We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic views”
other traveler has booked this property

Review of Maple Tree Lodge

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Bassenthwaite, Keswick, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jessica43...
Greasby, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic views”
Reviewed June 23, 2012 for a stay in June 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Lodge was well equipped and clean, everything provided and good quality. We usually stay in Keswick but this lodge was cheaper than our Keswick one but we found ourselves driving down to that area everyday as there was nothing to do in the Bothel area ,so therefore spent quite a lot in petrol.

Date of stay: June 2012
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace and quiet and the views
Liked least: Amount of travelling to get to Keswick, Buttermere, Grasmere etc.
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
john d
Rouen, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“a perfectly equipped home with a sublime view and the weather helped too!”
Reviewed June 6, 2012 for a stay in May 2012
1
person found this review helpful

The location was fantastic with inspiring views of Lake Bassenthwaite and the surrounding hills. It is ideally placed for visiting Cockermouth and Keswick and thus the wider Lake District, and also the Solway coast which was a bonus. The tourist info provided in the home gave us lots of things to do, close to and further from the Park. The well adapted kitchen encouraged us to self cater which helped the budget. The bedrooms, bathrooms and living areas were clean, comfortable and airy providing a lovely relaxing environment. The only improvement we could suggest is to instal shutters/blinds on the bedroom windows as it gets light early in the summer. Otherwise, we had a great holiday!

Date of stay: May 2012
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The light in the home and its modernity
Liked least: the heating did not operate as programmed
Traveling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelagh08...
Darlington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“lots of outdoor fun even in colder weather”
Reviewed April 17, 2012 for a stay in April 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We had colder weather this year and still had fabulous fun and great walks. We have young children 9 and 7 and a dog and just wrapped up warmer before we set off. Lodge lovely and cosy as always.

We have stayed several times in the holiday park and have never been disappointed.

Love all the recycling and new goats.

Bought fresh eggs on site and fresh milk when we ran out from the other caravan park along the road.

Date of stay: April 2012
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: fresh air and no x boxes
Liked least: nothing to complain about
Traveling group: Family with Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mushty
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“PERFECT!”
Reviewed April 5, 2012 for a stay in March 2012

Our 4th visit to Skiddaw Holiday Park & most certainly not our last. The weather was glorious, coupled with excellent accommodation and spectacular views. Can't quite praise you guys enough for your excellent service and laid-back, yet proffesional approaches in making our holiday to the Lakes PERFECT! Maple tree lodge is a haven from the hussle and bussle of city life. My only complaint is..... Why can't we come more often!!!! See you again in September!!

Helena, James & Bailey!!

Date of stay: March 2012
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing