We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Gorgeous!”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Mulberry Lodge

Mulberry Lodge offers a unique experience in luxury lodging.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Mulberry Lodge offers a unique experience in luxury lodging.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
33 reviews
Mulberry Lodge offers a unique experience in luxury lodging.
The en suite master bathroom has a free standing bath and a walk-in shower with body jets.
Floor to ceiling windows capture the views perfectly
Mulberry Lodge has breathtaking views of Skiddaw and the Northern Fells and Bassenthwaite
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Bassenthwaite, Keswick, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
norahs999...
Newton Aycliffe, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Gorgeous!”
Reviewed December 15, 2016 for a stay in December 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed 5th to 8th December 2016.
Really lively lodge, and even though I read the reviews prior to booking it was much nicer when we got there. The decor and cleanliness was spot on. All of the little extras were lovely, plus the chocolates and wine were a really nice welcoming touch. We had a quiet break and it was perfect peace and quiet.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 16, 2016
Thank you so much for your kind comments, hope to see you soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N8184DTjo...
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“What a way to spend the weekend”
Reviewed December 6, 2016 for a stay in December 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Fantastic stay at Mulberry Lodge. Just the way to spend a weekend before Christmas - jigsaw, books and mulled wine. The Lodge is fantastic with all you need for a self sufficient weekend - we didn't speak to another person all weekend. Views from every window stunning and sky lights allow you to watch the stars ay night. Thank you!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 7, 2016
So pleased you enjoyed your stay !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aja83
UK
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Another wonderful experience!”
Reviewed July 16, 2016 for a stay in July 2016
2
people found this review helpful

This is my 3rd visit to Skiddaw View Holiday Park, my 2nd stay in Mulberry Lodge. Since my last visit the lodge has changed ownership. Mark & Lesley, the new owners, have carried out a complete redecoration of the lodge and have managed to make an already beautiful lodge completely outstanding. Their improvements and attention to detail have made the holiday experience in the lodge even better. I would like to personally thank them for the hardwork and effort they have put into the lodge as it is clearly evident that a lot of time and thought has gone into making the guest experience something special.

The lodge is fresh, modern and homely. Special touches such as chocolates, bubbly and personalised welcome message was a very nice touch. Throughout, the lodge was spotless, including outside areas. The super king size bed is very comfortable. The views from the lodge and open decking area still manage to take my breath away.

The site shop is well stocked and staff are very friendly and approachable. From the lodge, there are many walks which we went on with our pet dog. Cockermouth and Keswick were places that we visited to shop and eat out and a helpful book has been put together in the lodge with a list of recommendations for eating out and for places of interest.

I have returned recharged and relaxed after a wonderful week.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The special touches in the lodge
Liked least: Coming home!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 17, 2016
Thank you! We are all really pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Hopefully we will see you again very soon. Kind regards, The Skiddaw View Team :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol D
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous lodge and real luxury !”
Reviewed February 21, 2016 for a stay in February 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Fabulous lodge and real luxury. So many lovely little touches to make our holiday feel really special. Can't recommend Mulberry Lodge enough. Not the first to mention the view from the lodge but it really is spectacular! Will definitely be booking again.

Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 22, 2016
Thank you for your great review of Mulberry Lodge. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay.

Kind Regards

The Stay Lakeland Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoystonBl...
Runcorn
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Out of this world!!”
Reviewed October 5, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
2
people found this review helpful

This was our 6th visit to the park and our 6th time staying in a Lodge.
Our 2nd visit to the Mulberry.
Over New year we stayed in the Mulberry when Bob and Alix owned it.
Since then, it has changed ownership to Lesley and Mark.
When Alix and Bob owned it, the Mulberry was excellent.
However, since the new owners have taken over , the Lodge in our opinion is Outstanding!!
Both my wife -Debbie and I could not believe that it was possible to improve one's experience of staying at this Lodge, but for us it has.
Palatial, Stately, Comfortable, Homely, Gorgeous, Lavish, Stylish, Beautiful - all words I would use to describe this Lodge.
Lesley and Mark have "gone the extra mile" by providing complimentary luxuries such as boutique toiletries , Wine , flowers, cake , slippers etc etc.
Upon our arrival there was a personal card from the owners welcoming us back -even though they have never met us, they took the trouble to find out if we had stayed at the Mulberry previously.
This lodge is truly amazing. We have been fortunate enough to stay in some beautiful hotels in both the North and South Lakes , hotels such as the Holbeck Ghyll, The Lakeside, Overwater Hall and Lyzzick Hall,but this Lodge is right up there with the best accommodations the Lakes can offer, as id this Holiday Park.
We had truly amazing weather for the last week in September and we had another memorable stay in the Mulberry Lodge.
Another big plus is that this lodge is pet friendly
Thank you Lesley and Mark for making our annual holiday so enjoyable .
Would recommend this site and this lodge to all !
Roy , Debbie, "Princess Narlagh & King Alfie" - Runcorn in Cheshire.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole experience
Liked least: Nothing!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
justinet1...
Lancaster
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing Lodge”
Reviewed September 9, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Just had a fabulous stay at Mulberry Lodge. We'd already read about the great views but were still completely blown away by them. They're incredible and constantly change throughout the day and as the lodge itself is so unique it was really hard to leave - even on our day trips!

We had lovely weather but on the rainy day it was still a delight to just relax in the lodge. What's so different is that because the living area, bedroom and bathroom are huge and there are so many full length windows and skylights and designer furniture and artwork throughout - you feel like you are in a luxury hotel suite. But it also feels really comfortable and relaxing. Both the living room and bedroom have fires, so you can snuggle up in either!

Can't say enough about how great this lodge is... but is was the little extra touches that were also really special:
the complimentary wine, delux toiletries and even Aromatherapy Associates mini bath oil! It really is 5* plus.


So well done to the new owners of `Mulberry' and we''ll definitely be back very soon.


Justine, David and Pip the springerr spaniel

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The privacy and peacefulness
Liked least: Having to leave
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aja83
UK
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Brilliant!”
Reviewed July 27, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
5
people found this review helpful

This is our second stay at Skiddaw View, our first in the Mulberry Lodge and once again we had a brilliant stay. The Mulberry Lodge was truly amazing. The fresh and stylish decor makes this lodge outstanding. The lodge was clean and well maintained and has many extras including Sky TV. The bed is very comfortable and is huge! The views from the lodge are breathtaking- I could easily sit and watch the ever changing British weather for hours from the fully enclosed decked area. We travelled with our pet dog who loves the dog walking field and many walks in the area. Will definitely be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The breathtaking views
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing