4 nights and had a great time. There's a file with everything in to let you know about walks, takeaways and any activities around which came in handy as it was the first time we had been.

The caravan is cosey, clean and very well furnished just as the pictures show on their website.

Value Location
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl G
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very good would stay there again”
Reviewed September 8, 2012 for a stay in August 2012

Really enjoyed our stay. Caravan was very spacious & clean loved the king sized bed although the mattress could have been a bit softer.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Nice and quiet
Liked least: Creaky floor
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walkbiker...
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Superb accommodation and facilities”
Reviewed August 22, 2012 for a stay in August 2012

This is the second stay for us at Skiddaw View. The accommodation was spotlessly clean, modern and comfortable. The site is very friendly with facilities for children, yet also perfect for couples looking for peace and quite. The views are beautiful and you are perfectly placed to shop in Cockermouth, wander around Keswick or enjoy one of the many lovely walks in the area. Grizedale Forest is also just down the road. We will not bother to stay anywhere else when we visit the Lakes again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: cleanliness and comfort of the property
Liked least: the weather!!
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverley3
1 review
“Perfect”
Reviewed August 12, 2012 for a stay in August 2012

Beautiful caravan, breathtaking views and friendly people. Absolute lovely holiday kids enjoyed it and would recommend to anyone

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1974GIRL
York, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“BEAUTIFUL CARAVAN”
Reviewed August 1, 2012 for a stay in July 2012

We stayed in a St David Caravan which was the best caravan we had ever stayed in. It was clean and had all the facilities we needed. The park was well kept and quiet, and all the staff were extremely helpful. Only wish there had been a shop on site but apart form that I would highly recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing